We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for for our christmas break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbold House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newbold House
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we were looking for for our christmas break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Having had a stressful time in our lives, we were looking for a break that would allow us time to reflect, laugh, relax and enjoy. Newbold gave us all that.

If you are looking for disco's, lots of noise, lots of hussle and bustle Newbold is not for you.

The house itself is set back off the road off the quiet village of Forres but it isn't isolated either. The house is big, old fashioned, traditional and relaxing. The gardens are quiet, and peaceful. The staff and volunteers are warm, friendly but not intrusive. The food - all homemade and where possible resourced either on the land itself or locally - is tasty, wholesome and so good!

It is great for exploring around the area and there is lots to see and do - it is situated between Innverness and Aberdeen. Local transport is good, parking facilities in the house grounds are good.


The holiday is suitable for families, couples, friends and also solo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Margaret River
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed at Newbold House while training with Marlene Butler had a wonderful time and lovely food with amazing people. Enjoyed fantastic walks on the beach every morning and watching the sunset in the evening

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amazingav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your generous kind review - we hope to host you again soon. Yes, the sunset and the beach still fantastic in November!
- Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My idea: Scotland, as I love its energy; retreat and pampering: to bring together spiritual and physical wellbeing; relax and definitely: nature. My search took me to Newbold House.

From the moment of my first inquiry to the planning to the stay itself I encountered care, respect and warmth. Deborah W did an amazing job of finding the perfect activities and treatments that suited me and went out of her way to even take me up to Findhorn. Really worthwhile the visit.

The food was tasty, varied and healthy. The rooms calm and cozy. The gardens, the woods around, all gorgeous places to walk in or sit down with a book. Perfect atmosphere for writing and reading and definitely for relaxation.

Everyone from the permanent residents to the volunteers, WWoofers and other guests made my stay rich in sharing and joy.

Miss you guys already and will be back. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Leslie - thank you for a gorgeous review. It was a pleasure to host you and hang out and eat and chat as well! Also, your work in the garden was appreciated by us all - especially our volunteers who loved your company. Go well and come back to us! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I learned about Newbold House almost by accident, while searching for a place that would provide me with a couple of days of "me" time. It's safe to say, I am very glad I did.

The whole experience was great. The staff I spoke to when inquiring about and planning my stay were innately attuned to my needs and they accurately sensed what would help. They organised a great but measured programme of treatments and sessions to relax me and ease my stress levels.

From the moment I walked in the door, I could relax. The staff are welcoming and friendly but not at all in-your-face, the food was wholesome and tasty, the rooms are lovingly prepared with the little tailored collection of treats in the welcome pack a particularly kind touch.

The rooms themselves instill a sense of calm and relaxation, and if you need a wee bit of solitude and peace, they provide ample opportunity for that.

Included in my retreat package, I enjoyed a Reiki Massage with Maria Olsthoorn, a mindfulness meditation session with Lynda Benham and and EFT session with Shaun Cameron. I found all of these excellent and really worthwhile, and all very different but complementary.

The gardens and the adjacent forest were lovely tor walking around and clearing the head and if you have a car or bike, a wee run up to Findhorn Bay is highly recommended to blow away the cobwebs.

If you feel like you need some "me" time but want a gentle introduction into a more spiritual lifestyle, I cannot recommend Newbold highly enough. There's a gentle, laid-back vibe, but also and a safety and comfort about the place that really resonated with me.

Thanks to the two Deborahs and Dominic for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuFraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've stayed in 5* hotels, and I've stayed in retreat centres, and to my mind Newbold House combines the absolute best of both. Their attention to detail, cleanliness and loving care of both the property and the interaction with guests was faultless!

The property itself is stunning - an unusually well preserved Edwardian country house with almost all its original features beautifully intact (a rarity these days), including gorgeous moulded ceilings, stained glass windows, and the largest and best-kept walled vegetable garden I've ever seen!

Breakfast is plentiful and varied (from porridge to toast with homemade jams and marmalades, cereals, home-cooked fruits, and on the days we were there boiled eggs - although I gather this depends somewhat on the willingness of their hens to lay!).

The atmosphere here is one of great peace and tranquility, both in the house and gardens, and the members of the community who live here full time are extremely friendly and nuturing whilst running the place with great professionalism and an incredible eye for detail and beauty.

As an escapee from the city, who nevertheless has high standards, this place was an absolute gem on so many levels and I would recommend it to ANYONE looking for something more than 'just a B&B'!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
wonderful to have you here - your contribution to the house and the community was deeply appreciated. And what a wonderful, generous review! May whatever you found here to support and nourish you, stay with you x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Newbold House is a great place to set time aside for if you are looking for a chance to step back from the hectic pace of life and clear a space to reflect and recharge. I did a tailored retreat recently and found it to be a valuable opportunity to experience a rewarding mix of therapies, as well as to spend time to meditate and just 'sit and stare' - in comfortable surroundings inside and a lush environment outside. The folk in the house were very welcoming and there is a calm, spiritual but down to earth feel about the place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a wonderful time at this lovely nurturing place. It was so great to have all the therapies arranged for me and all were great - mindfulness meditation with Margot in the grounds, reflexology from Grace Pirnie, Esalen massage from Heather and an enlightening and stretching yoga lesson with Deborah Willimot. Taize singing is the best way to start the day, especially carying it down to the parlour to greet those coming for breakfast. Deborah coordinated my whole retreat also and I am so grateful to her. The staff were all wonderfully welcoming and catered for my dietary needs too. Will do it again that's for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franeliz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboldhouse, Guest Relations Manager at Newbold House, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for that lovely review - was fab chatting over breakfast with you and again, you were another wounderful person to have in the house. It makes the retreats even more of a joy (for us and the other guests!) when guests like to hang out and they are great fun. May your cup stay full! And looking forward to creating another retreat for you soon (perhaps with willow weaving this time, I did it today and it was fantastically meditative!) DW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.5 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown & Anchor Inn
Crown & Anchor Inn
#1 of 5 in Findhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.6 mi away
Old Mill Inn
Old Mill Inn
#6 of 16 in Forres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbold House

Property: Newbold House
Address: 111 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 2RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbold House is a beautiful 'Eco-Mansion' - an 19th century Victorian building now run by us on sustainable principles. We are a nature-based retreat and well-being centre, B&B and workshop venue,surrounded by 7 acres of beautiful grounds including a large organic veg garden. The property backs onto woodland with walking trails full of wildlife including deer, badgers, red squirrels and pine martens. Every room is a beautiful space, with locally sourced antique linens,china, books and period details such as stained glass and original fireplaces. There are 7 rooms – singles, twins and two rooms able to accommodate up to 5 beds for families or friends sharing. All rooms have their own hand basin, are a good size and have lovely views of the surrounding gardens and woods. There is free Wi-Fi access throughout the house.If you prefer a more rustic experience you can also choose to stay in one of comfortably furnished bell tents, decorated with vintage furniture and accessories. Along with our chickens we have a ‘bee garden’, traditional Shamanic sweat lodge, a garden stupa (Buddhist prayer tower) for outdoor meditation and a classic Victorian conservatory. Here, you can sit and enjoy glorious sub-tropical plants, fig and passion flowers. Our house, grounds and surrounding countryside are a great place to re-connect with yourself and with nature and the wellbeing of people and the planet is at the core of what we do. The house is run by a small community with a large skill-set – including an organic farmer, marine biologist, Shamanic Practitioner, green energy expert, musicians and a highly skilled ornamental gardener. Our group mission is to connect people with nature and nurture; teaching and sharing skills for environmental, personal and social well-being. We are based on the outskirts of Forres, in the gorgeous region of Moray Speyside and just 27 miles east of Inverness. A mere 6 miles away is Findhorn Bay, part of a coastline recently voted as one of the world’s best by National Geographic, great for boat trips and a top seal-spotting location.We are also a short ride away from the famous Findhorn Foundation community, Logie Steading, a converted farmstead of local artisans with second-hand bookshops, an art gallery and farm shop. A variety of medieval castles, Pictish monuments, gardens and a wide variety of outdoor activity providers.Homecooked organic, locally-sourced lunches and dinners available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Newbold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbold House Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing