We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brodie Castle

Brodie Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.93*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A clan chief's treasure house, generations of Clan Brodie have lived and died within Brodie Castle. On the tour can be seen a letter from Robert the Bruce, the coronation robe worn by Queen Adelaide in 1831, antique furniture and ceramics and an extensive art collection, including three works by the Scottish Colourists. This 16th-century castle is a slice of Scottish history not to be missed. There's plenty to discover outside the castle too. The 71 hectare estate has landscaped gardens, a large pond, a walled garden, a woodland walk, an adventure playground and a nature trail with observation hides for watching wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a lovely NTS property set in large and attractive grounds. The building demonstrates varied styles of building, decoration and furnishing and so is very interesting. Our tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and gave us a fantastic tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    106
    31
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Guided tours now, only...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Following the the theft of some library books apparently, you can only be shown round round Brodie Castle nowadays as part of a tightly controlled tour. This is a great shame, as it prevents a leisurely stroll round this old building, to view its range of contents in your own time. My first visits to Brodie were in the days when Ninian, the last Brodie of Brodie to live in the castle, was still alive, and frequently he would be on hand to answer visitors' questions. Sadly, being herded round by however knowledgeable a volunteer guide, does not provide the same experience, as wandering around oneself, at one's own pace. As a long-standing member of The National Trust for Scotland, whilst understanding their concerns over security, i do also find it offensive that I need to be "policed" in this manner.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JTMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely time at Brodie Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Our whole family enjoyed the informative tour. The guide was excellent & made the tour educational & interesting. We loved the tea room, excellent home made food at good price...we ate here 2 days running! The gift shop is also good.
Our kids loved the adventure playground (& the parents too!!). What a magnificent setting for a playground!
The grounds at Brodie castle are lovely, peaceful. We stayed at accomodation on Brodie Castle estate which was a great way to explore this lovely part of Scotland.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyb58941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Highlands, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

A nice building to look round - not too big, but plenty of interest. Quite a good cafe and shop. The grounds are nice, particularly when the daffodils are in bloom. Fine if you are passing that way - but not worth a major detour.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Highland-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
334 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Built in 1567 by Clan Brodie but destroyed by fire in 1645 by Clan Gordon. Rebuilt and the Brodie family lived here until 2003 when Ninian Brodie died. He had already transfered the castle to the National Trust for Scotland and they allowed him to live out his days here. A family feud started after he has sold the castle to the National Trust and because of this the old family wing of the castle is a holiday let and no Brodie is allowed to live here - very sad. I read up about it all when I came home and it seems the castle was in a bad state of repair and no money so Ninian Brodie felt he had no choice but to sell to the National Trust, you got to feel for the family though losing their inheritance, I don't blame them being annoyed. You have to have a guided tour of the castle and our guide was brilliant, they are all volunteers but their knowledge and professionalism is amazing. Very enjoyable visit, fantastic history, would recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brodie Castle also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Brodie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing