We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry, but we were disappointed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Tree Cafe

The Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Olive Tree Cafe is a coffee shop that currently seats 90 indoors and has a beautiful courtyard outside for further dining. There is a lovely mezzanine area upstairs for relaxing over a newspaper or magazine whilst enjoying a freshly baked treat with a hot tea, coffee or hot chocolate. As part of a converted steading there are many different independently owned businesses offering various shops for visitors to enjoy. The cafe makes all of its food and cakes freshly on the premises using the freshest of ingredients. With an adult's and children's menu, delicious coffee and a variety of teas we enjoy catering for all tastes. There is a play area for children and disabled access for those who need it.
Beauly, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sorry, but we were disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Logie Steading and the Olive Tree had been recommended to us as a destination and lunch venue. I think we hit them on a bad day. At 13.00 hrs, the queue was out of the Olive Tree door, so we returned half an hour later. It was still a bit busy at this stage, but the confused situation at the order counter did not help, nor did the fact that they had run out of baked potatoes. We were warned that the order would take around 20 minutes to arrive, but it was well beyond this when two out of three lunches were delivered with a few terse words of apology. We had to go and chase the third meal and the pot of tea, which eventually arrived a full 40 minutes or more after the original order was made, with the same terse apology. The third meal was a club sandwich, which, to judge by the cold temperature of the toasted bread, had been standing for some while. A neighbouring table, of which the occupants were known to us, waited a similar time for 3 bowls of soup.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. On certain days we become incredibly busy with a tiny kitchen behind the scenes trying its hardest to keep up. We have the maximum amount of staff that we can fit into the café on any busy day due to its small size which means that unfortunately everything can sometimes become very hectic. We are so sorry that you had to wait so long and that we had sold out of baked potatoes by the time you came to order. We try to keep the quantities of each dish to an estimated number each day so that we minimise any wastage as everything is cooked fresh every day. This unfortunately means that we can sometimes run out of certain things on the menu. In the autumn we are going to be moving the café across the courtyard to a much larger premises with a bigger kitchen and we are looking forward to any overcrowding and timing issues being a thing of the past. Thank you so much for your visit and taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    13
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Have been many times to the cafe. The quality is very good. Friendly staff, clean and nice atmosphere. Nice too to wander through to the Gallery and the old book shop, antiques and produce/plant shop. Lovely for an afternoon outing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WinnieOnHoliday M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the café and Logie Steading. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth Waiting For”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Very hungry at the time and difficulty finding somewhere to sit and eat for evening meal that wasn't too classy or takeaways. Thoroughly enjoyed the casual atmosphere and very friendly staff. The food was really tasty.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellers060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for writing about your visit. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch at the Olive Tree Cafe and it was very nice, really enjoyed our food. The staff were friendly and the service was good, will definitely be back soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A treat indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I say Treat as this place is under new ownership and used to be called Treats at Logie.
The menu is basically the same with some tweaks. I recommend the venison burger served with salad and crisps although the fish cakes come a very close second followed by the steak sandwich. Soup is always good. Its is about 5 miles out of Forres just turn right just after Logie school and it is at the bottom of the hill about half a mile down on the right. There is also great river walks but watch your step it is not suitable for all.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOliveTreeCafe, Owner at The Olive Tree Cafe, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the café. We still continue to sell the ever popular venison burger! When we move across the courtyard in autumn 2013 to a bigger premises we are looking forward to trying out lots of new recipes and dishes too. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing