We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love it!”

Scottish Highland Restaurant at Knockomie House
Ranked #16 of 35 Restaurants in Forres
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
forres
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I just love it!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

You made my birthday very special! Your service is fantastic, food and atmosphere outstanding! You even got the sun in the garden. I just love your house! :-) Best place in Forres. Big thank you to all of you and your staff! Back soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elke235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Loved the food, served to perfection. Wide selection on the menu which changes regularly and great decor in the restuarant. Didn't find anything to dislike.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank V3rne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN MORAY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“40th birthday lunch”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

excellent lunchtime special menu great value for money and the service was fantastic well done will be back

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MORAG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally insulted”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We dined at the knockomie for my birthday and were having a lovely time, until we started talking to the owner (after paying our expensive bill!) who was talking about business etc, she then began telling us what the hotel used to be like, white linen tablecloths, napkins and the like, but they'd had to lower their standards for people like ourselves. How rude, I will never darken their doorstep again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Hazey_dazey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Scottish Highland Restaurant at Knockomie House, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
You’re upset, and we are upset that you are upset! Indeed we have changed, and we are proud of the changes we have made and we apologise if this enthusiasm for the success we have had in making these changes offended you. Sorry!
For clarity we have removed the linen tablecloths but not the napkins, and have given our menu more breadth with main courses starting from around £11.00. You can graze on one course or dine on a full meal.
It is a big change from the days when we charged a lot more! We remain committed to using local produce where possible, with dishes created by talented chefs, offered in an unstuffy atmosphere, by our team dedicated to offering great service.
We are proud of our new concept, which has broadened our appeal and affordability. Our conversation with you was in good faith, on reflection I hope you will forgive our enthusiasm, we are having a lot more fun and we know our guests are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for money?!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Depends what you're going for! We stayed in this hotel and ate there one evening. Treated ourselves to what we thought would be something special - it wasn't! The food was disappointing and not of the quality I expected for the price we paid. It might be better value when you're eating the special lunches and evening meals, as the food is good but need to up the standards on the more expensive items folks, they should be as described - exquisite!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Vonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Highland Restaurant at Knockomie House also viewed

 

Been to Scottish Highland Restaurant at Knockomie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing