We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing the little touches”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Uralla

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uralla
Ranked #14 of 16 Forres B&B and Inns
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Missing the little touches”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We booked out the 3 rooms in this B&B for a family weekend. Although it states that it is a 4* I would not agree with this anyway, but my understanding is 50% of the rooms must be en-suite in order to have 4*..... only 1 of the 3 rooms had ensuite!
The house is lovely and was clean, but as a previous review has stated, it was very badly signed. The gate was awkward to open and stuck on the ground, but this is not a major issue really.
The house is full of personal photos and again although nothing major, i'd have thought these should really have been kept to private areas. There were 2 reception rooms plus the dining room. We were never informed that we were allowed to use either of the reception rooms.
There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which I see as a minimum requirement and although there was bottled water, it was not replaced on the 2nd day.
Breakfast was very nice. Tea and coffee and as much toast as we asked for, but this all had to be ordered the night before with a strict cut off of no later than 0900 for it to be served. After a good night out you often like to have a bit of a longer lie!
Overall it was a pleasant, but by no means superb. Again as a previous review has said, it looks like it is done to supplement income and almost appears an inconvenience to the owners as there didn't appear to be a passion from the owners for the place as a B&B as I have quite often seen from other B&B owners.

Room Tip: Look for a house named the Hythe.... the poorly signed Uralla is next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrickMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Very nice room had the double ensuite. Very impressed friendly service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in Uralla while visiting friends in Forres. It was a perfect base for the weekend. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. Our room was huge and very comfortable, it was very clean and as was the en suite. The breakfasts were delicious and set us up well for the day. We really enjoyed our stay, the owners have the balance of being friendly and welcoming with out being overbearing just right!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EggboxEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

**** This is NOT a 4 star establishment****

This is an old, tired B&B. There was no sign and we had to drive up and down the road a few times to find it; it was almost as if they were embarrassed to 'do B&B'. The house and garden are kept at minimum standard of repair. It was very apposite that the garden gate stuck fast on the concrete path and did not open fully. The owners are a middle aged couple, in the business to supplement income, rather than a desire to offer a service. We found that the rooms were let off peak to students. And it shows - in my bedroom, I bent down to plug in an electrical appliance and the smell of stale urine on carpet caught the back of my throat.)

The fittings and furniture are old and out-dated and it was not as clean as I would have liked. Old personal photographs of family members adorn the walls and surfaces and as a guest you feel as if you are intruding. There appeared to be two sitting rooms in the house but we were never offered the use of either.

There was no information about nearby restaurants, activities. I was slightly surprised by this as one of the star ratings is for local facilities. When asked about the opening times of the nearby pool, the owner had no idea.

Wi Fi is advertised in the book, but we were not offered the use of it and you felt disinclined to ask!

Everything I dislike about B&Bs.

On the plus side, breakfast was OK and delivered on time. The husband was friendly, supplying info as requested. You got keys to come and go as you pleased. There was bottled water and biscuits along with Tea and Coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taxinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Forres hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed here as a last minute booking. The rooms are huge, beds really comfortable and lots of extras such as bottled water with tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. Didn't see any sign of other guests, although it was full and there was never an issue with acessing the bathroom, so don't be put off by it not having en-suite. There are some glossy magazines for bed-time reading too. The breakfast was delicious and Pat the owner is very friendly. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeysocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Crown & Anchor Inn
Crown & Anchor Inn
#1 of 5 in Findhorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newbold House
Newbold House
#1 of 4 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
3.8 mi away
Old Mill Inn
Old Mill Inn
#6 of 16 in Forres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uralla

Property: Uralla
Address: Uralla Sanquhar Road, Forres IV36 1DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forres
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Uralla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uralla Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing