We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baxters Highland Village

Baxters Highland Village
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Fochabers
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Baxters Highland Village offers a variety of speciality shops, stocked with a wide range of Baxters and Audrey Baxter range of food products, speciality foods, clothing, cookware and gifts. George Baxter's Cellar Shop stocks all of the Baxters food range, made here in Fochabers. A wide choice of branded foods sourced from around the world are also available, including many wines and a fine range of whisky. A haven for the enthusiastic cook, Mrs Baxter's Cook Shop is full of practical items for the kitchen. A selection of fine clothing and accessories are on offer in the Coat and Swagger Shop. A trip to Baxters wouldn't be complete without a visit to our restaurant, where a sample of delicious Scottish fayre is served, including Baxters famous soups, pancakes fresh from the griddle and home baked pastries, in a relaxed and friendly environment.
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We've been to baxters a few times for lunch and unfortunately, I'd have to say it has been average overall. Quite pricey for what you're getting, a lot of it appears to be frozen food that's been heated up. The shops are nice though.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbarazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Baxters Highland Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your visit to Baxters Highland Village.
Please be assured that our food is prepared fresh and we do not serve heated up frozen foods and we reguarly check our prices to make sure we are competative as possible.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed a visit to our shops.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
from all of us at Baxters Highland Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    136
    54
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good cafe and shop of tasty treats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The soup is good, as to be expected! Perhaps a pound over-priced but it was tasty and the bread was good quality. The service was a little confusing- we had to wait for a waiter to return to the till which didn't make sense.
The exhibition of the history of the company was informative and worth a look, but the highlight for us was the food shop which had all kinds of tempting goodies, from cheaper tins of soup to all kinds of bread flour and plenty of chocolate and biscuits :)
It would be very easy to spend a fortune in there but we managed to stay disciplined and spend less than £15.
We will almost certainly be returning to buy christmas presents for the family :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Baxters Highland Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent visit to Baxters Highland Village.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your soup, and please accept our apologies for your wait at the till. We are pleased that you enjoyed a visit to our exhibition and in particular to our foodshop.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
from all of us at Baxters Highland Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sub Standard Sunday Lunch.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stopped off for Sunday lunch thinking Baxters name would mean quality. How disappointed i was when my plate arrived with the overdone beef was covered in a very ordinary gravy ,four small potatoes ,carrots and broccoli .The kitchen needs updating and it would be nice to see the food before you buy!!! Had this been so i would not have had the beef. The meal was over £10 so very expensive .
On the plus side we found the shops well stocked with a variety of goods and the "Loo,s"were well presented. Good to visit but the restaurant needs attention and upgrading as there are much better garden centre,s who supply a high standard of food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1945Nairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Baxters Highland Village, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent trip to Baxters Highland Village.
We are very sorry that you left disappointed by your visit to the restaurant. We pride ourelves on our high standards and our quality food, your dish should certainly not have been over cooked and also should have been served with roasted potatoes,Yorkshire pudding & horseradish sauce, we apologise if that was not the case. We would have been more than happy to replace your dish if you were willing to give us you feedback on the day, however we fully understand if you did not wish to do this.
We generally do not display food on the counter as we like to freshly prepare our meals, however we will take your feedback on board regarding this.
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit round our shops and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
from all of us at Baxters Highland Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic high tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

On arrival for our high tea, we were welcomed by friendly staff who took us to our table in a lovely relaxing setting. The menu had a good variety of foods and they all sounded delicious. We were given teas/coffee and our meals served within a short time. Just when we thought we couldn't eat any more staff then brought to the table the most beautifully presented pancakes, scones, shortbread and chocolate tray bakes. They were delicious and were very kindly given little boxes to take home ones we were unable to manage! Such a nice gesture as many places do not offer that service. Throughout our meal staff made sure we were enjoying our meal and could not do enough for us. Everyone within the restaurant made our family get together such a lovely one and we will definitely be returning again. The professional manner in which all the staff work is a credit to the company.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Shonasark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Baxters Highland Village, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Shona,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feeback regarding your recent visit to Baxters Highland Village.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your high tea and found that the food and service was fantastic. We pride ourselves on our high standards and always aim to make each visit an enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,
From all of us at Baxters Highland Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful freshly made pancake which are the size of your plate. Lovely shopping village next to the river Spey. Recommend that you visit when in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingerspice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T, Manager at Baxters Highland Village, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Customer,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your visit to baxters Highland Village.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, especially our ever popular pancakes, and a browse round our shops.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
From all of us at Baxters Highland Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baxters Highland Village also viewed

 

Been to Baxters Highland Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing