We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot Water Bottles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Fochabers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dungannon, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot Water Bottles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here in Mid April this year for two nights. Dian and Ian looked after us from the moment we stepped through the door and were wonderful hosts during our stay. The standard of the room can only be described as outstanding in every aspect, from the featured bathroom to the hot water bottles placed in the bed. This B7B would put some 5 star hotels to shame, well done Dian and Ian.

Room Tip: The room over the door with the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
58
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year and we returned in April 2013 with my parents. We were welcomed as friends and my parents were blown away with the excellence and quality of everything. From the welcoming afternoon tea, the beautiful decor, fluffy towels, Shampoos etc. The hot water bottle and hot chocolate made for a great sleep and we woke refreshed and ready for Ian and Dian's amazing breakfasts. The healthy, delicious breakfasts truly keep you going through the day with no top ups required for lunch.

Throughout it all we felt so welcomed by Ian and Dian, and they went out of their way to make our stay special. I think if they could have made it snow for us, they would have obliged...[You will be pleased to know that it snowed on our last night in Inverness]

This B & B is perfection in every way possibly and we cannot rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the moment that we drove into the magnificently groomed gardens we could not fault this B&B. Dian and Ian we superb hosts and made us feel so welcome. It was such a lovely surprise to have freshly made scones offered to us over a cuppa when we arrived.

I had booked the Aigen room with its 4-poster bed ahead of our arrival as I loved the look it had online. The room itself was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was nicer than our own! The views from the room over the courtyard and onto the valley were just breathtaking and so very relaxing, I don’t think we even turned the tele on during our stay! We were given fresh milk daily in a cooler for our room and when we turned in at night it was a lovely suppose to find a hot water bottle heating up each side of the bed!

Breakfast: - oh where to start :) It was a lot to fit in our stomachs as it was huge....but we are not complaining it was fab. Fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt to start followed by one of the options on the menu (we opted for a full Scottish on the 1st day). Dian makes her own bread fresh each day and all the produce used at the B&B are sourced locally so you know that you are getting the very best of what Scotland has to offer.

Attention to detail and making guests welcome is clearly what Dian and Ian thrive on. We are currently trying to plan when we can go back for another visit. Certainly the best B&B we have ever had the pleasure to stay in.

Room Tip: all rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

For a luxurious short break while walking the Speyside Way and Moray coastal walk you cannot beat the Trochelhill Country House.
Set in a tranquil spot in the country with mountain view, this truly 5 star accommodation delivers in all aspects.
The hosts go the extra mile and do all they can to make your stay special. The rooms are immaculate, with calming essential oils, beautiful cotton linen, comfortable beds and pillows and little chance of even a suffering hay fever patient finding a speck of dust!
The bathroom was large and warm which in a traditional old building was a lovely surprise. Lovely large fluffy towels, tasteful toiletries, luxurious bath tub and shower that would please anyone.
Although the good sized room was cosy, it was still a real treat to find a hot water bottle in our twin beds when my daughter and I returned from our walks in the chilly spring.
Very good quality breakfast with lots of choice.
Well done Diane and Ian- you have got this just right and we had a fantastic break. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just had a flying weekend visit to this lovely country B&B.

The standard was very high, the welcome was fantastic ant the couple who run this B&B couldn't have been more helpful, even letting us come back for a mid-afternoon clean up after taking part in the Kinloss - Lossie half marathon.

It's actually really not that remote either, being only 5min off the A96........

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeFallAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nothing about Trochelhill was second rate. Rooms were huge, immaculate and tasteful with every creature comfort available. Hosts went out of their way to make us feel at home and answer our questions. The food was of a high standard and although the home is set in the countryside it was close to everything. The cost was slightly more than other B & Bs we stayed in but the quality of our stay exceeded our expectations. Thank you for a wonderful 2 days

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newmi0, Owner at Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
aw thankyou, means a lot, kindest regards Dian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

what an amazing hotel saying it's a bed and breakfast is far off the mark. Beautiful bed/bedding coming in to hot water bottle in your bed amazing. Welcome of afternoon tea and great breakfast next day well worth every penny. We intend to go back thanks to Ian and Dianne for fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: leave it to Ian and Dianne
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fochabers
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
8.5 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
12.8 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Orbliston, Fochabers IV32 7LN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Fochabers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Fochabers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Moray, Trochelhill is set in 2 acres of beautiful rural Speyside, with the famous Whisky Trail on our doorstep. Golf, Walking, Cycling, Castles and other attractions are all close by.Lovingly restored, Trochelhill offers Luxury Country House accommodation in tranquil surroundings for your enjoyment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Trochelhill Country House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trochelhill Country House Bed And Breakfast Fochabers, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing