We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gordon Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel(Elgin)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lossiemouth House(Lossiemouth)
$112
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stotfield Hotel(Lossiemouth)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
17
42
44
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
42
44
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedbeefthe riverhaggiswould stay againnice roomfishing tripfood was lovelywell worth a visitcomfortable bedstayed here for one nightkipperssmall villageblack puddingan evening mealtwin roomthe pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 122 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We are at a loss to understand the less than favorable reviews some others have given. The room we got here was spotless and fairly priced, and the dinner we had was very good as well, as was breakfast. We spoke to several locals who eat here regularly and think highly of it. The desk and wait staff were on top of things. Would not hesitate to stay or eat here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Following a luke warm welcome we were taken to clean but basic rooms looking on to a weed strewn carpark. The decor throughout is dated and dismal and in need of modernisation. Dinner was served in a busy bar area, plain cuisine but acceptable. Overall the impression was unfavourable and I will be unlikely to return.

Room Tip: unlikely to find a ''good''room here
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Gordon Arms in Fochabers has been a handy little place to go for a local meal with my Mum along with various relatives for years but,trust me,this will be the last time.
With my brother up on business all the way from Yorkshire,we decided to get together with Mum for a convenient local meal. After being directed to a small round table in front of the bar,we asked about the bigger table in the corner,even though it still had to be tidied up,and that was ok.
All downhill from there though as the table never got cleaned,the drinks order never got taken and we were asked to move to the little round table in front of the bar again,just incase they got a party of 4 in. Well,we sat at the little table and waited,no orders taken again and we were off!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank blair c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Visited for a family meal with my Mother and Brother. Bar was quite full with, what looked like tourists. A table to seat four was free in the corner and we sat down directed by a very nice young waitress after she tried to seat us at a "small" table near the bar. We were only there a minute before a very gruff older waitress (glasses?) came and asked/insisted we moved to the small table. When asked why? She told us she wanted it free, "in case a party of four came and wanted it?" None of really wanted to move but we were all starving so we did. We soon came to our senses when there was no one at the bar and no one came to ask us if we'd like a drink or anything? Time to leave! None of the staff had a smile on their face or seemed to have any time for any of the customers? They could all do with a lesson in customer care. We left. Also noticed that the table for four was still unoccupied as we left so hopefully they lost seven customers that night! Would not go back, very poor service.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank stevemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Whilst visiting family in Fochabers we frequented the Gordon Arms for an early evening meal but had difficulty in finding a table as the restaurant was very busy. The members of staff were very helpful and soon we were seated. The menu is extensive and the fare is reasonably priced. However, the majority of the food appears to be home cooked as opposed to home made and with a little imagination and use of local produce, not wholesale ingredients, the food on the plate could be more appetising.

The service was friendly and efficient.

Obviously on the evening the restaurant was busy but was it local trade or people passing through?

Make that little extra effort and everyone will return at some time but stay the same and it is most unlikely. I am still out on this but I think they deserve another try.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews