We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Odd”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Findhorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Crown is a warm, friendly place situated in the heart of Findhorn village overlooking the beautiful Findhorn bay. We are the only Hotel in Findhorn with 7 en-suite rooms available if you are looking for accommodation. We have a great selection of Malt Whisky. Cask Ales are also available. Families with children are welcome. Under 14’s can use the conservatory and restaurant area up until 8pm. We specialise in traditional Scottish cooking using fresh local produce and seafood so if you are looking for somewhere to eat in Findhorn? Look no further! Our chefs look forward to serving you.
Argyll
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Bit Odd”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

All looked promising, lovely weather outside, and log stove inside which gave a cosy atmosphere. Then we ordered food...mussels were small and I had lots that didn't open. The sauce was strange, but ok apart from the raw onion sprinkled on the top. others had risotto and steak pie - and both were ok. The fish and chips looked fantastic - so I obviously made the wrong choice. Wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    112
    28
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had a really lovely lunch in this establishment, 2 crab thermidor and 2 dressed crab, main courses were,1 scallop rissoto. 1 battered haddock ( xtremely large !) , 1 hot smoked salmon chilli sce, 1 haggis stuffed chicken all very well presented and xcellent portions.Friendly staff and a nice cosy atmosphere will certainly be back. Thanks very much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feebee80
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and friendly service”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been working in the area for three years and wish I had found this place sooner. The food is fantastic, rooms are always spotlessly clean and a very warm welcome. I thoroughly recommend the Crown and Anchor if you want quality food and a friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank feebee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingwall
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back from a recent visit here really enjoyed it.the resturant is relaxed with a warm friendly atmosphere.
Fresh local seafood on offer got our attention and it was the best meal I've had for a while.the crab starter was good would have done as a main meal for 1 of the party.haddock was really fresh and the batter was crispy.I had scallops and risotto another thumbs up clean plates all round.the roast beef was again excellent and will definetly be returning here in the future

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mackie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic, wiil deffinately visit again”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Sunday Lunch a must, excellent value and teriffic food. Pleasant atmosphere, warm and welcoming with the open fire. Evening meals great also.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taor_luath2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing