We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing carvings and mysterious tales”
Review of Rosslyn Chapel

Rosslyn Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$48.94*
and up
Rosslyn Chapel, the Scottish Borders and Glenkinchie Distillery Tour from...
More Info
$51.59*
and up
Rosslyn Chapel and Hadrian's Wall Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Roslin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rosslyn Chapel, dating back to 1446, is just seven miles from Edinburgh city centre and is open to visitors all year. The Chapel's setting and the mysterious symbolism of its ornate stonework have attracted and intrigued visitors for generations. A starring role in The Da Vinci Code propelled it into the international spotlight. There are countless theories, myths and legends associated with the Chapel and our tour guides will be able to tell you more about these, and the building's history, when you visit. Please note that photography inside the Chapel is not allowed but there are no restrictions on outside photography. New visitor centre with touch-screen technology, letting you see the carvings close up; gift shop and good coffee shop. Full details of how to get here and what to see and do is on our website.
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing carvings and mysterious tales”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Really interesting visit. The visitor centre is comfy and modern with a good cafe and the chapel itself, although small, is truly gorgeous. The carvings are much more intricate than in an photographs and really take your breath away. Got to meet the chapel cat!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairhaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    543
    132
    45
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely well worth a look”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just a half hour or so bus ride outside Edinburgh it the lovely Rosslyn Chapel is a delight with breathtaking views around the grounds. The inside of church is amazing but no photos are allowed we had a lovely guide called Kat who gave us a brief history of the church right down to the mention in the da Vinci code. The cafe was nice with friendly staff. Well worth a look.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Rosslyn Chapel”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arrived to be told it was closed today (Monday 28th October) due to a power failure (Health and Saftey gone mad, they didn't even have electricity when it was built) but we were shown were to go around the outside of the fenced area so you could stll see the chapel by the helpful staff. Its worth a visit but a shame we couldn't see it close up and go inside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Roslyn Chapel”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I arrived to be told it was closed due to a power cut today. However by good luck, power was restored and I finally managed to visit. They have built a fantastic visitor centre, which makes it impossible to see the chapel unless you pay. The guides were very helpful and informed but I hated not being able to take a photo of the interior of the chapel. If you have paid to see it, why not? The chapel was lovely and well worth seeing. Inside and out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank corinne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“missed opportunity to tell us some interesting history, very expensive”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Visited on a wet Sunday busy roads getting to the chapel having to get past the retail park and ikea store. The initial area has plenty of visual educational tools with the very expensive gift shop and cafe being the first parts you see. The chapel itself was interesting and we heard a tour guides 25 mins presentation but I can't put my finger on it but there was too much second guessing what things were or meant to be . There is so much history here and they have missed it. At £9 admission for an adult I wont be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Director at Rosslyn Chapel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Rosslyn Chapel and for posting your comments. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit and felt that some of the history of the site was missed. With over 550 years of history, it is, of course, impossible to cover everything but through our guides' talks, interpretation panels in the Chapel and displays in the visitor centre, we try to cover the key parts of the Chapel's story. As you would hear from the guide, there are countless myths, theories and legends associated with the Chapel, and its carvings, and often it is impossible to prove, or disprove, these conclusively - perhaps leading to your feeling of us guessing what things are and what they are meant to be. I know that many visitors enjoy being able to give the Chapel their own interpretation and am sorry that this led to your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosslyn Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Rosslyn Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing