We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of history and very beautiful..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosslyn Chapel

Rosslyn Chapel
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.34*
and up
Da Vinci Code and Scottish Borders Small Group Day Trip from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Roslin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Rosslyn Chapel, dating back to 1446, is just seven miles from Edinburgh city centre and is open to visitors all year. The Chapel's setting and the mysterious symbolism of its ornate stonework have attracted and intrigued visitors for generations. A starring role in The Da Vinci Code propelled it into the international spotlight. There are countless theories, myths and legends associated with the Chapel and our tour guides will be able to tell you more about these, and the building's history, when you visit. Please note that photography inside the Chapel is not allowed but there are no restrictions on outside photography. New visitor centre with touch-screen technology, letting you see the carvings close up; gift shop and good coffee shop. Full details of how to get here and what to see and do is on our website.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of history and very beautiful..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Totally worth a visit on any trip to edinburgh or the surrounding areas. If you can be there for when they do their talk on the chapel, do it! They tell you loads about the history of the building and what it has been through. It is such an old building and its amazing that it is in such good condition still. Very interesting to see and beautiful architecture too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RNSweets82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,509
    506
    125
    44
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rosslyn Chapel is the place to visit if you enjoy the beauty of architecture and stone works. It is a small place comparing with the other Cathedrals, Churches and Abbeys. It is feels like one put all the different stone carvings, if not more, of Westminster Abbey into one little Chapel. Almost every piece of carving is different and yet all beautiful. On top of the art works, there is of course the mystery from the movie and relation to the Temple church making it attracting to people into that part of the history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rosslyn Chapel is a delight for those who are sensitive to the beauty of architecture. Every single detail had been carefully planned and made with the greatest attention. Sure, there's the whole ''Da Vinci Code'' story which is why the Chapel is always so crowded, but legends aside - it is a wonderful place on its own.

When we visited, there was a talk inside on the history of the place, which we found very informative and interesting. You can also get an audio guide and/or a floor plan with the most interesting bits highlighted.

It's a pity that photography is not allowed inside (some people were still taking pictures though), but I suppose it is understandable.

The visitor centre was also quite interesting, despite the overpriced cafe and the not-so-clean toilets. But I am still giving 5 stars as the chapel itself definitely deserves them.

We also wandered around the nearby graveyard, which was very tranquil and peaceful, and tourist-free.

It was a beautiful day out, although I would love to come again one day and have the place to myself, without all the crowds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FieldPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remscheid
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice small chapel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visited the chapel with my family and what I can recommend is the hourly speech with explanations inside the chapel. Unfortunately it is not allowed to take pictures inside even not without flash.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Juergen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
251 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went mildly curious and were totally awe struck by the chapel. Well worth a visit, and take the time to listen to the presentation by the staff. A set of small binoculars would have been helpful to see many of the details.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigAlks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosslyn Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Rosslyn Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing