We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You've read the book” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosslyn Castle

Rosslyn Castle
Book In Advance
$59.57*
and up
Holy Grail and Knights Templar Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Roslin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You've read the book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Do the tour, this place just oozes history. I love the architecture, i love the atmosphere and the setting is to die for. Take a walk to Rosslyn Glen its well worth it this place leaves you asking more questions than you originally had.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rontap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    52
    29
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning and Serene”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I agree with my fellow reviewers - there isn't a great deal to see - but that did not concern me. The walk down from Rosslyn Chapel was delightful, passing the graveyards you are engulfed in a sence of history and serene silence.
I admit that my visit was generated by watching " The Da Vinci Code " and it was spectacular to see some of the beautiful film backdrops used in the closing scenes of the movie.
Worth the walk - yes ( it will take you about 8 - 10 minutes ) Stunning and Serene

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackWitchNZ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“bit boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

was interested at first but as my husband is a mason he spent about three hours looking for hidden symbols then telling me different boring information it was so cold that i thought the hypotherema was going to set in

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank shellt_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My friends and I rented Rosslyn castle through Landmark Trust for a weekend away and had a great time. The Castle is in amazing condition and been kept to a high standard, with original features and historical artwork throughout. You have a real sense of the history of the place, with log books and paintings kept to stimulate your interest. Self catering, with everything you need provided, including logs delivered if requested!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaLush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular view from the ruins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is beautiful ruined castle just a short walk from Roslyn chapel. It is a great Jew of Scotland and the ruins have a spooky abandoned feel. Overall a really beautiful site.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LEJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosslyn Castle also viewed

 

Been to Rosslyn Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing