We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melville Inn Very Good”
Review of The Melville Inn

The Melville Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Lasswade
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Melville Inn in Lasswade is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Melville Inn Very Good”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went for lunch and had the vintage pies - can highly recommend! Very good food lovely service, very polite - nice place for lunch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lornamwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    129
    66
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere, great prices”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Been a few times and always received excellent service. Loving the atmosphere, especially now the fires are on for winter! Only downside is that all the food's so good i never know what to choose. And the churros... sweet lord the churros!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a meal!”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

With great food and great service I couldn't recommend The Melville Inn more. The haddock and mustard fishcakes were absolutely delicious and at less than £10 I really couldn't complain about the price. I'll definitely be making a return visit soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WaltFlannagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good value for money family lunch”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited the butterfly world and stopped in for lunch. 2 course for £8 and £ 6.95 for 2 course children's menu. Food was fresh and tasty, the children's meal came with colouring in crayons and quiz. Friendly staff, lovely environment, decent grub, definitely recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leith
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had eaten here several times before and always been quite happy with it but my visit yesterday change my opinion. I had 3 courses and they were all very poor. It may have been the timing of our visit (late afternoon - between lunch and supper) but everything was dried out and tough - even the Yorkshire pudding was hard and very difficult to a) cut and b) chew. From the mushroom starter to the apple fritter dessert my meal was dreadful. The staff did not seem very interested although one did ask if I'd like a replacement Yorkshire pudding or a steak knive with which to cut it. I had managed to cut it up by that point though, so I didn't take her up on her
offer. If it WAS due to the time of day, the management needs to revisit the 'all day food' strategy. Normally, this meal would have been excellent value but it was really disappointing and not worth the £10.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank leithheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melville Inn also viewed

Lasswade, Midlothian
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to The Melville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing