We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't equate period detail with dusty or stuffy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port St. Mary
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron House
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't equate period detail with dusty or stuffy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

Victoriana is not my thing, and I have asthma so I hate dust. Despite both, I can recommend Aaron House unconditionally. You stay in a piece of theatre, a very effective re-creation of a Victorian guest house. Everything is spot on character and spotlessly pristine. The hosts are obviously enthusiasts, but they don't get carried away with anything except great hospitality and some wry humour. The only concessions to modernity are very comfortable beds, good bath/shower facilities, hairdryers and a kettle in your room for tea. Don't expect a TV in the room though. Needless to say the restored sash windows didn't rattle in the gale that was blowing straight at us from the beach.

Room Tip: You can apparently connect to wifi if you need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSeenitawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had a lovely time at Aaron House in Port St Mary, we could not be made more welcome by the owners Reg & Kath if they tried.
The whole set up and ambience's of the Victorian theme with the dress code, rooms and House was an amazing achievement to both of them. .Thanks again we will come again. Must mention this to Reg before we go...... Just before we was picked up form Aaron House we was having a cup of tea on the veranda when the Taxi turned up at 12.45, Reg spoke to him kindly informing him he was too early and we would be ready as soon as we finished out tea..... When we left to go to the airport we said to each other we could have got a later taxi as our flight was not until 15.15. When we got into the airport we had 5 mins before boarding and the plane took off 5 mins after that, we had been looking at the landing time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

The owners have made a great and successful effort in creating the ambience of Victorian times, including dressing the part. We thoroughly enjoyed the three nights we stayed here and felt that the owners went out of their ways to be helpful.

One of our party found that climbing over a high sided Victorian Bath a struggle, but we have no reservations in recommending a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

My sister and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Excellent food, comfortable surroundings, atmospheric, ideally situated and very friendly. Kath and Reggie....perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheepyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Simply the best, because it`s a great location, Kath and Reggie provide everything for the guest,from perfectly cooked breakfast, or healthy choices of fresh fruits scrummy cereals, freshly baked bread and cakes and juices, not forgetting the freshly brewed tea and coffee
The breakfast room is a " grand room" overlooking the bay, Reggie does the job of the Head Butler perfectly, and Kath balences as Head Housekeeper/cook, (keeping him in check)
A perfect partnership, with guests enjoying the friendly banter.
Bedrooms and beds offer exeptional comfort with pristine linen, and pretty decor.
I am so pleased we stayed there will always remember it,
Liz & Jem

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

The hotel was marvellous, after the first night you get used to the wooden floors creaking as people pop to bathrooms etc. Shared lounge, which is delightful to swop visiting places ideas with fellow residents. Get a hire car. parking in the road outside is free and no problem. Staff are marvellous, friendly and so helpful. Kippers a must have and the welsh rarebit too! Also check out Cocoa Red chocolate another of their offerings. Just a fabulous setting in Port St Mary's. highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy220461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

A comfortable and appetising blend of time past and modern comforts, delivered with good humour and warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomon262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port St. Mary
0.0 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shore Hotel
The Shore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Port St. Mary
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron House

Property: Aaron House
Address: Arron House The Promenade, Port St. Mary IM9 5DE
Location: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port St. Mary
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port St. Mary
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aaron House Port St. Mary, Isle Of Man

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing