We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mistakingly called a Hotel”
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Did not do justice to true Scottish Food. Limited choice at breakfast, no kippers,no black pudding or haggis pudding no oatcakes not the best of a full Scottish Breakfast. Room comfortable but a bit cluttered stayed three nights and towels never changed even though I put towels in bath as instructed. It uses the term hotel loosely as it only has a restricted licence and most times if no diners then no bar available. I would describe the bed & breakfast price a bit on the expensive side for what you actually got.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TAYLOR1TAYSIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2008

A good stay at the Burlington. The room was spacious and comfortable with nice views out to Whiting Bay. It is a great place to stay to explore the island which is beautiful.

Breakfast was nice, friendly hosts and very friendly labrador! We had dinner at the hotel one evening which was tasty and they were accomodating to vegetarians.

Can recommend a walk up Goat Fell for good views - the local village shop do packed lunches.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_only_do_luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

stayed aug 5-12 the most relaxing holiday i have ever had,good food,sea views,terrific service.all the staff are pleasant and helpfull.everything is faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank norwayManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Had a very nice two night stay at the Burlington hotel last week. It is a lovely hotel just across the road from the beach. Had a very large room with sitting area on the top floor overlooking the bay. Food was very good, ate here both nights would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jillpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Burlington Hotel for two nights in September. It was a very pleasant stay.
Arran is an exceptionally beautiful island and the hotel is in an excellent location with great vievs over Whiting Bay. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the service was great. Our room was tastefully furnished and decorated and was of a decent size. The accommodation was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was very good. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but if we went there again we probably would. The menu looked promising and there didn't seem to be many restaurants in Whiting Bay.
We recommend Burlington Hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2005

We loved it here. Peaceful and relaxing. Were made very welcome, including our dog. Food is exceptional. Special meals were prepared for one member of our party who has special dietary needs. The beach is just across the road. Would recommend strongly.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank from-Moray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2005

The Burlington has a lovely sea view, the owners were very welcoming. We stayed in the suite which was a huge room with en suite bathroom, unfortunately no bath just a shower and seats with a view of the shore.
The room was tastefully decorated.

We had our evening meal in the hotel, they are members of the slow food movement and I can thoroughly recommend the food. Good hearty cooking at very reasonable prices.

Our only quibble was that at breakfast the tables were very close together, which as we were on a romantic weekend break was not quite what we expected.

Overall we felt that the Burlington is a three star hotel of an excellent standard for the price

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiting Bay
2.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
772 reviews
6.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,749 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
963 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
452 reviews
10.3 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8PZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Price Range: $79 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing