We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly and warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viewbank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 6 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We walked off thehills and into Whiting Bay tired and grumpy after a hard last few miles in fading light and growing gloom. Walking from the beach up totheguest house we started bickering and fighting. We arrived andour hosts showed us to our rooms, helped us book a restaurant, and even drove us back down thehill offering a lift back later.Their kindness and attention (as well as a great breakfast) made our stay comfortable and easy. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Viewbank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed during the October holiday for two nights. I read the hotels website and had good correspondence from the owner Julie. The owner did mention the hill but no offer was forthcoming to collect guests as stated on their website. I had to hike up a very, very steep hill with a large bag and a five year old boy around very twisty and an extremely steep hill! I did explain prior to my arrival that I was disabled and the owner had given a prefab attached to the house for myself and my five year old son. The room itself was basic but with a very large bed. The cleanliness wasn't perfect ie shower panel was hanging off and cobwebs throughout. The area where the tea and coffee was made in room was dirty as we're some cups. However, the evening meal was fantastic and the host could not do enough to make sure we were happy! My son was very impressed with the chicken dippers! We retired to our to our room after a brief chat with other guests. The room was warm on arrival but the heating was switched off and it became freezing cold. My son complained and I found an old blanket which did not make much difference. I emailed the owner from my room to enquire about staying another night and she instantly replied. Breakfast was fine, not 'legendary' as stated but average and there was enough cereal, and toast to fill up on. We were told the hotel would NOT be serving an evening meal that night which other guests and I found odd because the breakfast room was full of guests and it was the October holiday!? Again, when we retired to our room the temperature dropped and again we felt very cold so much so my son woke several times during the night complaining.
On the whole this hotel is standard but ok if you're looking for cheap and cheerful. The owners were friendly but did complain about my son and two other children making too much noise at 7pm in the communal room. I and the Mother thought the owner not very child friendly so I wouldn't recommend this place for kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malcolm B, Owner at Viewbank Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a very in depth review. There are several points raised which we would have welcomed you bringing up at the time of your visit. We remember several converstaions prior to the booking regarding the sleeping arrangements to accommodate a back problem which I thought we had sorted out. Other rooms were available which we offered within the guest house. Our Annexe room is seperate to the Guest House which is clearly indicated on the Website which is not a prefab. We state on the website that if requested we will endeavour to pick guests up. This was not requested and when doing evening meals is not always possible.
Regarding the children. We have to consider other guests staying and expect our home to be respected by adults and children alike. Regarding the heating. We would have certainly increased the timings for you if only we had known.
We are delighted that you and your son enjoyed your evening meal with us. As we are a small concern we try to accommodate peoples requirements. The Guest House is a total family concern and therefore it is not always possible to open every evening. The evening you are referring to when meals were not done was due to a personal matter. We informed all our guests that morning so that they were able to plan for the day.
We were under the impression that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us especially as he had made new friends.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed for nearly five weeks and had a great time. My room was small but Mal and Julie fitted a TV into the room specially which was a life-saver!
It is a great B+B and value for money which is really important in this day and age!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weirnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you want a base for Isle of Arran activities then this is the place. Most welcoming, cheerful, and helpful hosts who back up their interest in you with first class ammenities and excellent catering( you can get a great evening meal as well as a sumptious breakfast). The house is well situated for local walks as well as a base for travelling further afield on the island. Don't miss this one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was my first vist to this Guest House and I will certainly be back. I arrived late last Thursday evening and was upgraded from my booked single room to a double room as it was free with no extra charge which was really good. Julie and Malcolm were very friendly and made me feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and Julie went out of her way to be up earlier than normal to cook my breakfast as I had an early business meeting. A great experience.Would highly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

14 of us stayed the jubillee weekend for a family celebration.our host and hostess couldnt do enough for us,it was like staying with a favourite aunt.the rooms although small were really clean.the bed was comfortable,had a kettle in room as well as a good clock radio.the guest lounge was very nice with everything you could wish for including games,books,magazines and an excellent piano.the breakfasts were excellent,a very well set table with the family silver and the prettiest china cups and saucers.good selection served piping hot with lots of tea and toast to follow.We also had dinner on both nights and the caramalised pineapple desssert was worth the trip alone.the guest house is in a perfect location with wonderful sea views.for the money cant fault it.

Room Tip: room 3 is really nice with ensuite and sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobson692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Viewbank Guest House, situated overlooking Whiting Bay, has it all. An excellent evening meal, surrounded by Clapton memorabilia, can be pre booked, and the breakfast was just as good. The rooms are on the small side but this did not detract from a good nights rest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkthecoastalwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiting Bay
6.6 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
763 reviews
9.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
80 reviews
10.9 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewbank Guest House

Address: Viewbank Viewbank Golf COURSE | Whiting Bay, ISLE of ARRAN, Whiting Bay KA27 8QT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Price Range: $95 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Viewbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewbank Guest House Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing