We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL HOSPITALITY”
Review of Eden Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whiting Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL HOSPITALITY”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was one of the most pleasant stays i've ever had in a guest house. The double bedroom with a hot tub is well worth the cost of the room- the bed is exceptionally comfortable and the tub is sizable to say the least!

We had a lovely dinner downstairs in the bar/restaurant where we were greeted with exceptional hospitality, lovely (and amply portioned) food and well priced drinks. Excellent value for money all round.

More over, the staff here are kind and welcoming, and the local's that frequent the bar are charming.

Good music on the juke box. Good view from the hotel room. Stars aplenty.

Sincere thanks for all.

Room Tip: get the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you want to feel welcome in Arran then this is the best place to visit on the Island. Finn and her staff are the most friendliest that Arran has to offer. She will go the extra mile to make it the best experience. I have been going to Arran all my life and went to Eden Lodge after Finn took over a few years ago just for food and drink. We decided that the hospitality was so good that we would stay the next time we were over. We have stayed many places on the Island but since staying at Eden lodge we will continue to stay there now and to recommend it to anyone who is looking to enjoy good hospitality, food and drink, and fantastic music sessions.
Look forward to our next visit with you
Elspeth and Davy Mcdonald

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elspeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my partner and had a great time. Food was lovely and room was clean and comfortable. Staff and locals were all very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariannew82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The publican here is obviously catering for the locals rather than the tourist.
All the usual beers found in sad pubs around Scotland.
Service is not a priority and conversation kept to monosyllabic, pity as this place has a lovely view and potential.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finola M, Owner at Eden Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Eden Lodge. Given that you did not stay with us or dine with us, I am quite surprised that you feel qualified to condemn our product as "terrible" and to state that "service is not a priority". Your assertion that we "cater for locals rather than the tourist" tells me that you feel that us locals are somewhat less discerning than people from the big metropolis of Livingstone....In fact, us locals are a fairly diverse group, with a wide range of backgrounds and experiences. I hope that readers will see from the other reviews posted that customer service is indeed a priority at Eden Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed at Eden Lodge for 3 nights and had a pleasant time. Very friendly staff and the pub on the ground floor served excellent Arran beers. Food was quite ok, breakfast was substantial if you wanted it to be so...
Rooms where not very big, but clean and with sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view (facing East)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SignarI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were lucky to get the last two seats when we ate here on Wednesday night and we were glad we did. The food was excellent and the service was great - very friendly waitress who made sure everyone was well catered for even though there were a couple of large parties in. This place seems really busy as many people came in after us looking for tables and the bar on the other side was packed. Nice seating area outside too. Recommend reserving a table to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheils1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

the difference in decor and atmosphere since Finn has taken over is huge. Very pleasant place to enjoy a nice, simple meal at reasonable cost and with friendly service.

The proprietors is obviously investing in the Property and deserve success.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiting Bay
9.4 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
530 reviews
6.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,112 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
727 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viewbank Guest House
Viewbank Guest House
#1 of 6 in Whiting Bay
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Lodge Hotel

Property: Eden Lodge Hotel
Address: Eden Lodge Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Eden Lodge Hotel Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing