We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whiting Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were lucky to get the last two seats when we ate here on Wednesday night and we were glad we did. The food was excellent and the service was great - very friendly waitress who made sure everyone was well catered for even though there were a couple of large parties in. This place seems really busy as many people came in after us looking for tables and the bar on the other side was packed. Nice seating area outside too. Recommend reserving a table to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheils1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whiting Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

the difference in decor and atmosphere since Finn has taken over is huge. Very pleasant place to enjoy a nice, simple meal at reasonable cost and with friendly service.

The proprietors is obviously investing in the Property and deserve success.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomad04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just had a tasty gammon steak at the Eden Lodge, really enjoyed my meal as did the rest of the party. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and Finn was in excellent form,of course we love you too Alan! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorsal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a bad experience last year but as Whiting Bay is our annual destination of choice, thought we'd give it another go. Admittedly this was only for drinks this time and the village is somewhat lacking in alternatives but it's a fair walk from our holiday home so was a planned visit. The room looked a bit fresher and the layout of their sofa area has changed slightly which hopefully prevents diners being disturbed by drinkers or those only awaiting a take-away pizza, one of the things that really put us off last year (we were there late-ish so I'm not sure if they still do take-away pizzas??) We sat near the bar and made great use of their free wi-fi - the second time we returned that week, we were towards the windows at the front - great view but rubbish wi-fi reception ( I suppose that's an added bonus and we're really there to enjoy a drink and the company so can't really complain!) I'm not sure if this is now down to a change in ownership but if so, they're certainly moving in the right direction. Again although we didn't eat this time, the better atmosphere and service on those 2 nights will mean we'll definitely return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Under new management was in the advertising blurb and are the owners trying to make it work. Yes, big time. Friendly service, quality food and a warm & welcoming atmospher. Sunday afternoons are a must because of the gathering of local musicians who just turn up and play together. Great!!!!! My wife ordered a white wine sprizer, when have you ever been given a beautifully chilled quality small bottle instead of from a large previously opened cheepo house wine. This family friendly hotel deserves to be successful.

Room Tip: If you enjoy live music from a talented disparate 6 piece group, go on a Sunday afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theTreveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We always eat here when we visit Arran each summer and were interested to see the results of new ownership. All good! Bar has had a bit of a refurb and looks great, the menu had plenty tasty choices and the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere for a relaxed family meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryder765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Local restaurants were closed late on a Sunday. We were not very hungry so stopped in at Eden Lodge's pub. Had a shared pizza and dessert with some drinks. The food was excellent and the service very friendly. The atmosphere is very casual and family oriented. Seems to be very popular with the locals, with lots of kids riding bikes around the parking lot while parents visited inside. Overall a very pleasant experience to end a busy day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anglous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiting Bay
3.6 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
6.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 7 in Whiting Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Viewbank Guest House
Viewbank Guest House
#1 of 7 in Whiting Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Lodge Hotel

Property: Eden Lodge Hotel
Address: Eden Lodge Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Eden Lodge Hotel Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing