We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner couldn't be more hospitable. Fab food and friendly staff. I can't wait to go back”
Review of Eden Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whiting Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Lodge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Whiting Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Visited this hotel for one night. I had been a bit concerned based on the last review however the hotel has been taken over by a new owner, Finola, and the hospitality couldn't have been better.

We had lunch and dinner in the hotel (missed breakfast due to having too good a night in the bar!). The food we had was lovely, everything was really fresh and locally sourced.

The view from our room (purple room) was to die for.

There were a group of musicians and singers on the Sunday afternoon. They were very good and listening to them while looking out to the fantastic sea view was wonderful.

The atmosphere was really relaxed, I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayMadW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Although having holidayed in Whiting Bay annually for decades, we started visiting the Eden Lodge only 5 or so years ago but it was always a good value place to eat/drink of an evening. Their take-away pizzas were a regular hit with the kids. However, having visited again, I was so disappointed with the drop in service and standard. Being a last-minute decision, we hadn't booked but were happy to sit with a drink while we waited for some tables to become free. A crowd of men stood around a boarded up pool table watching football which seemed a strange arrangement given that the staff had to dodge and duck past with full plates to/from the kitchen. The lay-out seems a little mish-mash now with a couple of sofas in the middle of the eating area which seemed to be used by drinkers or those awaiting a take-away. There were 2 waitresses during a very busy time; unfortunately we seemed to have the one incapable of a smile or taking a correct order. Fajitas were tasty but served swimming in cooking oil. Wedges were soggy as if reheated in a microwave and the pizza which had been missed from our order, was an awful dod of overcooked cheddar, rubbery and overcooked. The table was only half cleared and our dessert order again forgotten. The more senior waitress seemed nice and far more professional, as was the barman and it was a shame they didn't have better support. I understand the owners have put the property up for sale - I don't know how much input they had day-to-day but it seems as if interest has been lost as a result. We were hoping to stay here on a return trip next month but are a bit nervous about staying when the eating experience was so poor. Whiting Bay needs a good relaxed venue as an alternative to the hugely (and rightfully so) Coast. The Eden Lodge has the potential to be this alternative with an injection of money and enthusiasm - please make it so!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Leaf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Taking our large family group for yet another year to the Eden Lodge, we couldn't have asked for more! The manager Euan and all the staff there are so accommodating, friendly and welcoming. The food was terrific, great wines and have to commend Euan for putting together a mean Cosmopolitan ( or 2!).
Having enjoyed another great summer holiday on the Isle of Arran, have to say that our Eden Lodge time played a major part in all of our highlights!
For a lunch, dinner, drinks, a pub quiz or a spot of live music - a visit to the Eden Lodge is a must for all!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I didn't stay in the hotel but had a chance to eat here one night whilst staying on Arran. The food was excellent (black pudding salad - very crisp and light, plenty of very fresh salad and crisp bacon followed by beautifully dressed scallops with homemade chips accompanied by a couple of pints of Deuchars IPA) and the place had a nice family atmosphere with great service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank WillWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

A family trip to Arran resulted in us visiting the Eden Lodge for lunch one Sunday. That was fine, but it took nearly an hour to produce 2 pizzas. The barman was very courteous and professional, but rather out of place in such a run down establishment.

Money has obviously been spent on it in the past, but it is now tatty and care worn. Concerned about the large dog perpetually locked in a car outside the front door - presumably belonging to a member of staff.

We returned on a weekday for lunch to be told by a very haggard looking lady squatting on the top of the steps that they were closed. She took obvious delight in this advising us that "they only open on weekends". How stupid of us not to have known this...despite the large sign outside stating "great food served 1230 to 9.00pm every day".

The business is for sale and someone could make a real killing here (opening at lunch during the height of the season would be a good start!).

In the meantime I would suggest you avoid it, won't be difficult, it is shut most of the time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SirBrianMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Eden Lodge was a super place to stay! Staff were wonderfully attentive and helpful. Our pub meal was great as was the atmosphere in the pub. My husband particularly enjoyed the opportunity to chat with folks from the community. Our room with its own bath was very clean and comfortable. We slept very well.
We visited Arran during a quiet tourism time and were throughly enchanted with the island. Whiting Bay is a beautiful village with an assortment of shops for necessities. We enjoyed walking on the beach as well as up the hill behind the lodge to the Giants Graves and the waterfall. We can't wait to be able to go back to Arran and Eden Lodge will be our place of choice to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Just returned from the hotel after taking advantage of the current 2nd night free offer. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!! When we arrived it was dark and stormy but we received a friendly welcome and were immediately taken up to our room, where we could have a look at the dinner menu, then go down to the restaurant and order straight away! the service was great and made us feel appreciated, and cared for! drinks were brought over straight away and the food didn't take long either, we ordered pizzas which were amazing, topings galore and very filling! Our room (king) was excellent, spacious and good view, over bowling green and the sea, not to mention the spa bath! We unfortunately missed breakfast, then went out for the day, on our return we found the hotel to be closed for the evening, which was a bit disapointing, but the Manager had left us a bottle of champagne to make up for it, which again made us feel very looked after, and we could understand it probably wasn't cost effective opening, being low season, and possible us the only ones staying in the hotel.... On our day of departure we got breakfast and then were even more gutted to have missed it the previous morning, as it was excellent, service again fantastic, and food fresh and cooked to perfection. Our check out was quick and easy. We left smiling and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whiting Bay
6.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cruickshanks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viewbank Guest House
Viewbank Guest House
#2 of 6 in Whiting Bay
61 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Eden Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Lodge Hotel

Address: Eden Lodge Shore Road, Whiting Bay KA27 8QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Whiting Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Whiting Bay
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Eden Lodge Hotel Whiting Bay, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing