We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!”
Review of Lochranza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lochranza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Lochranza B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Was lucky enough to have glorious weather when we visit Arran so took advantage of the beer garden at the Lochranza Hotel over-looking the water. Had a lovely fish and chips and my husband had a huge homemade steak pie. Sat out in the sun until the midges came out! Lochranza is such a beautiful location we spent most of our time in this village cant wait to return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J00z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    43
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
19
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have given a 2-star rating because the food was good when it finally arrived ,though by the time our food was prepared , our choices were no longer available! We waited in excess of 1hour45mins ,so I can fully endorse the previous review regarding understaffing on a predictably very busy extended Jubilee holiday weekend. In addition , I would point out the total lack of a proper accountable system for delivering the order to the correct client. I became more and more impatient as I watched other customers who had arrived sometime after us, having their meals served to them ahead of us.Our order went astray amid the general chaos, most probably snapped up by someone who had not even placed a food order.... probably quite tempting and very easy to do as the rather dizzy waiter wandered round groups asking if this was their food !! What is the point of a computerised system if it does not link the food order with the client ?? When I took my complaint up with a more senior( but stressed) person who eventually arrived on the scene, I am afraid to report the response was rather nippy and unprofessional! Welcome to Scotland! Could do a lot better !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yramjub12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lochranza hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

OK so it was a bank holiday and good weather so they were busy but this should have been predicted and additional staff provided. Our dinner order for eight of us was taken by a very miserable barman (probably because he was overstretched) and, after paying, we were told that we would have to wait for a hour. One hour and forty minutes later, we asked about our dinner and were told that the chef had not yet started on our order so we cancelled and left as did many other guests who were also waiting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiremba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny South
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A family run hotel with the comforts of home. We truly enjoyed this place. There is so much to do on the island and it's great to return back to the hotel at night to shower, relax with a beer at the bar and then sit down for a great dinner.

They also offer a nice breakfast in the morning. We'd return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerSunnySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Having been a previous time for food,brought a group of friends/ family back after a excellent walk in Lochranza area. We all agreed that this place had friendly staff, great food with generous portions and great views onto the Loch. There is an error in my previous review-16th April 2010- it should read 4 stars not 1! Can't edit it so want to clear this up ! If you are in Arran, a visit to Lochranza is a must!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gawain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We chose Lochranza Hotel for the stories we had heard about the whisky selection and we weren't disappointed. Extensive list and more being added all the time.

The decor in the place is ok - just a bit old and tired now but it was clean, tidy and the staff we chatted to were friendly and happy to help out. A guy carried our bags up the stairs and seemed to keep an eye out for us the entire time we were there.

Location is stunning, right by the ferry port and overlooking Lochranza itself. Just beautiful. If you are looking to visit the distillery it is only 15 minutes walk from here through some stunning countryside.

The food was better than average but nothing exceptional. The fish and chips wasn't as big as I was expecting but tasted good. The cheeseboard was a little bit of a let down.

It was a little expensive for a night's stay but given the location, the bar and the lack of choice within walking distance you can see why.

But, let's face it, when you have hundreds of whiskies to choose from these small things don't matter too much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank si_j_peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

After hiking for 5 hrs we really enjoyed the delicious fish & chips!thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne_gillanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
10.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Butt Lodge
Butt Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lochranza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
7.4 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochranza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Hotel

Property: Lochranza Hotel
Address: | Isle of Arran, North Ayshire, Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochranza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lochranza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost surrounded by the hills and complete with a thirteenth-century ruined castle, this waterside hostel is a wonderful place to relax. This is a place where you can observe nature, with spectacular wildlife right on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your Lochranza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochranza Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing