We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything we wanted”
Review of Kincardine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochranza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kincardine Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Lochranza B&B and Inns
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Had everything we wanted”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had never been to Arran before and we only stayed one night on the island where we stayed with Andy & Jean at the Kincardine Lodge. It was great. The setting was perfect looking out over the bay, seals basking on the rocks, red squirrels playing in the gardens and red deer nearby if you get up early enough to see them. It is located less than half a mile from the Lochranza ferry terminal. The room was very comfortable and Andy & Jean were very welcoming and served an excellent breakfast. There was ample off-road car parking. For an evening meal you had to walk no further than 3 buildings away to the local pub where excellent food was available. If we ever come back to Arran we will be heading straight to the Kincardine.Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We found the Kincardine Lodge at short notice and Jean & Andy cold not have been more helpful with the booking the evening before and greeting and settling us in on the day. Set in a spectacular area close to the castle, distillery and other places of interest. We were made to feel at home and in the morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast whilst watching the red squirrels raiding the bird feeders and the deer wandering round the garden! This B&B is also a couple of hundred yards from the CalMac Ferry so useful if you are heading on to Kintyre.
Somewhere we would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Seven of us stayed for three nights at this wonderful B&B. The house is beautiful, the view is stunning, and the location is great. The hosts couldn't not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. They even let us use the dining room in the evening for whisky tastings. As one whom has stayed in many B&B's - I'd be surprised if you could find a better B&B in the area. All around the highest marks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

A very nice big house, with a nice view on the bay of Lochranza. The Wilkinson are very friendly, helpful and enjoy sharing with their guests. We spent only 1 night there, but felt immediately at home. The local specialty for breakfast is smoked herring which was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki-and-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Before a recent visit to Arran, I counted the number of inhabitable houses I could see in a satellite image of Lochranza (somebody had to do it!) and came up with just over 90. Given that the population of Lochranza is about 250 permanent residents,with large numbers of tourists passing through in summer, one would expect to find many seasonal B&Bs but that is not the case. So, it is surprising that one of the best (and I admit I have not stayed at any of the others), Kincardine Lodge, has not had a previous review.

It is the little things that make the difference and our stay there was made that much better by the host of little touches that made that difference - the effusive welcome; the spacious house; the magnificent view from the room; the quality of toiletries provided; the lack of warning messages (don't do this, don't do that); the excellent breakfast. We have stayed in several B&Bs in Scotland during the last two weeks and this was certainly one of the best.

So, to proprietors Jean and Andy Wilkinson, here is a new TA thread which should help to spread your reputation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
0.0 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Lochranza Youth Hostel
#2 of 3 in Lochranza
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kildonan Hotel
Kildonan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildonan
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kincardine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincardine Lodge

Property: Kincardine Lodge
Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochranza
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kincardine Lodge Lochranza, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing