We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, tidy, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochranza Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“clean, tidy, affordable”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

arrived on Arran on Friday evening and got bus (£2.95) to Lochranza Youth hostel were the driver kindly dropped us at the door. Got sorted with a four bedded - 2 bunk beds dorm for £21 a night (£19 if you are a member of youth hostel) I struggled to open my locker if the one above mine was locked but luckily it was left open and i wasn't worried about locking anything up. Beds and room temperature were good and the option of two sitting rooms with plenty space was much appreciated. There did appear to be some sort of fan or extractor which was a bit irritating at night time but earplugs solved that.

Take as many provisions with you as there is no shop in Lochranza. There is everything you will need in the kitchen area with plenty storage space for dry and chilled foods as well as tape/pens to label everything... The kitchen was a bit busy in the morning given the time it has to be vacated by but on our last day a lovely single female moved table so my friends and i could sit together.

Trying to visit the rest of the island on public transport is a challenge we bought a £5.40 all day ticket but had to return on the 16.20 bus from Broddick on a saturday as this was the last available bus....we did try to arrange a taxi but that proved impossible.
Lochranza hotel had Friday night entertainment and the food was lovely, cost £10 -£12 for a main course. Lochranza was beautiful and as others have commented has some very friendly red deer

The only down side of the accommodation was lack of female facilities on first floor. There was one designated female toilet located alongside 2 wonderfully powerful showers and a tiny washand basin, hand drier and hair dryer. The space in this shower/toilet was totally inadequate for the number of female visitors staying on the weekend i visited. If someone is trying to use the hairdryer they need to move to let people into the toilet and move again to give access to washand basin - and god help the folk trying to get in and out of showers at this time too.....There was an additional unisex toilet next door with basin which was much needed however please sort out ladies facilites why have 2 maleshower/toilets and only one female. There was a toilet downstairs but this couldn't be used between 11pm and 7 am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Askitlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
15
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at the Youth Hostel late afternoon and were provided with a bike shed in which to store our bikes. Very friendly welcome. We paid £21ppn which was great value for money for a clean, warm, tidy overnight stay. Towels provided for an extra £2 so bring your own if you don't want to pay. Showers were good power showers. The kitchen was well equipped, pre-made meals were available cheaply and breakfast was reduced slightly as there was no ham/cheese available. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and a fairly bold deer and her young wander about nearby. There is a drying room facility, outdoor tables and chairs and ample parking space. There are two living rooms with a television, magazines and board games.
Overall a great stay for the price! Will return.

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm with three other females so this was good (no snoring).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here on my Lands End John o Groats cycling tour.

oldbatonabike.wordpress.com

The Hostel has everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The cycle store is very small for the number of people who cycle on Arran and it would be an improvement if a bigger cycle store with some basic tools could be provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at the youth hostel during all my three visits to this beautiful island over a span of 2 years, and always have the same delightful experience.
The first two visits, I was travelling alone and stayed in the dorms. The bunk beds are surprisingly comfortable and if you are armed with ear plugs and eye masks, good sleep is possible even in the dorm.
My last visit was in September 2012 with my parents and we booked a room for us. They too were overwhelmed by the facilities of this youth hostel.

I have only the best things to say about this place. Location, accessibility, staff, facilities, cleanliness - it is spot on everywhere. Having stayed in a number of other SYHA hostels, this one is my favourite and am sure will continue to stay so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breaking0utSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in September in twin room. Excellent facilities in room. Good size well-equipped self-catering kitchen. The whole inside has had much money spent on its renovation. Good location and friendly staff. Car is an advantage to get to rest of island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wales65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed in September 2012, its a very clean, smartly renovated place, and ok priced. But for the location, and the building, its rather souless and dreary compared to many hostels. For those using public transport it struggles in terms of value against cheap end B&Bs at the southern end of Arran which have better public transport links.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here 20 July 12 and found it fantastic. It was spottless and very modern. What a fantastic kitchen. We had a room for 4 with private bathroom. The beds were very comfortable(but another pillow was needed). The room was small but it accommodated 3 women no problem. The bathroom and particluar the shower, was amazing, really hot and powerful.
It is the same price as the b&B in Lochrannza, but you have great facilities,ie drying room, laundry, sitting room ect.
We had continental breakfast and a packed lunch, both were very good value,fresh and just right!
The two young guys who worked here, were very, very helpful.
I would definatley go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186534lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochranza
10.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
553 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lochranza Hotel
Lochranza Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lochranza
130 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ashbank Hotel
Ashbank Hotel
#3 of 6 in Carradale
78 reviews
16.1 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochranza Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochranza Youth Hostel

Property: Lochranza Youth Hostel
Address: Lochranza KA27 8HL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lochranza
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lochranza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As winner of the prestigious Green Tourism Business Goldstar Award 2011, Lochranza Youth Hostel is ranked as one of the UKs top ten greenest businesses. Lochranza Youth Hostel offers excellent budget and group accommodation but is also family friendly with private en-suite rooms, a spacious self-catering kitchen and laundry service available. Lochranza Youth Hostel is situated on the banks of Loch Ranza, opposite a 13th-century ruined castle in beautiful countryside. The youth hostel is also located on the Cock of Arran trail, which provides a beautifully scenic low level trek. The youth hostel garden is a great spot to watch wildlife, including red deer, red squirrel, grey seals, otters and golden eagles. Lochranza Youth Hostel benefits from a great bus connection and the bus stop is only 5 minutes walk away. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Lochranza Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochranza Youth Hostel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing