We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Linkfield

Linkfield
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Linkfield
Large lounge. Lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Linkfield
Large lounge.
Lounge.
Evenings round the open fire.
Traditional Coal Fire.
Dining Table.
Dining Room.
Kitchen Area.
Utility Room.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 1 seating area.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2.
Original Feature.
Bedroom 3.
Bedroom 4 (single).
Front garden view to Holy Isle.
Rear garden area.
.
Your home from home....
Lamlash Bay and Holy Island..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Lamlash, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here for the second year in a row now. We stayed for a long weekend in February. Again, the house was great for us arriving, Christine is really easy to organise through and speak with, really accommodating. We love this house, it's in a great location, breach at the bottom of the road and restaurants and bars a 5 minute walk away. The house is of a high standard, solid old house with lots to offer, beautiful inside and out. There's loads of room and was perfect for our family. We stayed here with children and it was ideal. The weather was cold in February but the open fire was absolutely fantastic. The kitchen and dining area was great for family to all sit together. A great house, we look forward to returning

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thank you very much John - both for your return booking and also for the lovely comments about the house. I look forward to welcoming you again at some point -hopefully for a longer stay next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelfieldT...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having stayed on Arran countless times over the years and experienced most types of rental accommodation, we certainly weren't disappointed by Linkfield.
From the easy booking process, the communication by the owner and then staying at the house, it was a delight.
The house boasts spectacular views, dominated by the Holy Isle and only a very short walk to the beach/sea. The property was large and spacious enough for two families with young children to not feel that we were living on top of each other.
Whilst the furniture was understandably appropriate for rental purposes, it was clean and comfortable, with the beds especially so!

My only disappointment was that whilst on holiday on Arran, I like to sneak away to 'buy some frozen peas', but to my horror found that the Pierhead Tavern had shut! No more secret dad time in the pub................

In summary, the property was excellent and would thoroughly recommend Linkfield. Plus the weather was excellent, which is always a bonus on Arran!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Pierhead Tavern closed.......!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Linkfield and thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. As you say - having good weather this year was a bonus! I look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to return to Arran again. Best wishes - Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batesy18
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself and my family are just back from an excellent stay in Linkfield, the house has everything you need for a large family get together. I have stayed in a few self catering properties on Arran and this one is easily the best for space, comfort, facilities and location. The views across to the Holy Isle are stunning. Christine (the owner) was in touch before we arrived to see if we required any additional touches, everything we asked for was provided. I have no doubt we will be back at the next opportunity. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, decor and location
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suntouche...
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally located within walking distance of Lamlash and only 5 minutes in the car from Brodick, Linkfield is an excellent place to stay for your visit to the isle of Arran.
We stayed for 12 nights in July, and everyone enjoyed it.
The property was updated in 2014 and has 3 double and 1 single bedrooms with a spacious living room and separate dining room for 6, outdoor seating also caters for 4. The kitchen is compact but there is a big utility room at the back with rear access, great for not dragging the beach through the house ! Has dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier.
I cannot say enough positives about Linkfield. The wifi is also a plus as the phone signal is rubbish !

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Linkfield and for your positive comments. I do try to make every effort to ensure guests enjoy their stay and would be delighted to welcome you back if you return to our lovely Island. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic House”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A stunning house in an even more stunning location. The house is huge and has excellent facilities...really everything you could ever need in a holiday rental...even a piano!

A wonderful house we'll be very happy to book again.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thanks so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I really look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely Island. Kind regards Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina H
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful House”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I would highly recommend this house. It outstripped all expectations. Comfortable, very spacious, well equiped, homely and just a short walk to the sea with views directly towards Holy Isle. Great heating and hot water on demand. Perfectly located for exploring the whole island and Lamlash well supplied with shops, cafe's and restaurants. Brodick only a stones throw away for yet more choice and Ferry terminal. Great golf course just a short distance away. it was well equipped enough for us to enterain new friends one evening.
We both really loved this house and will be coming back again next year.
And a big thank you to Christine who was willingly available for any questions or concerns and who obviously cares about her guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, comfortable, warm, well equipped, homely, near town shops and restaurants.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Thank you so much Gina for your lovely comments. I'm sorry the weather wasn't kinder to you however I look forward to welcoming you back next year when hopefully the sun will shine. Kind regards Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozemz89
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Booked this property last minute and owner was very accommodating. The house was spotless and warm on arrival. House has everything you need, enjoyed sitting on the comfy sofa's with the open fire. Everyone slept very well and had nothing to complain about. Would recommend and hope to visit again soon!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind comments and I'm glad you had such a lovely time. I look forward to welcoming you to stay again. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing