We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lilybank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Lamlash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Big breakfast!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a nights stay at the Lilybank in may. The room had a stunning view across to Holy Isle and the room was clean and comfortable with thoughtful touches. The host Colin was friendly and helpful .... but the breakfast was definitely the main point I remember. The kippers were fantastic, perfectly cooked and well presented. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstieJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to lily bank and we enjoyed our stay as much as our first visit.
Very comfortable and spotlessly clean room. Great breakfast and lovely host and hostess June
And Colin.....we would thoroughly recommend lily bank and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lilybank is in an excellent location for touring the whole of Arran.
After a friendly welcome from June she showed us to our room (5) which was well decorated, clean and had a wonderful view of Holy Island. The dining room has the same view. There is a wide choice for breakfast which was beautifully presented and cooked well. Both June and Colin are pleasant hosts, helpful, friendly but unobtrusive. We really enjoyed our stay at Lilybank and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Llybank guest house was a lovely place to stay on our 1st visit to Arran. The view over the bay towards Holy Isle from our bedroom window was wonderful and we even managed to watch a otter in the bay!. Colin and June were good and friendly hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The scottish breakfast was delicious. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean room, tasty breakfast, friendly service (though clearly biased towards golfers!) slightly weedy shower and very thin walls. The guest fridge is a good idea and the tea in the rooms was delicious - Yorkshire tea - excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipperNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Lilybank Guest House in Lamlash is a lovely place to stay while on the Isle of Arran. Right across from Lamlash Bay, our room had a great view out to the bay and the Holy Island. So enjoyable to sit at the window, sipping Lochranza Single Malt, and nibbling Arran Cheese. Colin and June are efficient and gracious hosts who serve a grand breakfast. We wanted to stay four nights, but they only had three available, so they helped us get good accommodation next door for our last night. With all of Isle of Arran so easy to get to, Lilybank makes an excellent choice for any visit to the island.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with a view even if the tariff is a little higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lilybank is in a lovely position in Lamlash. They supply very thoughtful guest facilities such as a guest living room and a fridge for everyone to share. However, I have to say I thought my room was looking a little tired, although originally very prettily decorated. I found Colin most helpful and welcoming, however I too found the breakfast service well, a little terse. I do a great deal of solo travel, but I have to say both breakfast experiences didn't rank highly in terms of being made to feel welcome, when it appeared a great deal more effort was being made with other guests who were in pairs. This didn't rest well with me considering I'd been charged extra for single occupancy. I rarely feel uncomfortable in my single state, but unfortunately this time I felt distinctly 'spare.'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
0.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
3.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilybank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilybank Guest House

Property: Lilybank Guest House
Address: Isle of Arran, Lamlash KA27 8LS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lilybank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilybank Guest House Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing