We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and well organised.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilybank Guest House
Ranked #3 of 7 Lamlash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very clean and well organised.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean room, tasty breakfast, friendly service (though clearly biased towards golfers!) slightly weedy shower and very thin walls. The guest fridge is a good idea and the tea in the rooms was delicious - Yorkshire tea - excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipperNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Lilybank Guest House in Lamlash is a lovely place to stay while on the Isle of Arran. Right across from Lamlash Bay, our room had a great view out to the bay and the Holy Island. So enjoyable to sit at the window, sipping Lochranza Single Malt, and nibbling Arran Cheese. Colin and June are efficient and gracious hosts who serve a grand breakfast. We wanted to stay four nights, but they only had three available, so they helped us get good accommodation next door for our last night. With all of Isle of Arran so easy to get to, Lilybank makes an excellent choice for any visit to the island.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with a view even if the tariff is a little higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Lilybank is in a lovely position in Lamlash. They supply very thoughtful guest facilities such as a guest living room and a fridge for everyone to share. However, I have to say I thought my room was looking a little tired, although originally very prettily decorated. I found Colin most helpful and welcoming, however I too found the breakfast service well, a little terse. I do a great deal of solo travel, but I have to say both breakfast experiences didn't rank highly in terms of being made to feel welcome, when it appeared a great deal more effort was being made with other guests who were in pairs. This didn't rest well with me considering I'd been charged extra for single occupancy. I rarely feel uncomfortable in my single state, but unfortunately this time I felt distinctly 'spare.'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Spotlessly clean rooms with spectacular views of the Holy Island and comfy chairs. Very reasonable rates include a huge delicious breakfast with lot of choices. We enjoyed eggs and salmon and kippers. Guests facilities include a communal fridge to chill out your packed lunches or beers from the local brewery. Colin and June are excellent hosts and we will stay at Lilybank again next time we visit Arran.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valacirca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After a bad experience on Kintyre it was so lovely to come to Lilybank. We booked the room for those with limited mobility and it really lived up to its description. My disabled friend found it the easiest shower to use that we have ever found in a guest house. The food was excellent and June and Colin were prepared to do all they could to make our stay pleasant. We hope we may go back one day and will recommend this guest house to all our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are on the ground floor. If you have a mobility problem room 7 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readingpoppiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful time in Arran.The lilybank guest house was such a great finde ,Colin and June made us feel so welcome, perfect hosts.They have thought of everything down to a fride in the residents lounge to keep your win chilled.The location is one of thebest on the island,looking over the Holy Isle.The rates are so resonable that we are going back in september and really looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I booked two rooms at Lilybank for my parents and my brother and his girlfriend. It was just for two nights as they were attending my wedding at Lamlash. They could not praise it enough, Colin and June are fantastic hosts and could not do enough for them. It really put my mind at rest that they were somewhere clean, comfortable and friendly. The breakfasts were fantastic and views from their ensuite rooms were spectacular. I would not hesitate to book here again, maybe for myself next time! Thank you Colin and June!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenthefir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
0.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
746 reviews
3.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,154 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilybank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilybank Guest House

Property: Lilybank Guest House
Address: Isle of Arran, Lamlash KA27 8LS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lilybank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilybank Guest House Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing