We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
best school trip ever!

I went here for a five night school trip and it was amazing. there is plenty of activities that you... read more

Reviewed August 9, 2018
stanruby11
,
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Brilliant 5 day stay on beautiful arran

Went with a girlfriend who has been previously and really recommended it. For 2 weeks only in the... read more

Reviewed August 2, 2018
Rosiewill
via mobile
Read all 9 reviews
  
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveler rating
8
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great value for money beds instructor confident adventurous holiday fun arran
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed August 9, 2018

I went here for a five night school trip and it was amazing. there is plenty of activities that you can to there and all of them are fun. the meals that they give you there are delicious, it is very clean, the rooms are spectacular and it is a whole load of fun! I would recommend this place to anyone who is adventurous or just anyone who likes outdoor activities!

Thank stanruby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

Went with a girlfriend who has been previously and really recommended it. For 2 weeks only in the year, the centre is open for residential holidays to the public and it's always a sell out. Fantastic new all ensuite accommodation (we had a big twin room but most are quads), great storage, nice beds, bedding and towels, think student accommodation rather than 5 star but great for an activity centre. 3 guests lounges, one with a TV, 3 meals a day (basic grub particularly the veggie options which lacked any real protein), all day tea and coffee.

But what really sells it is that amazing location under fantastic activities and instructors. Each day is different and weather dependent in order to make the most out of your five days. I personally did raft building, sailing to the holy isle, outdoor climbing wall, Geo caching, golf frisbee, kayaking, mountain biking and gorge walking. All with brilliant new equipment and supportive but confident instructors.

It was a fantastic physically exhausting but mentally very relaxing holiday, miles away from work traffic family stress. Arran is a beautiful little island and lamb/where the centre is based is a gorgeous little town. On Wednesday night there is always a ceilidh and free transport is provided to and from the centre to make life super easy.

We weren't there with children but most people were so be prepared for that. I would definitely go again and we met brilliant people who go every year and I can understand why.

Thank Rosiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Booked an abseil experience for 3 adults and a child aged 10.
Ruairidh our instructor couldn't have been better. He was welcoming and friendly and extremely professional. He had a fantastic knack of putting you at ease. He was very patient with my son who after much coaxing and encouragement decided not to do the abseil.
All the adults managed and felt very confident we were in safe hands.
Highly recommended and great value for money. Would definitely do this again when we return to Arran.

Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Can't recommend this centre enough. We had a fantastic week of activities here with our 3 teenage boys. Climbed, sailed (twice, at our request), abseiled, hill-walked, gorge-walked, kayaked, and mountain biked. Highest standards of instruction and guiding, and with a great ratio of staff to clients (just us and an instructor for several of the activities). And the centre still looks brand new, as does the huge amount of kit. All in the paradise setting of Arran, and at a very reasonable price.

Thank BurtChillerworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

Terrible customer service experience, when we phoned we were told to email. When we emailed we waited nearly two weeks until we chased for a response to confirm the booking. Within these two weeks they asked about our ability alluding to a booking. Took three phone calls to speak to someone who told us that they were fully booked. No real apology, just a let down. Don't mind that its booked but better communication from the start would have nice.

Thank Gotaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

Hi
Booked a session with my wife and two sons 13 and 16 with Martin . Great weather and incredibly friendly knowledgeable instructor . Grsat locsl knowledge and he totslly geared our session to our level of paddlers comfortable in sea kayaks.
Great value for money and goid location and great scenery and wildlfe.

2  Thank ajb1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

Great week spent on family activity holiday. Great instructors- friendly and know their stuff. Dealt with my two sometimes grumpy girls admirably and really engaged them. Went above and beyond to also involve my wife and two younger boys who were not strictly speaking part of the deal. Comfortable and clean centre, cumfy beds and plentiful if traditional food from the friendly chef.
Thoroughly recommend to all adventurous families!

1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just finished a brilliant week at the centre where I stayed with 30 children and two adults. The purpose built centre has excellent facilities and the food was great. Not easy pleasing several youngsters but they did it! The instructors are very welcoming and have an impressive wealth of knowledge of all the many activities on offer. The group commented on how good the instructors were at inspiring confidence and all rated the experience 5 out of 5. A must for adults too. After all why should the kids get all the fun! A very memorable and enjoyable stay. I would recommend a visit for everyone.

2  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A wet and very,very windy day on Arran turned into the best day of our holiday. This purpose built centre has a wealth of facilities and the staff were very welcoming. We got kitted out and then went out in the canoes. Despite being apprehensive due to the wind, our instructor Andy inspired confidence and we were carried along by his enthusiasm. Next off was an outing in the sea kayaks - quite tricky in the wind, but again we were encouraged to ride the waves and have fun - and we did!Back to the centre, hot shower, a warm cuppa and met the rest of the team. Fantastic time.

Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews