We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We visited Arran following a weekend in Glasgow - first time on Arran for both of us but not the last!
Even before we arrived the owner was incredibly helpful, booking a taxi to pick us up from the ferry when i phoned on the day in a panic about getting there.
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Beautiful location in Lamlash bay, and a really nice atmosphere - all the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We booked the top suite as a treat, and it certainly was! An enormous bed with a choice of pillows (nice touch), huge bathroom with walk in shower and separate HUGE tub, and stunning views. It did feel special.
Food was excellent, you would pay a lot more in a different location and it was very well presented. Breakfast the next day was one of the best i've had.
We plan to visit again next year (though may not splurge on the suite!) - i cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The premier suite is a worth the money for a bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    92
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
446
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed at the Genisle for one night. The room was spotless and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Full Scottish breakfast cooked to order and was piping hot. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyine visiting Arran and hope to return for another sstay in he near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here during some lovely sunny weather. We had Room 14, the large suite at the top of the hotel. It was really lovely. I can honestly say that the view of Lamlash Bay from the bath tub is the best bathtime view ever!
Staff and owners were friendly and helpful, even lending a torch to visit some caves,
Breakfasts were just what you're looking for - choice, generous portions, efficient service.
We ate one night in the restaurant, which we enjoyed. Reasonably priced and well cooked, simple fare.
We intend to return, which says a lot about the Glenisle.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel was excellent, room lovely clean and so comfortable it was spotless.
Breakfast excellent plenty of choice and very nicely presented.
We were in room 5 no complaints with it at all would have been nice to have sea view but hotel fully booked could not get sea view but having been there we understand why it was fully booked.
Staff very attentive and friendly made you feel very welcome and happy to look after you.
Excellent location right on the beach .
Dinner at night was very tasty we had dinner four nights and each meal was very good.
I would recommend this hotel great for nice quiet break 10-10
Would certainly go back again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved our little cosy room on the third floor....just perfect for us since we do not require anything more than a clean room, good bed and nice light....all of which were here PLUS a beautiful view! Great location for strolling on the beach. The smoked salmon I had for lunch was incredible, as were our breakfasts. The staff was most delightful and helpful in offering us sightseeing tips. Would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to travel to Scotland in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is wonderful. Great location, friendly staff - to each other, and to all the guests - and excellent, beautifully presented food.
We stayed in room 14, a real delight. Quirky, but very comfortable. Everywhere was spotless too. Would return in an instant.

Room Tip: The Premier room at the top, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Popped in with family for lunch as always looked busy. Not disappointed had the fish goujons which were lovely. Friendly service and a great location. Seating area outside to enjoy the lovely views to the sea. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampduck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Property: Glenisle Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing