We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lesson for others”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lesson for others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Wonderful place. A management and service team dedicated to delighting their customers, food to die for, one of the most picturesque locations in the Northern Hemisphere and great value to boot!
I had some work to do on the island and decided to take my wife for a short stay; I didn't fancy staying in the Client's normal choice of hostelry and found the Glenisle through Tripadvisor; the wonders of the Web!.
I stay in many hotels that are pleasant, OK, well, underwhelming really. Not the Glenisle! From the minute you arrive the welcome is perfect, warm but not gushing, honest, not forced. The hotel is in a wonderful Victorian building, recently re-furbished, decorated by someone who has taken the palette from the sea right across the road from the hotel. A 10 out of 10 for decor and presentation. Oodles of tea and coffee, home-made shortbread to go with your first refreshing cup of tea - the shortbread is so good, I bought a load for my colleagues!
The jewel in Glenisle's crown is either the wonderful public areas (bar and library) with their roaring log fires and the smell of burning peat or the outstanding restaurant; a small, perfect menu full of local produce and perfectly cooked and presented. A memorable meal -the best I've had in Scotland - cooked by an alumni of that other great Scottish eatery Rogano's of Glasgow.
I plan to return as soon as I can. I seldom award hotels 10 from 10 but this team's commitment to delighting their guests is such a fantastic success; it's almost as if the management team had sat down to design the perfect guest experience and then disguise it to make it look like pure serendipity. Wonderful

Room Tip: The Owners are so intent on ensuring their guests get the best, they automatically upgrade guests to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    93
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
447
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Glenisle Hotel. The hotel far exceeded our expectations. Staff were warm and welcoming, service was prompt and friendly. The feel of the whole place is calm and soothing--i loved the decor, open fires and re-claimed original pieces which all worked together to create the warmth and comfort that is the Glenisle Hotel. We had the option when we booked to ask for a large bed, which we requested. It was amazing. I loved the pillow options, weather forcasts each morning, having binoculars in the room, late running breakfast (8-10), especially as this was the weekend and a break from work routine and early rises! Nothing was too much bother and the staff seemed happy to be at work! Staff took an interest in what people had planned and offered advice or help--e.g. checking ferry crossing for changes or delays--without being asked. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have amazing views of Holy Isle and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 913Pauline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the glenisle hotel, food was great, staff were more than attentive, especially Judith and Emily well done girls.

We are over the moon with our stay we will most definitely be back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights here on a cold and wet February weekend, but the accommodation, hospitality and food were all fantastic and we'd recommend the place to anyone visiting Arran soon. The bed in particular we wanted to take with us...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadism83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Myself and two colleagues stayed here on 24th Jan for just one night while we were over on business at our companies new housing development on Arran. From the moment we went in through the front door we were welcomed and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. The wonderfully cosy atmosphere created by the three log fires throughout the downstairs of the hotel was fantastic. The smell of the logs burning was lovely, a perfect touch to welcome guests on a cold, wet miserable day. We had lunch shortly affter arriving, dinner that night and breakfast the following morning in the hotel and found the food was cooked and presented beatifully. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Glenisle to anyone and I hope my next stay is a bit longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked the Glenisle's premier suite was a treat from our 5th wedding anniversary. It more than lived up to our expectations. The room is absolutely beautiful - the owners have created a wonderfully warm & calming space, a perfect vantage point to watch the powerful storm rolling in from the sea that unfolded before our eyes. The team was so kind letting us keep our suite all day until the storm past and keeping us updated on the ferry situation. We had a wonderfully relaxing night in the bistro (food & service suberb) & then after dinner drinks by the lounge fire playing scrabble. The weekend was just what we wanted - peaceful sleep, scenery, great food, walks on the beach in a warm and welcoming environment. Thank you Glenisle - we will be back again!!

Room Tip: the premier suite is worth it for a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We enjoyed a three night break in March 2013, we had read the reviews and we weren't disappointed.
We thought it was excellent, delightful room with some nice touches and fabulous views.
The food was just superb, after the first evening meal we ate in every night. The breakfasts were also excellent.
The staff were great, interested, friendly but very professional.
A nice touch was being able to take fresh milk to your room at night for a drink in the morning and it was provided in an insulated flask, very thoughtful.
Would love to visit again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Property: Glenisle Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing