We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Glenisle for a long weekend, and it couldn't have been better. The hotel is yards from the sea, with views out over the bay and the Holy Isle, the rooms comfortable, warm and clean, the lounge even cozier with a real log fire. The food was excellent, and the staff and owners friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable about the area and things to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    92
    17
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
446
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We've just enjoyed a ferry/dinner/bed/breakfast package in this excellent hotel on the Isle of Arran, and thoroughly recommend GLENISLE Hotel to any travellers seeking a rare combination of efficiency, economy, and comfort. Our email enquiry was answered promptly and helpfully; complexities of routes to the ferry and island were sorted for us with ease. Our standard room was first-rate; our dinner and breakfast were enjoyable; staff are welcoming and attentive without being intrusive. As a base for exploring Arran, or simply for a quiet retreat, the GLENISLE Hotel would be hard to beat. We recommend unreservedly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Not sure what to buy each other for Christmas but needed a short business trip to Arran in December, so decided on a short break in a nice hotel. Encouraged by the website, we booked online. There was bad weather on the day of our arrival so it was lovely to be welcomed by reception who were aware of this, and clearly pleased to see us.The warm welcome was just the start of an excellent visit. A delightful and superbly appointed cosy bedroom, the log fire in the bar, the comfortable reading room with a fascinating selection of books, friendly and helpful staff .....and then there were meals. Good choice of menu, well prepared, and served piping hot.
Don't think we will need much thought about what to buy each other for Christmas in 2013. Would happily recommend the Glenisle Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lovely staff, lovely room, lovely view, lovely fire, lovely food and lovely wine. Why can't all hotels be like this? For a longer stay I would like to see more vegetarian options on the menu, though what was on offer was delicious and far better than what vegetarians usually have to accept.

Room Tip: Avoid the xmas fayre weekend if you don't want what would normally be a splendid view of sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borborygmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Exceptional quality rooms all recently refurbished with clear architect input - we had 4 in the group and all the rooms were different but exceptional although compact, they never felt small or compromised to fit an available space as often happens. Crisp clean interior, great shower and really lovely shampoo (sorry forgotten the name but an eco friendly one with a great smell) home made biscuits wrapped on the stand with the coffee and tea, decent position for the TV as well.
The owners were great, as were all the staff we met - excellent breakfast although one room it's cleaverly designed into smaller areas so felt personal. Evening meal was great value, although I did for a moment wonder if someone had brought in a fish supper - the hotel serves their fish with crisp chips in a copy of the local paper - true scottish style, it was the precise folding of the paper that made me suspicious - but I enjoyed my Beef Stew with dumplings so no complaints.
The whole weekend we were there, they had organised a Christmas Fair with local exhibitors in marquees and a lights and fireworks finale - well worth the trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slipstream222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a wonderful visit to the Santa Sparkle! Loved every minute of it - mulled wine to die for! Mince pies, shortbread.... Arran cheese, Arran gold smoked salmon...... Arran aromatics, gifts galore! The delights just went on and on! The hotel was warm and welcoming and Santa - well he is Santa - what else can I say! There was a lovely buzz around the hotel but nothing was too much hassle for the staff either! Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirst_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

totally brilliant. we had a 2 night stay here during the 'lamlash christmas lights turn on'. the hotel had local bands on,fireworks and a visit from santa! the food is excellent and the staff so friendly and happy. its obvious they all enjoying working here. the owners go out of thier way to provide that little bit extra and the enthusiasm showed through. our first time in this hotel but it certainly wont be our last. cannot praise this hotel enough and one of the best i have stayed in. allready looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Property: Glenisle Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing