We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”
Review of Glenisle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenisle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by the feel of the place and the attention to detail, even down to the magnified, back lit bathroom mirror and binoculars on the window sill in order to look out to sea. The staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for you. We travelled up to Arran to celebrate an 80th birthday, which we celebrated at the hotel. The chef made a cake, which was superb and the table decorated. It was all wonderful and a memorable experience. Thank you to everyone at the Glen isle. We will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a king size comfortable bed and gorgeous sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 769 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

everything about Glenisle is top notch, we went for a week and could have stayed for longer. The staff, dining,rooms, lounges ,garden, cleanliness , kindness were 5 star all week,our 42nd anniversary was made special, by a special meal designed by the chef, we could not have asked for more , many thanks, we will be back.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms , looking out to holy island, but standard room also very comfortable too with ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night and was very pleased. The staff were very welcoming and flexible. In particular rushing my food order through the kitchen to ensure I got fed after arriving later than i planned for check-in.

Food was delicious. Main meal and breakfast.

Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djjojojuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our third stay at the Glenisle Hotel in the last 18 months, which I think will give readers an idea that we "kind of like staying there". Firstly, the location is great and only a 10 minute drive from the 'Ferry Terminal' at Brodick. Situated in Lamlash and with a great view of 'Holy Isle', the 'Glenisle' offers an exceptionally 'High Standard' of 'Accommodation' and 'Fine Dining'.
On our last visit, we stayed in the 'Premier Room', which is the most comfortable and pleasantest of experiences. We have previously stayed in other rooms, which have always been 'First Class'.
Although we stay for 7 days, we book on a 'Dinner,Bed & Breakfast' basis, primarily because we feel the 'Glenisle' offers the best dining experience; not being too formal, but in comfortable surroundings, with a good 'Menu' and food prepared and cooked to a consistently 'High Standard'. This is borne out by how many 'Non-Residents' will frequently dine there.
However, if you fancy something particular which isn't on the menu, just give the staff some notice and they will try and provide this for you.
For those of you who haven't been to the 'Isle of Arran', but are thinking of doing so, check out the 'Special Offers' from the 'Glenisle', including the free 'Ferry Crossings', which in it's self is a big saving. Also the new 'Loyalty Scheme' has recently been introduced.

The 'Isle of Arran' is the most beautiful of places to visit and that's the reason why we keep going back.
We can 'Highly Recommend' the 'Glenisle Hotel' as a 'Fantastic' place to stay and that's why we will be there again in September.

Room Tip: . Room 14 (Premier Room) and Room 2 (Superior Room) have great views of 'Lamlash Bay' and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crooky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had dinner while staying at a self-catering place nearby and it was so nice, we decided to come back for breakfast! Food was delightful, everyone was very friendly, will definitely come back! Shame there are no dogs allowed, would love to stay overnight, rather than just come for the food!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiizzwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This gem of a hotel has been refurbished with good eye for design and the little details make a big difference whilst maintaining the charm and warmth of the place.

Staff were exceptional giving local advice and just taking the time to have a chat over breakfast or at the bar.

We booked 2 rooms - double and single. I fell in love with the single room as it had good views, cosy feel and the chair at the window was great just watching the world go by. Don't normally sleep in a single bed yet found it really comfortable and had a good night sleep.

As it was cold outside coming into the sitting room with the fire on was so welcoming and enjoyed sitting there after dinner.

The weather was terrible when we were there so we had a few drinks at the bar across the road and felt relaxed and welcomed there. We visited Arran Aromatics which was fun and bought their unbranded candles for £15 which was a bargain. The cheese shop next door was great and bought the whisky cheese which tasted great. Tasted whisky at the distillery. The brewery is worth a stop if you like beer and walk upto the castle. Walked to the standing stones and thankfully the weather cleared for the hour this took. Drove round the island in a day and stopped off for lunch at the Lighthouse Restaurant in Pirmmill - hear this a great place in the summer for dinner. Lovely island and will be back in the summer to camp and walk.

Top tips of what to do when the weather is good:
Swim Sannox Bay
Walk Goatfell
Walk Glen Sannox
Walk Glen Rosa
Stop off and have drinks and food at the Corrie Inn - especially by their coastal beer garden
Glenashdale Falls

Room Tip: Loved the single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We started our Scotland trip by staying at Gleneagles over on the mainland, and finished our holiday on the Isle of Arran where we were visiting our "island friends." There's something very magical about Arran which always draws us back, particularly when the sun is shining! We don't normally stay in a hotel when we visit Arran but this time around we thought we'd give it a try. Our "island friends" recommended the Glenisle to us so we knew it would be very nice. And I have to say our expectations were completely surpassed!

We arrived on the Wednesday afternoon and the weather was simply stunning, so we sat outside and enjoyed an afternoon drink in the sunshine with our friends in the hotel's very pleasant garden overlooking the bay of Lamlash.

We chose to stay on the top floor of the hotel in the Premier suite and it was wonderful - we both agreed it was even nicer than our plush hotel room at Gleneagles (and half the price I might add). The views from the room were stunning - the hills to the right, the bay directly in front and to the left Holy Isle.

The bedroom area was very spacious and comfortable with a comfortable bed, luxurious linen and a floor to ceiling bay window providing spectacular views (which you can still see laying on the bed)! The bathroom was to die for! Spacious again, a built in glass shower, roll top bath in the bay window, so you could lay in the bath looking out the window over the bay, and very nice amenitites and fluffy towels. We would highly recommend this room!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very welcoming and accommodated our every need. The service was wonderful, very professional and with a personal touch, and they really made us feel at home.

The hotel has undergone a big refurbishment plan, and you can see that the fixtures and fittings down to the smallest of detail have been given a lot of attention.

We only stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, and the breakfast was freshly prepared every day and was always hot! We did have lunch on one occasion and I can highly recommend the chicken ceaser salad - the best I have ever had!

We honestly can not think of one improvement or area that we were dissatisfied with and we will most definitely return to Glenisle. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: We loved the top floor and the views, but I understand all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebonning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.2 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
954 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
82 reviews
7.6 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisle Hotel

Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamlash
Price Range: $163 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenisle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming, ancient island inn is now an award-winning boutique hotel. Nestled in the charming village of Lamlash the hotel boasts one of the most beautiful locations on the Isle of Arran; looking across Lamlash Bay toward the Holy Isle which rises 1,000 feet out of the sea. The Glenisle was honoured at the 2011 Scottish Hotel Awards, scooping up a Gold Medal for hospitality as well as the prestigious Rising Star Small Hotel award. Once you have experienced Arran from the comfort of the Glenisle Hotel you might find yourself, like so many others, coming back year after year for a regular break which both relaxes and revitalises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Glenisle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenisle Hotel Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing