We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Break”
Review of Oakbank Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakbank Farm
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed for a short 2 nights with 3 children and it was fantastic. 2 minute walk to the beach, lovely grounds, clean and comfortable house, all the mod cons you would expect. Chickens and Ducks for the kids to chase too!

It was so relaxing and quiet, could have stayed for much longer which is the best comment for a place- We'll certainly look at returning soon

Room Tip: Cottage 2 for kids was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LHS101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa11962, Owner at Oakbank Farm, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and for your kind words. So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and hope you can make it over to Arran for a longer break at some time in the near future. Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was my second visit to Oakbank Farm, this time staying in the aptly named Squirrel View bungalow. I had previously stayed in cottage 1 however as I had my elderly mum with me found the bungalow suited our needs better, ie no stairs The cottage is ideally situated at the end of Lamlash with lovely views of the Holy Isle. There is a large playing area for children where they can also watch the chickens and ducks. There is also a large area for dogs to play in, my dog was exhausted just chasing balls round the field all day. Teresa, the owner, keeps all the properties and grounds in immaculate condition. I have already booked up my holiday for next year at Oakbank farm

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Four of us stayed in the apartment at Oakbank Farm. The apartment was of good standard and met all our needs.

Teresa the owner was very nice and helpful. She told us to ask if we needed anything.and was very knowledgeable about the local area including restaurants/bars . She also ran us into Brodick for our walk up Goatfell, stopping at a shop so that we had all our provisions.

As no one was booked in on our day of departure we were allowed to leave at our leisure.

Will definitely book with Teresa again if we return to Lamlash..

PS Freshly laid eggs were fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank douglasc108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed four nights in Cottage 1 over Christmas, our son and his wife live in Arran and we wanted to spend time with them while having our own accommodation.
The cottage was warm and well appointed and the kitchen was very well equipped and had a large table, ideal for entertaining.
We would thoroughly recommend the cottage for winter breaks as well as for summer holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WinnieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Oak Bank Farm, Its in the best possition on the best road near the best village on the best island on the west coast of scotland. You couldnt ask for anything better. Dogs or Kids they will all love it.
Accomodation is great, quite and peaceful over looking Holy Isle in Lamlash Bay, with Red Squirrels literaly on the door step.
We return every year, could not reccomend more highly.

Doug Chase

Room Tip: Squirrel View Bungalow is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doughchm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We spent a week family holiday with a 3 year old and a 11 month old here. The accommodation was very good and well equipped for a young family. The kids had great fun seeing the animals on the farm and collecting the hens eggs was an added bonus. The property grounds are excellent with great views and a lot of space for the kids to place safely. Teresa was very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed on arrival.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Alexis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We decided to have a mini honeymoon after our wedding before our main one a month later and my parents had stayed here so they recommended it.
It is truly a magical and awesome place to stay for any occassion.
Clean, well equiped, quiet yet lots and lots to do.
Theresa and her family and animals are all very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this place at a drop of a hat to anyone of any age for a multitude of occassions.
We have and will revisit this place time and time again.
Thank you for an amazing mini moon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
1.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
9.4 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
3.3 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank Farm

Address: Lamlash, Lamlash KA27 8LH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lamlash
Price Range: $118 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakbank Farm comprises of 4 self catering properties - 2 cottages, 1 apartment and a separate bungalow. Sleeping between 4 & 7 with a total of up to 21 – families and friends can holiday together yet have their own property. It is set in its own large and secure south facing gardens and grounds of approximately 2.5 acres. Its elevated position gives magnificent coastal views across Lamlash Bay and Holy Isle. Situated at the edge of the village it is a quiet location but with the convenience of being within a mile of Lamlash village amenities.All properties have been attractively refurbished and are very comfortable and well equipped. Each property has two bedrooms, living room with open plan kitchen (except the largest, which has separate kitchen-diner), bathroom with bath and showers. The kitchens have modern built-in units and are equipped with fridge, electric cooker, microwave, washing machine and all crockery, cutlery, utensils etc.Full central heating is fitted throughout; so that even during "out of season" stays you may be sure of a comfortable base from which to enjoy the IslandThe Bungalow was designed with accessibility in mind and is all on one level with extra wide doors to accommodate wheelchairsFacilities include a large playing field, a children's play area and a full size all weather tennis court with all equipment.Children are especially welcome, and are free to play within Oakbank Farm's safe grounds. A Cot and high chairs are available for use.Well behaved pets are accepted by arrangement in all properties except the Apartment (we charge £15 for 1 dog, £5 for additional dogs). Dogs must be kept on a leash while in the grounds of Oakbank Farm as we have free range livestock. We offer free range eggs for sale (when available)We have a MidgeEater600 Midge machine which enable guests to fully enjoy the outdoor areas. Barbeques are also available for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakbank Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Farm Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing