We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise. Not much to look at but superb view and nice rooms make for a relaxing stay.”
Review of Lamlash Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Lamlash B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise. Not much to look at but superb view and nice rooms make for a relaxing stay.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel with older main building and more modern extension. Immediately opposite beach with excellent open views of the bay and Holy Isle. Rooms refurbished in copy of boutique style, well specified and comfortable. Italian themed restaurant also used for breakfast - good Scottish style, generous portions. Staff friendly and helpful, if a little difficult to find at times. Very quiet and relaxing. Electric (not power) shower and toilet attached to macerator.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenter-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    105
    32
    11
    4
See reviews for
81
196
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have toured Scotland on motorbike several times but never been on isle of Arran so we hopped on a ferry and gave it a go we picked the lamlash out of the blue and we wer'nt dissapointed.as we had,nt booked in advance we were told that to stay for two nights we would have to change rooms on the second day.the first room was actually an apartment and the second room included a four poster bed wow.both rooms were offered to us at a reduced price(bonus).the staff are really helpful they even transfered all our luggage to the room swap.the hotel itself has a really friendly relaxed atmosphere and mixing with the locals was a laugh there are a few characters who really made us feel welcome.so nice digs nice beer nice people nice scenery what more could you want.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view as it is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith1300gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

On the face of it a nice looking hotel. Good location and excellent views from the room. We were shown to our room which was very spacious and modern. However there were a number of issues which detracted from our enjoyment of the room. The double bed was small and very hard. We complained that it looked as if the bed linen had not been changed for our arrival. The continental quilt was old and tatty. The room was also not very clean. Other issues were, one lightbulb in the ensuite was not working and was not replaced during our stay, the shower tiling was mouldy, there was no razor point, one of the windows would not open and the extract fan was not working. Not what you would expect in a hotel. Good food however
The staff were all very friendly but the hotel needs to up its game.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamlashBay, Owner at Lamlash Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest I am sorry you were disappointed with your room, I wish you had come to me and I could have sorted most out for you. Our housekeepers do try the bulbs but not every day to save energy we do this once a week, if you had mentioned it would have been changed. The mattresses are all new hence the reason it may have been a bit hard but I can assure you the beds are always changed and our linen is cleaned and inspected on site anything showing any sign of age or ware is put aside for cleaning clothes but if you were unhappy I would have had your room cleaned again for you. On a positive I am glad you enjoyed your food and the staff were friendly, our view is wonderful and hopefully helped you enjoy your stay. We will keep an eye on everything and make improvements where we can and thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here recently in one of the suites. Worth paying the extra to get the Sea View as it has stunning views from the windows looking out over to Holy Isle. (ask for Room 1, 3 or 4).
We had a suite which was OK with a couch area by the window, and 2 double beds. Bathroom was spacious, though shower was small due to the rounded corner design. Only fault was no replenishment of soaps which considering what we were paying seemed as though they were scrimping.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Owners were away, but Brian & his team ran the hotel well.
Restaurant is worth a visit as well.
Recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Pay Extra and stay in a Suite with Sea View. Room 1, 3 or 4. Restaurant is good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Arran is a great place to relax and enjoy "Scotland in minature",and The Lamlash Bay Hotel is a great place to stay. The staff are effecient and pleasant, with a good scottish welcome. The room overlooked the Island with specatular views, and was clean. The mattress and pillows were a bit dated and for the price I would have expected better quality. The food was good but a bit unadventurous. If these were rectified it would easily get 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

While we are waiting for the bill, thought we would use the free wi-fi and recommend the food. A really lovely dining experience. Friendly staff and fantastic food all homemade with good sized portions and great value for money - we ate from the early bird menu but will definitely return and would happily pay to eat here at any time. The hotel dining room has amazing views of the bay and the bar attached welcomes dogs, perfect for sitting with a drink and enjoying the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky0973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed at Lamlash Bay Hotel in August and had a great experience there. The food was very good, staff were friendly and engaging and the whole look and feel of the place was the perfect setting to relax and enjoy a weekend away from it all. Situated centrally in Lamlash with stunning views of the Holy Isle, I will certainly be back for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask the owners, they are very accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnediro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
3.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
2.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
70 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamlash Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamlash Bay Hotel

Property: Lamlash Bay Hotel
Address: Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lamlash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lamlash Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small shore front family run 3 star hotel with the best views on the island. Always check the hotels' website for the best pricing and booking conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lamlash Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamlash Bay Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing