We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome and wonderful rooms”
Review of Stonewater House

Stonewater House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonewater House
Ranked #5 of 7 Lamlash B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Stonewater House B and B the first weekend of September 2012.

Mark and Rachel were very welcoming, offering us tea and coffee (with yummy chocolate biscuits) on arrival. The rooms were spacious, extremely clean and very well finished. Wonderful little touches like Arran Aromatics soaps in the bathrooms and handmade shortbread in the bedrooms made the B and B extra special.

Mark and Rachel were very knowledgeable about where to eat and things to do (providing all the menus for pubs and restaurants in the area for you to look over before heading out). Breakfast in the morning was gorgeous. Homemade yoghurt with passionfruit or strawberry followed by cereals and then a full cooked breakfast. The ingredients were all very fresh and not at all greasy.

I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone staying on the island as it is in perfect positioning to explore the sites and has wonderful views to boot.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 68 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent B&B. The hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely bedroom with everything you need. Tea tray in room had large choice and there was also a fridge available for use in the lounge. The breakfast was excellent with large choice of fruit, cereals and cooked items. And freshly made yoghurt and home made bread which was delicious. Going back there will be a very easy decision

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have you ever read glowing reviews and been disappointed? Well, no worries here. As all the reviews say - a perfect retreat in an ideal location.

Enthusiastic and professional hosts who work hard at making your stay a pleasure. We spent three nights at Stonewater House in glorious sunshine and loved the balcony/sundeck overlooking the village and the sea (no one mentioned this feature in their review). Breakfasts to die for (but don't let Mark trick you into one of his large breakfasts as it will take you the rest of the day to walk it off!!)

The four of us loved this place and hope to return soon

Room Tip: All rooms are en suite and a good size. If you want the room with a view over the sea you should as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillJSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Thanks to Mark and Rachel we spent two lovely nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast. On arrivel Mark greeted us and felt straight away like at home. Even their dog Molly was happy to see us and get to know our 1 year old staff/dalmation dog Ozzy. Mark explained what and where there is to do, showed us our stunning room with a massive king sized bed. The bathroom was clean and modern. Everything was fresh and clean, from towels, to bed clothes, in fact their whole house. A big plus was being able to use a wee fridge in the living room and use the downstairs living room for social purposes. We must say, coming from Glasgows city centre, this is what we needed. We felt so relaxed, at ease and couldnt have asked for more attentive guests. Had a great night sleep every night. The brekkie was humongeous and delicious. Varied, and just as good as any 5 star brekkie, if not better... The teamaking facilities were great. Our dog was allowed to enter the living room with permission of other guests. We will return. No question! Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Myself and my wife spent 3 nights here.
Both Mark and Rachel are the perfect hosts and we were greeted with a warm welcome
Tea and biscuits provided on our arrival were a nice touch
Bedrooms are clean and spacious
Breakfasts are excellent and money savers because after one of these you don't need lunch.
Excellent facilities included a guest lounge with a fridge to chill your wine and beer.
We will definetly be returning here soon.
Excellet value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This B&B is in the most wonderful location, right opposite the sea, Holy Isle and the pier. Large picture windows bring the views in to you along with plenty of light and air. A safe area.

Mark and Rachel are great hosts who can help you with any local information. We needed the local hospital unfortunately and they were so caring and helpful. Breakfasts were great. Terrific spot for trips around Arran. Very relaxing, friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: Front room downstairs is just wonderful, and disability friendly. There's an elderly and gentle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here overnight whilst visiting an old friend on the island. Stonewater House is in a beautiful situation in Lamlash by the old pier with a stunning view of the Holy Isle. We were welcomed on arrival by Rachel and Mark and treated like old friends rather than guests, it was so nice. The room was immaculate, the lounge warm and cosy and we were served a breakfast to die for - it was amazing. We also got a thorough briefing on things to do, places to see and places to eat out - a real bonus. We will be going back to Arran in the not too distant future and we will definitely stay at Stonewater House, on that or any further visit to Arran. We loved everything about our stay, and thank Rachel and Mark for helping to make it so special. Faaaaantastic B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamlash
0.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
3.1 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
2.9 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewater House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewater House

Address: Stonewater House Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lamlash
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stonewater House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewater House Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing