We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B in centre of the village”
Review of Stonewater House

Stonewater House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonewater House
Ranked #5 of 7 Lamlash B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We took two rooms at Stonewater House as we had one of our parents with us. She has slightly reduced mobility so we had downstairs rooms. A modern purpose built B&B, all en suite and spotlessly clean with all the facilities you need including TV. Guests had their own lounge. Rachel gave us a lovely breakfast with home made yoghurt. We could not have had better in an expensive hotel. For your evening meal there are several options in the village close by and Mark made a booking for us on the first night. We will definately be back.

Mike Agnes & Nancy

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBunnies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 68 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

We happened to find this place by chance while internet searching. Had not even read any reviews but just booked. We had a fantastic time. Rachel & Mark are excellent hosts and make you feel welcome the minute you walk in. Very spacious room & spotless house! Very clean & spacious en-suite too. Breakfast was fabulous, great cooking & lovely home made yoghurt! We did not use the guest lounge in the evenings yet its perfect for families or couples & friends in the winter as its equipped with a computer for guest use & plenty of board games. Very helpful in guiding us on the best spots for wildlife hunting! Well priced & lovely location! Hope it will be available if we go again!! Thank you very much for making our weekend very enjoyable! from Malta

Room Tip: Book in advance to avoid disappointment!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Everything about our stay in this wonderful B&B was perfect! My husband and myself were travelling with our 3year old twins and were very apprehensive about staying in a B&B as we had only ever stayed self catering before. However we needn't have worried as Rachel and Mark( the owners)were so welcoming and accomodating and everything was pristine. We stayed in a family room which huge, very comfortable and had a lovely, clean en suit bathroom, not to mention a fabuous selection of teas cofees and biscuits! Rachel cleaned our room every day and replaced our towels. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. A wide range of cereals were on offer, along with porridge and a selection of Racjel's home made yoghurts. My husband raved about Mark's fabulous full Scottish breakfast ( vegetarian one on offer too) and loved his poached eggs. I cannot praise the fantastic B&B enough and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone, was great holiday!
Nicki Barrett and family

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickibarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

There isn't a single thing you could say against Stonewater, not even a minor suggestion, it's absolutely perfect in every way. Not a house turned into a B&B, but custom built, and it shows. It's roomy, comfortable, beautifully decorated and spotless, with what other places would consider as extras laid on as standard. The breakfasts are fabulous and so are the owners, very attentive and helpful but laid back too. We wouldn't think of going anywhere else now and we visit the island regularly to see family. Our only quibble about recommending it is that it will become so popular that we might not get booked up next time!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BayviewerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

You really will not find any faults in this bed and breakfast . From the modern, spotless rooms to the guest sitting room with computer access, television (also in rooms) , fridge etc. you will have everything you need to enjoy your stay on Arran. The breakfast menu is bound to set you up for the day and although there is no evening meal there are places to eat nearby. What a bed and breakfast place should be. Must be the best in Arran.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiffany92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Clean and comfortable room, delicious breakfasts and very pleasant and helpful owners.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unasola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Had an enjoyable stay here with my elderly mum. The house is clean, comfortable and accessible for those with mobility difficulties. Mark and Rachel, the hosts, strike a great balance of being attentive without being intrusive. The beakfasts were stunning - home made yoghurts accompanied by a great selection of fresh fruit and a wide selection of cooked goodies, both vegetarian and carnivorous!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamlash hotels
0.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tigh An Eilean Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kinneil Sea View Self Catering Apartments
0.9 mi away
Oakbank Farm
Oakbank Farm
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lilybank Guest House
Lilybank Guest House
#3 of 7 in Lamlash
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewater House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewater House

Address: Stonewater House Shore Road, Lamlash KA27 8JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Lamlash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lamlash
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stonewater House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewater House Lamlash, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing