We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility and Seal watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kildonan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kildonan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildonan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility and Seal watching!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

We booked the Kildonan for one night and were set to stay at Arran's Auchrannie Spa resort for our 2nd and 3rd night. The Kildonan was so fabulous that we ditched the Auchrannie Spa's impersonal and corporate vibe and headed back to the comfort and tranqulity of the Kildonan. Beautifully styled rooms and bathrooms, big comfortable beds, amazing views all provided by very very nice people. Food-wise, the Stone Garden restaurant serves excellent quality food (check out the Crab Salad!!) The restaurant is housed in a lovely modern glass extension which looks out to sea with the island of Pladda and it's lighthouse with Ailsa Craig in the distance. This hotel has everything you could need for a relaxing break and is provided in a professional and personal fashion. Some nice little touches which we appreciated were pre-dinner hors-d'ouvres served with the compliments of the chef, beautiful decor and tiles in the bathrooms, free internet access via 2 PCs in the reception area and best of all, seals basking on the rocks every morning just outside the hotel! This was the first of many stays at Kildonan for us as we will definitely be returning. Forget your big corporate hotel on Arran - Kildonan surpasses that a million times over.....and means it!

  • Liked — Personal service and rooms
  • Disliked — The bar has yet to be modernised to the level of the rest of the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you don't miss seeing the seals in the morning
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Orgoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    150
    59
    24
    16
See reviews for
105
228
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, U.K.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

Our 6 day trip to Arran (2 days in the centre at Brodick, 2 days camping in the north at Lochranza) ended delightfully with 2 nights at the Kildonan Hotel. This is a older hotel with re-furbished, though slightly small, rooms and a modern restaurant addition at the front (which has been skillfully done and doesn't spoil the character of the hotel). The views from this hotel are fantastic. As the sun-went down we sat on the terrace and watched Aisla Craig change colour until it looked like one of Monet's haystacks. The beach can be a bit smelly in places (rotting seaweed?) but the sight of seals basking on the rocks as we ate our breakfast made up for that.

Service in the hotel was very good and the folk music in the bar on a Sunday and Monday evening was wonderful. Bar meals were reasonably priced. We didn't dine in the restaurant. My only complaint would be that our bedroom was above some kind of air conditioning unit which hummed all night long. We didn't bother to complain though as it didn't stop us sleeping.

  • Liked — Fantastic views
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scotmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2006

wel i arrived there it was first class service from the start. I went with my friend and her family as i am only 18. i was expecting a really boring "old mans" pub but i was very wrong on the first night there was a group of holiday makers there about 25 of them playing folk music it was very enjoyable not just for people my age but for others aswel.
The fish and chips there were absolutly divine best pub food i have tasted in ages. i could look at the view as i ate my meal some nights we even sat outside.
iam hoping 2 go again in august 2006!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2005

What more can I say - the hotel is fantastic - beautiful location, wonderfully furnished, great food, reasonable prices. If you want a quiet, friendly, get away from it all, pet friendly place, stop here!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

Stumbled across this hotel by accident. Having phoned about 40 places without success, I misdialled another number and got a Kildonan local who recommended this (Cheers Mr Nick Ash).

The rooms are lovely, the bathrooms fantastic (you've got to love those tiles), and the location is one of the few on the island that allows you to walk straight out of the hotel and onto the shore - perfect for seal watching.

The only problem is that by the time you've taken your seat in the restaurant with a view over Pladda and Ailsa Craig you've forgotten that you've paid only half as much as other so called luxury hotels and you expect the food to be outstanding. It isn't, it's just very good although this may be down to me not being a fish person.

All in all, I'd go back and I'd recommend anyone touring the south of Arran to try it.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wakemalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2003

Superb views, excellent food and fantastic rooms. For those who want a friendly atmosphere in wonderful surroundings, look no further. Don't tell anyone though as we don't want it to get too busy! Idylic.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2003

Kildonan Hotel ,Isle of Arran, Scotland. The hotel is situated very close to the shore, where seals and a numerous variation of wildlife can be spotted. There is an ongoing refurbishment programme being carried out and the rooms that are finished are fitted out to a very high standard. The food is very good, with some unusual menus. For anyone looking for a tranquil and relaxing break then this hotel hits the spot.

Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildonan
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Hotel

Property: Kildonan Hotel
Address: Kildonan | Isle of Arran, Kildonan KA27 8SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kildonan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildonan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kildonan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and forget your troubles at our small, family run hotel. Built in the 17th Century, it is one of the 7th oldest licensed Inns in Scotland and historically a destination that families have aspired to visit for well over 100 years. Perched on the southern-most tip of Arran with panoramic views to die for, the hotel is located right on the seafront, the beach literally stone's throw away. Overlooking the Firth of Clyde we are right in the middle of a unique eco-system with a plethora of wildlife. We have seals basking daily on the rock jetties off-shore, otters feeding and playing on the rocks and gannets diving non-stop through the day. We are also fortunate to have occasional basking sharks and dolphins visiting in the summer months and an array of birds-of-prey including eagles, peregrines, buzzards and more... Pladda Island sits directly across the sound with its recognisable lighthouse and ever changing silhouette playing host to a large colony of seagulls and gannets. And of course the famous Ailsa Craig, 'Paddy's Milestone', a bird sanctuary now but is renowned for its granite which is still used for curling stones today. The interior is fully refurbished, still maintaining some the quaint characteristics of old, while the tasteful addition of extended bistro and lounge area with floor to ceiling windows allow residents and diners to gaze for miles over a cup of tea, breakfast or an evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kildonan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing