We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL RETREAT”
Review of Kildonan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kildonan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildonan B&B and Inns
Spey Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A WONDERFUL RETREAT”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My friend and I stayed for two nights here whilst visiting Arran. From our first sight of the amazing views to our reluctant departure, we had a wonderful time. The staff are so friendly and helpful; the restaurant definitely had the wow factor for the food, service, decor and views; the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. In short, the overall experience was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The corner room above the bar (room 3) has fantastic panoramic views and remarkably, I heard no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marxrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    161
    68
    27
    19
See reviews for
111
250
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night break at the Kildonan Hotel at the beginning of March, courtesy of a Christmas present from friends. We upgraded the room to one on the ground floor with a wetroom ideal for visitors with disability. The room was well furnished and cosy with underfloor heating, only downside was no view worth mentioning from the room and it was difficult to close the door due to high winds once we opened it (definately a sea breeze blowing when we arrived!)

The menu was a little limited but food was good and any changes to the menu which we requested were supplied, no problem at all. Andrea, our waitress, was always pleasant and worked hard looking after the diners.

The surrounding areas, outwith the hotel, were littered with storm debris and hopefully this would be cleared up before the season starts properly.

If you are planning a visit to Arran - it is a magical island - and you think anything of your car - borrow someone else's. The potholes are horrendous and unavoidable - come on Arran get your road system upgraded and help your businesses!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 17 - no view but good access for people with disabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyned_sandbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Spent three nights at this hotel at the end of February.
It was a risky time of year but we were very fortunate and had decent weather
My wife and I would return instantly.
Great location, great staff, great food.
What more can you ask for?.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bacillus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay in room 10 which is a deluxe suite. The room is well laid out with a separate seating area leading out onto a veranda, giving excellent views of the sea and cliffs beyond. The room was clean and comfy enough although cold on the first night. There is a central heating radiator in the room but there is also a control in the seating area for underfloor heating which we didn't realise until day 2. Once this was cranked up, the room was very cosy. Breakfast was ok. We didn't get charged for extra coffee or black pudding like another review states. The dining room is cold but not uncomfortably so if you have a jumper on. Ate in the bar once in the evening and would describe the quality as 'basic pub food'. If you don't want to drive into one of the other villages for better choice and quality then an evening of food and drink in the bar is an ok option. In general, the hotel is a bit tired and definitely over priced when compared to the main land. We had food and drink in the Glenisle hotel which was excellent. The venue and food was of a very high quality so would recommend it if you are in Lamlash. While we didn't get the opportunity to see any of the rooms, if they are to the same high standard as the bar and restaurant, I would definitely look to stay there next time. Still had a wonderful time in Arran.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked this through a Groupon deal and was eager to visit Arran. Despite a mix up with our dates we had a fantastic break. The mix up was sorted before our arrival at the hotel and I can't fault Ryan and the Kildonan staff for their service. Nothing was too much bother. The Hotel is a delight and is in a fabulous location (even in February). We dined in the hotel both nights of our stay and the food was excellent. The special Valentines meal was great value for money and a lot of attention had gone into the decor for the night to make it special. As part of the Valentine's celebrations the Jazz Cafe Band played in the hotel bar and they were brilliant. All in all I couln't fault this trip and would certainly reccomend the Kildonan Hotel to anyone. Can't wait to go back to Arran :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franfigures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We booked the Kildonan via groupon and thought a few days away in February was a great idea. As soon as friends, who had been to Arran before, knew we were going they advised on where to go and what to do. They were horrified that we were going in February and worse when they realised we where going to the Kildonan and described it as 'a dump'. So we were rather expecting the worst but could not have been more wrong!!
Our welcome was friendly and efficient, the room well laid out, clean and very comfortable. The menu provides a reasonable choice with plenty of 'specials'. All our meals were delicious, well cooked and reasonably priced. We found the staff friendly and unstintingly helpful.
The weather was appalling but that just made the hotel even more cosy.
Overall a lovely stay which we thoroughly enjoyed and this wonderful hotel is definitely not 'a dump'!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6ACF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The good points: A fantastic location on the beach with access down to the beach.
Our room was very nice - a patio suite that had a sleeping area slightly partioned off from the sitting areas which were turned into beds for the kids - so privacy for all. The room had a door out to a patio area with garden furniture and access to the beach. The bathroom looked new and was fresh and modern.
We ate breakfast every morning and had 2 meals in the evening. The menu is not extensive and basic but we would recommend the fish and chips which was cooked in a light batter with good quality fresh fish. The breakfast varied - one day it was not so good as some of the cooked items had been obviously kept warm for too long. Also it costs extra for cereal and a cooked breakfast - come on is this really cost saving ? The other 2 days it was well cooked.
We also felt that the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed and this contributed greatly to our holiday. Service was quick and friendly too.

The not so good points are:

A terrible entrance to the hotel. We know Kildonan but for first time visitors the road and entrance to the hotel shows you the back of the hotel with bins overflowing and bits of junk lying beside the staff areas. A bit of screening is all it would take. The outside areas could do with smartening up - plants blown over and signs half working and paint peeling off signs and the hotel. We realise that its winter and there's been gales but a bit of screening and careful planting or no plants! (build some walls?)plus a tidy up would really make a difference.

We felt the dining room was cold to eat in and it could have been cleaner. The salt and pepper had a ketchup mark on them on day1 that was still there on day 3. Also there were bits of blinds and carpets rolled up in the room - again not much effort to give it a good clean and smarten it up would be requred.

Finally from a personal point of view the bar frustrated me as I could see how it could be made cosier and homely with a bit more character. The bar is painted dark blue which makes it dark a lighter colour would make it appear more spacious. The addition of a wood burner would help create a cosy atmosphere on a dark winter's night and some interesting wall decorations (kildonan history/sea themes?) would help the ambience. I realise this is a public bar and its meant to be a chilled out place but nicer surroundings would help guests impressions of the place.

Would we return? yes - my kids loved being near the beach and we would love to sit out on a lsummer night and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildonan
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,154 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
564 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
243 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Hotel

Property: Kildonan Hotel
Address: Kildonan | Isle of Arran, Kildonan KA27 8SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kildonan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildonan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kildonan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and forget your troubles at our small, family run hotel. Built in the 17th Century, it is one of the 7th oldest licensed Inns in Scotland and historically a destination that families have aspired to visit for well over 100 years. Perched on the southern-most tip of Arran with panoramic views to die for, the hotel is located right on the seafront, the beach literally stone's throw away. Overlooking the Firth of Clyde we are right in the middle of a unique eco-system with a plethora of wildlife. We have seals basking daily on the rock jetties off-shore, otters feeding and playing on the rocks and gannets diving non-stop through the day. We are also fortunate to have occasional basking sharks and dolphins visiting in the summer months and an array of birds-of-prey including eagles, peregrines, buzzards and more... Pladda Island sits directly across the sound with its recognisable lighthouse and ever changing silhouette playing host to a large colony of seagulls and gannets. And of course the famous Ailsa Craig, 'Paddy's Milestone', a bird sanctuary now but is renowned for its granite which is still used for curling stones today. The interior is fully refurbished, still maintaining some the quaint characteristics of old, while the tasteful addition of extended bistro and lounge area with floor to ceiling windows allow residents and diners to gaze for miles over a cup of tea, breakfast or an evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kildonan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing