We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50 - 50 ? 60 - 40 ? 70 - 30 ?”
Review of Kildonan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kildonan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildonan B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“50 - 50 ? 60 - 40 ? 70 - 30 ?”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked in on a Groupon offer and upgraded to a deluxe suite. A suite it was but deluxe, well not in our eyes. It was a lovely room with side elevation view of the sea ( room 9 ). It was clean and tidy and spacious. The double wardrobe was in a small alcove in the entrance hall and the bedroom door opened onto it. The bathroom was directly facing as you entered the room. This was the biggest disappointment . There was a very tiny round stainless steel handbasin which the door opened onto. It was not fit for purpose. The toilet seat was wonky and needed re fitting. The bath was old and repaired in a couple of places. The side panel to the bath was coming away. The shower rail containing the shower head was loose and needed re fixing to the wall.The extractor fan, which to us as man and wife is an important fitment, was not working. This was pointed out to the staff showing us into the room. An enquiry was made and it was reported back that it had been previously reported and a new fan was on order ( Had still not arrived 5 days later and yes, they were obtainable on the island ). After a few hours we realised the the towel radiator in the bathroom was not working. Reported it to reception. It was bled but it was not air locked so a plumber was informed. He would be attending later that day. ( Still no plumber after 5 days and still not working ). The room was lovely and warm with underfloor heating as well as a radiator. The bathroom was very cold. We left the door open for some warmth to get in. The hotel is ideally located, right on the shingle beach, with wonderful panoramic picture windows overlooking Padda Island, Aris Aig and the Mull of Kintyre. We saw three sea otters feeding and playing as well as the seals. The dining room was really really cold and the heating system ( if working )? needed boosting for winter use. ( I think that is why the owners had their meals in the bar, it was much warmer ). Breakfast was a real disappointment with no cereals, yogurts, choice of fruit juices or fresh fruit, unless paid for extra. The breakfast menu was limited to continental, full Scottish, Kipper, accompaniments of fruit juice, toast, tea/coffee, jams/marmalade. A slight disappointment in the first instance. THE FOOD, EITHER BREAKFAST OR EVENING MEALS COULD NOT BE FAULTED. It was well cooked, good quality, very tasty and always hot. Evening meal prices were reasonable, twenty pounds for a 10oz sirloin steak with chips and veg. Value for money and delicious is the sea bass meal for about £8.95p. Prices were the same in dining room and bar. The staff were really nice and friendly and knew how to treat their guests. Dear owners, please please rectify these small and annoying little faults and get 99% for and 1 % against. We would say it would make the difference to our 50 - 50. ( When we were leaving, a couple who had arrived the previous night, room 10, were reporting that their radiator in their bathroom was not working ).

Room Tip: Do not book a deluxe. Not value for money at £135 per night, unless you get it on an offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narpo456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    156
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
110
247
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our introduction to Kildonan hotel was through a Groupon deal which was excellent value. The approach to the hotel was a disappointment by side entrance through the bar and with no one at reception. This was mitigated by the offer of a free drink while we waited and by the discovery of the tasteful frontage overlooking the shore on the south side with delightful outside seating areas - very useful when watching for otters and seals.
That bar lunch in the sunshine outside was really good and the evening meals were a treat though the large glassed restaurant was rather cold at times.
Wifi was most unreliable and didn't work in the room (though this was compensated by the magnificent views). Difficult to pick up a signal elsewhere in the hotel too.
An old building, a little shabby in places, but our room was truly excellent and we would go again - if we could get the same room. Friendly and helpful staff with excellent chef.

Room Tip: We upgraded and had a superb south and west facing room on the corner with balcony and glassed in ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

After seeing a group on deal for the Kildonan Hotel we booked to stay there. Fabulous location with a stunning view. The room was clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and the food was good. Loved the comfy bed!! Hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We felt very comfortable in this hotel, the views across the sea are breath taking. Staff were all really friendly and helpful, we asked for fresh milk for the room which was no problem. We stayed for two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights, food was really good and there was a good choice on the menu. Breakfast was high quality too, we had cooked breakfasts both days, a great start to the day! We would love to come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flossieno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Having waited since summer to come to this stunning Island we were all very excited at the prospect of a few days to chill and take in the scenery! Upon first sight of the hotel my thoughts were that it looked tired, and the fact that the stroll in the beach garden resulted in my sisters foot covered in a smelly dog substances didn't bode well for the coming few days, however the welcome was friendly and the views from the bar were spectacular!
After a few drinks while waiting for the rooms to be cleaned we got shown to our rooms! Having booked through groupon, a standard room, we all opted to upgrade for an extra £60 for three nights to an executive room.
When we entered the room we expected a bath, a television and no broken tiles! Instead we were greeted by a tv bracket hanging off the wall, a missing tile under the window sill and no television near the double bed (which the website states comes with a bath!). Instead it was around the corner by the single bed?!?!
I queried the room at the reception, however they could not offer any other 'executive room'!
The next few days were enjoyable and on the final night we decided to go for a meal at the restaurant in the hotel!
It was ok at best! With a chicken burger that barely deserves the title 'chicken', and cold lamb kebabs, we went back to the room expecting the bill to be added onto room bill!
When we were leaving we paid the tab and on closer inspection realised two extra items on there! So we rang them up and were horrified to learn that an £8 charge was for a flask full of coffee?!?! (Never been charged in any other hotels in the lakes etc!). The other £11 charge was the automatic service charge for the meal, which we were happy to pay until we were charged an obsene price for our coffee!

All in all, great views and selected rooms are good, however if you are unlucky enough to be put in room 17, when deacribed as 'executive' room, it might be advisable to turn around and demand a room change!
The atmosphere was ok, with the Halloween theme encouraging some enjoyment!

Could be tempted to return if room, food and coffee prices were altered!

We did enjoy ourselves though, that's the main thing!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingnat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely hotel with great rooms! Really nice and modern with super views! Very pleasant staff and good food. Recommended by friends who stayed here for many years. We felt we need to bring the car because of the location but it was worthwhile because it makes you drive around the island and get to know it better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My friends and I opted to eat at the Kildonan Hotel on 2 occasions during our recent stay in Arran - the first evening meal was in the restaurant/bistro part of the hotel and the 2nd evening was in the bar area. On both occasions we met different staff who were unfailingly helpful and friendly and ensured that one of our party was able to have a vegetarian pasta dish made specially as there was nothing on the menu that suited. All of our dishes were delicious, hot and tasty albeit the burgers might have benefited from some salad too, and extra vegies were made available with the fish and chips, on request too. The steak pie was packed with meat and was apparently delicious and filling. Both eating areas were lovely and comfortable and we would have no hesitation in recommending to others if you are looking for some good pub food. If you are staying in Kildonan, and walking to the hotel at night, be sure and take a torch as there are no street lights and virtually zero light pollution!! Will happily visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildonan
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
554 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Hotel

Property: Kildonan Hotel
Address: Kildonan | Isle of Arran, Kildonan KA27 8SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kildonan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildonan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kildonan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and forget your troubles at our small, family run hotel. Built in the 17th Century, it is one of the 7th oldest licensed Inns in Scotland and historically a destination that families have aspired to visit for well over 100 years. Perched on the southern-most tip of Arran with panoramic views to die for, the hotel is located right on the seafront, the beach literally stone's throw away. Overlooking the Firth of Clyde we are right in the middle of a unique eco-system with a plethora of wildlife. We have seals basking daily on the rock jetties off-shore, otters feeding and playing on the rocks and gannets diving non-stop through the day. We are also fortunate to have occasional basking sharks and dolphins visiting in the summer months and an array of birds-of-prey including eagles, peregrines, buzzards and more... Pladda Island sits directly across the sound with its recognisable lighthouse and ever changing silhouette playing host to a large colony of seagulls and gannets. And of course the famous Ailsa Craig, 'Paddy's Milestone', a bird sanctuary now but is renowned for its granite which is still used for curling stones today. The interior is fully refurbished, still maintaining some the quaint characteristics of old, while the tasteful addition of extended bistro and lounge area with floor to ceiling windows allow residents and diners to gaze for miles over a cup of tea, breakfast or an evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kildonan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing