We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location”
Review of Kildonan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kildonan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildonan B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top location”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location is fabulous, the views are superb, the food was good and staff friendly. Our room was classy on first impression, however a tad on the shabby side once we found our way round it. Generally a bit pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teens2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    156
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
110
247
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a short break on Arran, where we stayed at the Kildonan Hotel for one night. The room was above the bar but the views were outstanding. Could not hear any noise from the bar so no problem that night but can't guarantee that for future guests. Superb evening meal, loads of it so great after a long days walking. If you like real ale then try Arran Dark 4.3%, did enjoy sitting outside at 10 in the evening looking out at the islands.

Jewel in the crown was going to bed and looking out the window and seeing the glow of the lighthouse on Pladda, end to a perfect evening.
Morning had breakfast looking out onto the beach and saw seals on the rocks sunning themselves in the early morning sun, what more could you ask for. Weather, views and location were fantastic, will stay there again. Oh and very reasonably priced plus great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights on a tour of SW Scotland.

Fairly small hotel located in hamlet of Kildonan at southern tip of Arran with superb, uninterrupted coastal views towards the islands of Pladda and Ailsa Craig with the mainland Ayrshire coast in the background. Idyllic, if the weather cooperates (which it did).

Our room was comfortably furnished; the bed was very good. Everything was commendably clean. Although our room was over the bar there was little noise late on. No pool table after 11pm, it said !

Food was of a good standard and fairly wide choice if you took into account the list of 'daily specials'. Breakfast starts at 0830 which is a bit late for us but room service is also available. The restaurant has really lovely views out over Pladda Sound and there is also a wide terrace outside with tables and chairs for relaxing drinks, etc. Really lovely.

There is a small store attached to the hotel that seems to supply the local caravanners. The small caravan site is close by but not conspicuous.

There is plenty of rocky coastline for exploring, especially at low tide - kids will love it - and the local seals bask a few hundred metres away at lowish tide. Plenty of birdlife to watch, including gannets diving for a fishy meal offshore. There is not a lot of sand locally; it is a bit patchy and of a darker colour than some of the Hebridean beaches.

The hotel is only a few minutes by car from the main villages of the East Arran coast with plenty of alternative eating-places and other attractions.

We would love to go back and felt we had, by happy chance, picked a really good hotel in a superb spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loosecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braco
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Before i tell you the good things, 2 things spoilt my stay.The TV in the bedroom wasnt working, i reported this at 6.50 pm,( hoping it would be working when i got back to my room after dinner ) It wasnt repaired at all.
2nd point ; Breakfast on Sat is at 9 am, as we had 19 miles walking in front of us we would have liked an earlier breakfast , but on asking was told that it is 9 am and no option, it would have been nice to have an option..
So good things,
well everything ,rooms, beds, bar, restaurant terrace all superb, staff all superb and helpful and smiling.
Please use the hotel if in that part of the world.You wont be disappointed. Just hope they fixed the telly !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 246aberdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My family and myself have just come back from a short break staying at the Kildonan hotel where we enjoyed fantastic views and lovely food.
The rooms were plush and very well maintained and ours had the most fantastic views over to the lighthouse isle of Pladda.
The staff were very friendly and helpfull when called upon.
The breakfasts are plentifull and very tasty,also the evening meals were a cut above what I would expect.
In short I will be back to this delightfull hotel as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you require a family room they have fantastic rooms at the side of the hotel complete with balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillieboyLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My dad and i walked Arran and we stayed for 1 night at this very comfortable hotel. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with underfloor heating. The views from our room were just fantastic. Our room was clean and the bed was the most comfortable i have slept in which was needed after our long day walking. The staff were friendly and the wee pub had a great atmosphere. We had dinner overlooking the sea with amazing views of the lighthouse. The food was good and lots to eat.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumdad170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a great stay at the Kildonan hotel (June '12). The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the beer garden was relaxing and the view is stunning! Many thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms look out to the sea over the canopy, but still a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildonan
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
554 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kildonan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kildonan Hotel

Property: Kildonan Hotel
Address: Kildonan | Isle of Arran, Kildonan KA27 8SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kildonan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildonan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kildonan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and forget your troubles at our small, family run hotel. Built in the 17th Century, it is one of the 7th oldest licensed Inns in Scotland and historically a destination that families have aspired to visit for well over 100 years. Perched on the southern-most tip of Arran with panoramic views to die for, the hotel is located right on the seafront, the beach literally stone's throw away. Overlooking the Firth of Clyde we are right in the middle of a unique eco-system with a plethora of wildlife. We have seals basking daily on the rock jetties off-shore, otters feeding and playing on the rocks and gannets diving non-stop through the day. We are also fortunate to have occasional basking sharks and dolphins visiting in the summer months and an array of birds-of-prey including eagles, peregrines, buzzards and more... Pladda Island sits directly across the sound with its recognisable lighthouse and ever changing silhouette playing host to a large colony of seagulls and gannets. And of course the famous Ailsa Craig, 'Paddy's Milestone', a bird sanctuary now but is renowned for its granite which is still used for curling stones today. The interior is fully refurbished, still maintaining some the quaint characteristics of old, while the tasteful addition of extended bistro and lounge area with floor to ceiling windows allow residents and diners to gaze for miles over a cup of tea, breakfast or an evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Kildonan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kildonan Hotel Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing