We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absoloute gem!”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2009

just returned from a three day break at this fabulous resort hidden away on th Isle of Arran,from the moment we got there the staff couldn`t do enough for us,the rooms were large and spaciousand the food in Cruize brasserie had one of the best menu choices we have seen for a large resort and the quality of food was way above the four star standard and the chef went out of his way to prepare food for my son who has eating dis-orders,

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingmommy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,690 - 3,696 of 3,792 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2009

Had a good time. Young man on reception was very informative and told us all we should know. rooms are of a good size although the bathroom is pokey. Handrail is in your way when trying to shower although the shower is very good.
Ate at Cruize twice and found the staff at the bar & restaraunt to be good as was the food.
Had a good Rib eye at Brambles but you must try the cheese its a must. We bought some to take home and its gone down a treat, would love to know if anyone stocks it in Edinburgh along with the arran oatcakes.
had a lovely massage which set me up for a nice night at the restaraunt.
Do try the walks around the hotel they are lovely and you may even meet Buttons the horse on your travels.. We ha a lovely couple of days staying at this hotel and would return again hopefully the weather would be a bit kinder though

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This hotel is first class - not only the hotel itself but the staff are so friendly, always anxious to please. The choice of three restaurants for meals was wonderful - the cuisine in the 1869 restaurant was well worthy of the hotel's high rating. The room was perfect and faced the beautiful mountains and spa hotel - pity we couldn't see the mountains for the rain! Not the hotel's fault. The pictures in the hotel corridors are well worth mentioning: very tasteful and some extremely humorous. All in all, a wonderful two-day break and one which will be repeated.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizandJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

The House Hotel is lovely and the rooms are nice although I have to say that my single room (19) was quite dull and overlooked the car park whereas my friends in room 20 had a gloriously bright room with lovely view. We had the package deal which included ferry and dinner allowance so dined at the hotel both nights. Brambles was nothing special but the fine dining of 1869 was lovely although we did book a table for 8pm and it was 9pm before we had our amuse bouche! We sat in the lounge for ages before being given menus (apparently there weren't enough) and when we did ask why it was all taking so long we were told 'everyone had come at once' which begged the question, why not stagger bookings. But the main problem was that, because we are friends, we shared things and it seems it's not possible to split the cost between two rooms. To solve this, I said I would pay for the drinks and let my friend pay for the starter, but of course the dinner allowance is only for food so my total fell short of the allowance which is only for food and not drinks. Sorting this out seemed incredibly difficult but was eventually done. Apart from that, it was a great stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Just returned from a very windy wet Arran but still managed to enjoy our stay thanks to the lovely surroundings of Auchrannie Resort, we stayed in the Spa hotel, bedrooms were very comfortable and nicely furnished, only disappointment was the tiny bathroom, more in keeping with a budget hotel, just can't abide shower curtains that stick to you!! Otherwise the decor throughout, especially in the main house is really lovely. We ate in Cruise the first night and the food was very nice, service was excellent and the lovely lounge area is very comfy. Fortunately for us therer were no children around so the atmosphere was very relaxing. Last night we ate in Brambles and I would definately return, excellent food, lovely atmosphere, even if it was monsoon conditions outside!! Only problem was getting from one building to the other without getting soaked! Would love to return in better weather as gardens are lovely and the outside terraces would be a real bonus . Didn't get a chance to eat in 1869 but will save that for the next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed at the lodges in March - they are amazing - beautifully decorated and maintained to a very high standard. The views are breath taking. Would highly recomend the whole resort to everybody - there is something for all ages! You would not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayrshirewilson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Stayed here recently ( April 09) for short two night break. Location is nice but you'll be lucky to get any view of the sea. We stayed at the spa but you can use facilities of both hotels which is good as the spa is not very good. It has a pool and a couple of steam rooms and thats it.
The rooms are big and clean and have nice toiletries. There is a fridge and i'd advise stocking up on your own water.
My main gripe is with the truly awful food. It is sub pup grup and at these prices I was expecting a lot better. We ate at 'Brambles' which is like stepping back 20 years in terms of decor. The menu is berefit of good seafood dishes which given Arran is an island is really inexcuseable. We had one of the two fish dishes and the cooking was poorly executed and unimaginitive. We also ate in the restuarent in the spa hotel which was like eating in travel lodge. My boyfriend had to send his pizza back twice and it was still undercooked and I ended up with one of the worst plates of pasta i've ever had. I wouldn't mind but at £165.00 per night this is terrible value for money.
The staff are nice but they are mostly under 20 and are clearly on their gap year holiday.
Wouldn't stay again - there are other places charging the same and doing much better.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kazza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2009

We would like to thank the customer for taking the time to provide feedback in relation to their stay with us at Auchrannie; in response I would like to clarify a few points:

1. we do not advertise or indeed offer sea views to guests, we do not view the sea. Therefore it wouldn’t just be “lucky” if you were to have a sea view it would in fact be a miracle.

2. guests receive 2 bottles of complementary water each day during their stay and are able to purchase additional water from any of our three bars or various vending machines. Also the tap water is safe to drink. There is no need to stock up, as even on Arran we are able to provide fresh water all year round.

3. Brambles has recently been refurbished to the highest standards; decor is contemporary and stylish, although we do appreciate that there may be the odd occasion when guests are unable to relate to this.

3. Our Brambles menu gives guests the choice of 12 different seafood options. Our full menu is available on the website and even those customers with the most basic understanding of seafood should be able to see that.

4. Being an Island does not necessarily mean an abundance of seafood and indeed parts of Arran coast form Britain’s first marine reserve whereby fishing is banned to promote the regeneration of marine life.

5. We are sorry that the customer felt that their food was poor value for money. During their short break we served over 800 other diners across our three restaurants and we are 100% confident that the experience described by this person is not in any way reflective of that experienced by the overwhelming majority of our customers.

6. Out of a staff of 130, less than 10% under the age of 20. However we do appreciate that when you reach a certain age everybody under 30 must look like they are straight out of school.

7. We are unable to identify any members of our staff as being on “gap years”.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
976 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
745 reviews
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,610 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $138 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing