We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel and well worthwhile visiting for a short break”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Superbly friendly helpful staff in an excellent hotel in a brilliant location. Brambles restaurant serves exellent food. We found the whole hotel to be well managed and the atmosphere excellent throughout

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kntken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,184 - 2,190 of 3,792 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have shared many family holidays in Arran over 47 years and Auchrannie hotel, lodges and spa have played a large part in the success of the holidays and the memories we have built up. From a couple with small children to grandparents escaping for a few days we have fallen head over heals in love with the island and the hotel complex. The views, activities and the people are just superb.

Room Tip: every room that we have stayed in is superb, although we prefer the spa rooms-a wee bit bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel on Sunday 1st December on a groupon deal. We travelled with another couple who were really impressed with the bus service pick from Brodick to the hotel.
This was our first time staying in the resort and we were not disappointed. Having visited the resort in April for a spa day, we were really looking forward to staying here.
All staff we came into contact were lovely and extremely helpful. Our room was spacious and comfortable, as was the whole surroundings.
We have booked our wedding here for July 2015, and we both cannot wait for the day to arrive as we know our family and friends will fall in love with the Auchrannie just as we have done.
Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleyc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Wow wow wow what a find!!!! We stayed in the house hotel and let me just say it was wonderful, it was a wee bit chilly but the staff were quick to provide a heater which transformed the cold room into a toasty one in no time at all. The room was very clean with quality linens and towels and all that you would expect from a 5star hotel. We ate at both cruize and brambles again both delicious and not too expensive. The staff are very attentive but not intrusive. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Debbielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We came here on hunnymoon and loved it from start to finish.

The staff are so friendly and extremely helpful.

They make your stay at the hotel seem more like living with a family than staying at a hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have arrived on the Island of Arran , on 25/11/13 for our honeymoon my wife and I were going to stay for the duration of the 4 nights. I have planned everything in advance without her knowing any details and I was pleased to see that the hotel was glad to deliver. They were great in almost every detail. The room was great and we received even a great fruit bowl on the first day. They really looked at every detail.
I had treatments planned as well for my wife and myself and again they were able to change some of them over and very happy to accommodate. Dinner's we had as usual at Brambles though I got to say the menu was very similar with just a couple of changes. Every time we come to Arran, Eigtheen 69 is closed for the winter we never get to try their menu maybe would be nice if they would combine the two restaurants menus together or offer more of a variety. Between fish dish, steak, burger, and a new addition fiery chicken kebab they didnt had much of a choice ,as for the desert it really leaves to be desired. The staff were again incredibly friendly in the restaurant as well.

Here came our last day, and we were stuck on the island as the ferry wasn't able to go due to a horrible storm. The reception staff really left us to wait till close to four o clock not calling the ferry company to find more information but rather waiting on them to contact the hotel. We waited and waited and than finally they seemed keen to give us our room back though at a major discount it still felt unusual they way they treated the whole affair. My wife and I were actually looking forward to leave on the 30th which is probably not a feeling that we should have had but we just couldnt help the feeling that money is really the main thing here. If you got tons of money to spend than you will be happy here they will want to take it off you but if you dont than people wont treat you as nicely.

We have already spent a lot of money on our honeymoon and it didnt matter as we wanted some memories which we did get.

Room Tip: if you are looking for romance and quiet and relaxation stay in the House Hotel. The Spa hotel is mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverius_maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Auchrannie on Thursday 28th Nov using a groupon voucher... we had a lovely evening and such a relaxing time.
On checking out the next morning we where informed that there was disruptions to the ferry service due to a storm.
The next ferry was cancelled but there would be another update at 11am. At this point with a lot guests sitting in the reception area someone asked the question about buying another groupon voucher and using it to stay another night. Within a split second the receptionist said that no groupon vouchers would be accepted and the cost of the room would be £120 bed and breakfast.

With around 30 guests spending most of the day within the hotel, (spending money) The hotel still wasn't interested in offering any discount on rooms if everyone was stuck on the island.
This went on all day until at 4.10pm when Calmac announced that all remaining sailings for the day would be cancelled.

At this point the hotel announced that they would reduce rooms to £89 bed and breakfast, I totally understand that ferry sailings being cancelled isn't the hotes fault but I feel the hotel should have procedures on place if it does happen as I'm sure it probably happens more than the once a year.

With the groupon voucher still being on I feel that the hotel could have done a little more for guests that where forced to stay another night. Even by matching the groupon deal or £10 more would have a great gesture by the hotel. Or maybe even a percentage off dinner or throwing breakfast in free of charge.

On sitting at reception all day, I witnessed first hand how much of a hard time the girls at reception were getting and realise there hands are tied.
With having no other option but to book in for another night's stay at 4.30pm and actually being tired from sitting about reception all day we played £89 plays what we paid for dinner and where asleep by 9pm. All that money for a bed to sleep on.

As I have said I realise it's not the hotels fault and at the end of they day they are a business bit I just feel they should have more in place to help guests when there are people stuck on the island through no fault of there own.

With where the hotel is and no doubt relying on guests returning and also word of mouth on how good the facilities are I think more could be done to look after guests who have already spent time in the hotel and then need a room for another night due to a cancelled ferry service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
782 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 3 in Brodick
975 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Portavadie Loch Fyne
Portavadie Loch Fyne
#1 of 1 in Portavadie
745 reviews
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,608 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $135 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing