We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm afraid my Auchrannie experience was disappointing.”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I'm afraid my Auchrannie experience was disappointing.”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from two nights at Auchrannie Spa resort. We decided to go as friends and family have raved about it many times and we decided to try it out for ourselves. My partner works in Africa, so after a long trip at sea, we were looking forward to a classy break in the expensive spa resort. However, upon arrival we were put in room 106, which was nice, but the decor was no nicer (yet way more expensive!) than a travel inn or premier inn! My partner and I then went for a bike ride and to the gym and on return I put the shower on before stepping inside. However, it was so slippy I fell hard and seriously hurt my left leg, right arm and left upper arm. I then tried to climb out of the shower and slipped again. I managed to get out, phoned reception who listened and then, after I requested an anit-slip mat, they brought one over. The receptionist didn't even ask me how I was as I sat at the table crying in pain. The manager then phoned and came over to the room to get me to fill in an accident form. He was again, very unsympathetic and as I sat there in shock, crying, sore and upset, all I was given was an ice pack. After calming down, my partner and I were late for our dinner resevation at Brambles and my partner spoke with the manager there who promised us complimentary wine. When we arrived late for dinner (as it took me a while to get dressed as I was in shock and pain) we were given our first drink free only. The food was lovely and the service was good, but unfortunately I wasn't the best company as I was still quite shaken up. We visited both spas, and they were nice, breakfast both mornings was lovely, but I've experienced a much higher level of customer service at much cheaper hotels and spas and for this reason I won't be rushing back. The room folder with all the information was disorganised and grubby, no menu was available for room service, no shampoo and conditioner was available in the bathroom, I couldn't find the hairdryer, the pillows were too soft and you could hear EVERYTHING through the walls and above the room. I'm actually a very easily pleased customer normally, but with my fall and lack of compassion from staff, I feel let down by Auchrannie and very sad I didn't have the experience others have had.

Room Tip: Sleep on the top floor. The noise from rooms above is terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliewooly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, General Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
We are sorry to hear that your experience at Auchrannie did not match that of the majority of our guests. We work hard to ensure that every guest experience is perfect, however it would appear that on this occasion we fell short of that.

Slipping in the bath/shower was an unfortunate accident, and we can assure you that our baths are all non-slip. At the time of your accident, you were offered not only an ice pack, but we also offered first aid, and to be taken to hospital to get it checked over. As we mentioned at the time, as per Health & Safety legislation, we could not dispense any type of medication, however could allow you to purchase pain killers from our shop.

We understand that you were able to make use of the gym and swimming pool during your stay, and we hope that you were not in too much discomfort.

Because we were disappointed to hear that you would “not be rushing back to Auchrannie”, as a gesture of goodwill we have offered you an Auchrannie Voucher, which we believe you are keen to use in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    311
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
850
753
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We've just returned from a fantastic few days away on Arran, which is always special but the icing on the cake this time, was staying at Auchrannie - if you haven't, then you should. Great accomodation, great food and the whole Arran Adventure on your door-step. Thank You

Room Tip: View facing goat fell
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

we are currently staying in one of the executive lodges at the Auchrannie at close to £4k for two weeks you'd expect it to be good...

There are posters dotted about asking you to review the hotel on trip advisor....; so since we are over halfway through our stay and nobody has asked if everything is well here goes......

1. There is a ramp style entrance to the lodge, there is no railing so be careful with pushchairs etc. One of the paving stones on our ramp was broken and not fixed it slid away under one of my crutches.

The wifi is intermittant and slow but since it is unsecured i imagine we are not the only people using it.

The lodge looks beautiful but some how the temperature doesnt work the velux windows have to be open nearly all the time.

In the two largest bedrooms there is no window. So cooling is only possible by opening the patio doors - not good when there are children sleeping.

The double bed mattress in our lodge is very hard and the springs can be felt (sore ribs each morning)

There is a strong smell of septic tank coming from the main bathroom. Can be alleviated by leaving the fan on.

The shared family swimming pool is also a community resource and can become very crowded. Doesn't bode well if more lodges are to be built.

Cruize restaurant - can't even be bothered to describe experience.

Overall a pretty nice place but not as fine as it likes to pretend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RS_General_Manager, General Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that your experience at Auchrannie did not meet with your expectations, and that it did not match the experience of the vast majority of our Country Club rental guests and Timeshare owners.
As we prefer to deal with the relatively few guest issues at the time that they occur, our Country Club Manager telephoned you as soon as we became aware of your complaints and offered to visit the Lodge with our Maintenance Manager. However, as you did not wish to be disturbed during your stay, you refused our offer. Had you allowed us access, we may have been able to address some or all of your issues at the time of your holiday. We were however, able to fix the loose paving slab on the same afternoon.
It is always disappointing to hear that guests have encountered problems, but it is more frustrating when we are not given the opportunity to rectify them. We do hope that your experience has not deterred you from visiting Auchrannie in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

After a novelty boat trip across the Firth of Clyde you are picked up in a courtesy bus and taken to a location amongst the beautiful mountains of Arran..If you havent been to this island it is often described as "Scotland in Minature" and it is not wrong. Very secluded. Rooms are more than adequate. Loads of space, comfortable beds. Leisure facilities beyond the norm. Very large swimming pool for a hotel with relaxation chairs scattered around. You can have a coffee as a spectator at the pool cafe ! Food was very good and reasonably priced for such an establishment. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lifts for elderly and disabled and a nice wee shop for all thos things you tend to forget and gifts to take home for yourself or others. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomp246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thanks for the great review! We're glad you found the rooms spacious and the leisure facilities 'beyond the norm', and I'll pass on your comments about the helpful and friendly staff.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just got back from a week on Arran staying at Auchrannie Spa resort with the family. The kids loved it with the new addition of the play barn keeping them busy and entertained when the weather turned a bit wet (1 day out of 7 so shouldn't complain). great relaxing break with loads of golf and walks available. Take midge repelant as you are likely to need it especialy on a hot evening. A couple of issues at Auchrannie 1.The heat in the rooms, we had a family room with 2 kids with us and it was extremely uncomfortable during the night. If you slept with the window open you were risking overnight bites from the resident midges (we ended up asking for a fan which we had running all night). 2. Keep an eye on your bill at the bar. We were overcharged a couple of times when buying rounds of drinks so worth keeping an eye on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etranger a paris
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our stay was great: the facilities are extensive, the restaurant good, the staff very friendly and helpful. A great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliasGG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarbert
Level Contributor
207 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

back at Auchrannie on a short golfing trip with a friand ,stayed in the house hotel ,and atmosphere and customer service still top class.rooms refurbished since my last visit .ate in brambles restaurant both nights steak was superb.special mention also for the smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast.chilled out venue well worth a visit

Room Tip: our room was slightly noisy due to pool below but hotel gave us a second room to alleviate this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Property: Auchrannie Resort
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, LateRooms, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing