We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thoroughly enjoyed”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband and I were travelling to Arran for a wedding. Since we were enjoying a child-free weekend we fancied some comfortable surroundings and we were not disappointed. I enjoyed some great treatments on site. We slept like Kings. The rooms were very comfortable and, other than a slight leak in the bathroom, in very good condition. We tested 2 of the 3 restaurants on site. These were both of very high standard. Especially the incredibly fresh "scampi and chips" at Brambles. We were keen to try the pool at the Country House hotel (which seemed quieter and more soothing for our hangover) on the Sunday but this appeared temporarily closed, which was a little disappointing, to be honest. Only other gripe was that the Cruize bar seemed low on bar snack stock. We missed the lunch slot on Sunday and suffered a little whilst waiting for the kitchens to reopen. To conclude, the staff were all very keen and eager. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,050 - 2,056 of 2,208 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Spent most enjoyable and relaxing 2 nights at Auchrannie. Service was very good in general and in particular at Brambles where we dined both nights- wait staff were excellent-( cheerful, warm and funny)- as was the food (simply delicious). Had good breakfasts at Cruize and one lunch there, but food not as good as Brambles. Our room on the ground floor had a lovely view toward Goatfell and was quite spacious and was very clean. There were the sounds of people running around at night in the room above us as we tried to sleep which was not so good, but it didn't happen the second night after we mentioned it to reception. We used both pools at Auchrannie- the one in the spa resort got pretty crowded, so next time we went to the hotel pool which was nearly empty. The hotel pool is much deeper than the spa resort pool, so if you have young children it may not be so good for them. Both pools were very clean. We also hired an indoor tennis court and had a lot of fun with a bit of hit and giggle.
Arran itself is a very beautiful place. We visited Lamlash which on the day we went was bathed in sunlight and was so pretty. We had lunch at a pub there, the name I sadly can't remember but the food was very good and the locals so friendly- they helped my husband work out where some of his family had lived on the island and knew of them.My husband offered to buy them a beer as thanks but they wouldn't hear of it and wished us a great trip. We then though we could drive around the island but as we went further unto the hills a fog descended and made things a bit tricky on the narrow roads- and it is much further than you think! We gave up on the idea and returned to Lamlash. Brodick Castle is lovely and is staffed by incredibly friendly and knowledgeable guides who were happy to chat and share their experiences. Also a very nice gift shop at the castle too. Brodick is a pretty town also with lovely gift shops.
If you have time and depending on which ferry you are catching from Ardrossan, there is a very good Italian restaurant just near the ferry terminal, called I think, Cechinni's. Great food and service.
We really enjoyed Auchrannie and Arran and would recommend both!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threepossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I had a three night stay here as a birthday surprise. This was our first time at staying at this hotel. We had previously stayed on Arran on many occasions but it was about 8 years since our last visit. The hotel was used as base for sightseeing and re-visiting our many favourite places. The hotel offered a package which included the ferry crossings to the isle of Arran as well as dinner, bed and breakfast with the option of dining in other restaurants in the original hotel as an alternative to the cruize restaurant in the spa resort. We chose to dine in the the "Brambles" and "1869" restaurants which were situated in the nearby hotel and found them both to be excellent.
The check-in was excellent and our 3rd floor room was very spacious and comfortable overlooking the frontage of the spa hotel. A large well stocked shop was situated within the spa hotel. An injury sustained just before our trip meant that the swimming pool and gym could not be used but these seemed to be very well appointed for those who chose to use them. The weather during our stay was perfect and our visit here was totally relaxing and enjoyable.
A return visit seems to be a certainty!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_and_Kay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Spa resort modern and nice to have pool, gym, dining area and bar all in close proximity. Cruize restaurant very family friendly. Downsides - pillows like half filled sandbags and overall cost is expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

A group of friends and myself came here between 20-24 May for my hen party and had an absolute ball! The weather was horrendous but due to how fabulous and well equipt the lodges were, we still managed to have a great time... On Friday we arrived and had spa treatments and relaxed in the pool/sauna/steamroom, followed by a meal at the cruise restaurant (delicious!). On Saturday we stayed in because it poured of rain. However this did not spoil our fun! We ended up having a party in one of the lodges... Plenty of room even for 22 hens! The living space is stunning with open plan living/dinning room... The staff at Auchrannie made sure all our shopping ( and alcohol) was delivered to our lodges before we arrived on Friday! Now that's what I call service! The lodges were definately 5 star with 3 bedrooms, 2 with ensuite, a further bathroom/shower room in hallway... We all brought toiletries/ washing liquid, kitchen cleaner ect... However there was no need!.. The lodges were equipt with everything you need even down to washing powder/dishwasher tablets!... Each bathroom was filled with Arran aromatics toiletries which was a nice touch too. Towels supplied for both lodges and fir use at the spa! I would also like to thank the kindness of the staff as on our last day we got stranded on the island due to bad weather. Auchrannie let us keep a lodge at a much reduced rate due to the inconvenience... Most places would have taken advantage of our situation and would have charged full price or even more... Had great fun but also a very relaxing hen do due to the comfort of the lodges.., I would definatley stay again.., infact we are thinking of making it an annual event. If you have your lodge filled to capacity (8 people) it is well worth the money... It worked out at £110 each for 3 nights... It would cost you more to stay at a 5 star hotel for 1 night, without the
comfort of staying at home. Best place I have ever stayed! Thanks again fir making my hen party a weekend Ill never forget!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubbylou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

A super week-end had by all, by the sound of it! I'll certainly pass on your positive comment to the Country Club Team.
We hope your wedding was as enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again in May 2012 (or before, if you can't wait!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at the Auchrannie Luxury Lodges last weekend with a hen party and I couldn't recommend the hotel,the staff, the customer service and the facilites enough! I've been raving about Auchrannie to anyone who will listen to me!

I have been to Brodick a few times before and was never really impressed with the place but my experience at Auchrannie has changed all that!

We used the spa facilities on the Friday - which were excellent and my massage was fantastic. we also ate at two of the restaurants: Cruise and Brambles and all the food was excellent and really good value for money. Hats off to the chefs!

The lodges themselves were 5*! From the free wifi to the ipod dock and sound system throughout the lodge, and the interiors and the fully equiped kitchen with everythign you would ever need!

We were onyl meant to be staying from the Friday to the Monday but due to adverse weather conditions all the ferries were cancelled on the Monday and so we had to stay an extra night. The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating (particularly Alix and her mum at reception!). They went out of their way to keep us updated on the ferry situation and allowed to stay in the lodge and a reduced rate. Even despite a power cut on the Monday - again they were on top of it and handed out candles to all the lodges and kept us updated of when the power was likely to come back on. Luckily the lodges have the Arrna edition of Monopoly to keep us entertained!

All in all the whole hen party had an excellent weekend and I would recommend the lodges for groups of girls to go away for the weekend or couples.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay at Auchrannie Spa. We had a lovely big room on the ground floor and during our stay the staff were helpful and friendly. We dined in both Cruize and Brambles restaurants and the food was excellent although a little pricey. The waiters could have cleared away dirty plates a lot faster to make the dining experience more pleasant. Overall though we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Watch the newspapers for deals including ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
955 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,543 reviews
4.7 mi away
Corrie Hotel
Corrie Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corrie
185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range: $142 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing