We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay on beautiful Arran”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay on beautiful Arran”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Spent most enjoyable and relaxing 2 nights at Auchrannie. Service was very good in general and in particular at Brambles where we dined both nights- wait staff were excellent-( cheerful, warm and funny)- as was the food (simply delicious). Had good breakfasts at Cruize and one lunch there, but food not as good as Brambles. Our room on the ground floor had a lovely view toward Goatfell and was quite spacious and was very clean. There were the sounds of people running around at night in the room above us as we tried to sleep which was not so good, but it didn't happen the second night after we mentioned it to reception. We used both pools at Auchrannie- the one in the spa resort got pretty crowded, so next time we went to the hotel pool which was nearly empty. The hotel pool is much deeper than the spa resort pool, so if you have young children it may not be so good for them. Both pools were very clean. We also hired an indoor tennis court and had a lot of fun with a bit of hit and giggle.
Arran itself is a very beautiful place. We visited Lamlash which on the day we went was bathed in sunlight and was so pretty. We had lunch at a pub there, the name I sadly can't remember but the food was very good and the locals so friendly- they helped my husband work out where some of his family had lived on the island and knew of them.My husband offered to buy them a beer as thanks but they wouldn't hear of it and wished us a great trip. We then though we could drive around the island but as we went further unto the hills a fog descended and made things a bit tricky on the narrow roads- and it is much further than you think! We gave up on the idea and returned to Lamlash. Brodick Castle is lovely and is staffed by incredibly friendly and knowledgeable guides who were happy to chat and share their experiences. Also a very nice gift shop at the castle too. Brodick is a pretty town also with lovely gift shops.
If you have time and depending on which ferry you are catching from Ardrossan, there is a very good Italian restaurant just near the ferry terminal, called I think, Cechinni's. Great food and service.
We really enjoyed Auchrannie and Arran and would recommend both!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threepossums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,623
    309
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
843
742
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I had a three night stay here as a birthday surprise. This was our first time at staying at this hotel. We had previously stayed on Arran on many occasions but it was about 8 years since our last visit. The hotel was used as base for sightseeing and re-visiting our many favourite places. The hotel offered a package which included the ferry crossings to the isle of Arran as well as dinner, bed and breakfast with the option of dining in other restaurants in the original hotel as an alternative to the cruize restaurant in the spa resort. We chose to dine in the the "Brambles" and "1869" restaurants which were situated in the nearby hotel and found them both to be excellent.
The check-in was excellent and our 3rd floor room was very spacious and comfortable overlooking the frontage of the spa hotel. A large well stocked shop was situated within the spa hotel. An injury sustained just before our trip meant that the swimming pool and gym could not be used but these seemed to be very well appointed for those who chose to use them. The weather during our stay was perfect and our visit here was totally relaxing and enjoyable.
A return visit seems to be a certainty!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_and_Kay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Spa resort modern and nice to have pool, gym, dining area and bar all in close proximity. Cruize restaurant very family friendly. Downsides - pillows like half filled sandbags and overall cost is expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

A group of friends and myself came here between 20-24 May for my hen party and had an absolute ball! The weather was horrendous but due to how fabulous and well equipt the lodges were, we still managed to have a great time... On Friday we arrived and had spa treatments and relaxed in the pool/sauna/steamroom, followed by a meal at the cruise restaurant (delicious!). On Saturday we stayed in because it poured of rain. However this did not spoil our fun! We ended up having a party in one of the lodges... Plenty of room even for 22 hens! The living space is stunning with open plan living/dinning room... The staff at Auchrannie made sure all our shopping ( and alcohol) was delivered to our lodges before we arrived on Friday! Now that's what I call service! The lodges were definately 5 star with 3 bedrooms, 2 with ensuite, a further bathroom/shower room in hallway... We all brought toiletries/ washing liquid, kitchen cleaner ect... However there was no need!.. The lodges were equipt with everything you need even down to washing powder/dishwasher tablets!... Each bathroom was filled with Arran aromatics toiletries which was a nice touch too. Towels supplied for both lodges and fir use at the spa! I would also like to thank the kindness of the staff as on our last day we got stranded on the island due to bad weather. Auchrannie let us keep a lodge at a much reduced rate due to the inconvenience... Most places would have taken advantage of our situation and would have charged full price or even more... Had great fun but also a very relaxing hen do due to the comfort of the lodges.., I would definatley stay again.., infact we are thinking of making it an annual event. If you have your lodge filled to capacity (8 people) it is well worth the money... It worked out at £110 each for 3 nights... It would cost you more to stay at a 5 star hotel for 1 night, without the
comfort of staying at home. Best place I have ever stayed! Thanks again fir making my hen party a weekend Ill never forget!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubbylou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
A super week-end had by all, by the sound of it! I'll certainly pass on your positive comment to the Country Club Team.
We hope your wedding was as enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again in May 2012 (or before, if you can't wait!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at the Auchrannie Luxury Lodges last weekend with a hen party and I couldn't recommend the hotel,the staff, the customer service and the facilites enough! I've been raving about Auchrannie to anyone who will listen to me!

I have been to Brodick a few times before and was never really impressed with the place but my experience at Auchrannie has changed all that!

We used the spa facilities on the Friday - which were excellent and my massage was fantastic. we also ate at two of the restaurants: Cruise and Brambles and all the food was excellent and really good value for money. Hats off to the chefs!

The lodges themselves were 5*! From the free wifi to the ipod dock and sound system throughout the lodge, and the interiors and the fully equiped kitchen with everythign you would ever need!

We were onyl meant to be staying from the Friday to the Monday but due to adverse weather conditions all the ferries were cancelled on the Monday and so we had to stay an extra night. The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating (particularly Alix and her mum at reception!). They went out of their way to keep us updated on the ferry situation and allowed to stay in the lodge and a reduced rate. Even despite a power cut on the Monday - again they were on top of it and handed out candles to all the lodges and kept us updated of when the power was likely to come back on. Luckily the lodges have the Arrna edition of Monopoly to keep us entertained!

All in all the whole hen party had an excellent weekend and I would recommend the lodges for groups of girls to go away for the weekend or couples.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay at Auchrannie Spa. We had a lovely big room on the ground floor and during our stay the staff were helpful and friendly. We dined in both Cruize and Brambles restaurants and the food was excellent although a little pricey. The waiters could have cleared away dirty plates a lot faster to make the dining experience more pleasant. Overall though we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Watch the newspapers for deals including ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pisa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I feel like the odd one out here! Stayed at Auchrannie with my partner over 5 years ago and absolutely loved the hotel, service and location! 5 years on I booked Auchrannie to celebrate my wife's 50th. Having had no joy in negotiating a better rate I booked two nights at £178 p.n.and got a ground floor room next to the lifts round the corner from reception.
My main complaint about the Spa Resort Hotel is the Cruize Brasserie, both mornings we arrived mid breakfast rush and had to continually prompt staff to replenish hot foods and cold meats. In the evening the much anticipated Arran Blonde ale (the local brew) was out of stock! Incredibly it was still out of stock the following night, crazy when the local shops were stocking it and the actual brewery is on the island. The kids ordered pizza (as in a pizza) expecting to get just that but got 2 meagre slices which at over £5 a meal we felt was very poor and a tad misleading.
That night after being told that a wine my wife had ordered was also out of stock, our waiter confided his frustration at the lack of communication between the kitchen and front of house staff.
We returned to our ground floor room on the Saturday afternoon to find the room only very partially cleaned with the ground floor window wide open The manager gave us a sort of apology and then then tried to defend the chambermaid.
I suspect my poor review is based on a fantastic stay at this hotel years earlier measured against this stay. Perhaps the hotel was busy the weekend we stayed and we were unlucky in our room allocation and food orders but if the Auchrannie is to maintain its high standard then the aim of the hotel should be to ensure every guest receives a good experience that is value for money and on this occasion we felt the hotel came up short and I regret booking this hotel.
One last point to the hotel reservations desk; if you insist that the best room rate for that period is £178 per night don't then slip a letter under the guests door on their last night inviting them to stay another night for just £49. I'd have loved to have stayed 3 nights instead of just 2 but was told when booking that it was £178 regardless.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Auchrannie.

We do take our guest comments and complaints seriously, and as you will be aware, we have contacted you directly to apologise that some aspects of your stay were not up to our usual high standards. Management and staff are made aware of problems in order to improve the experience for future guests.

With regard to the room rate, like most hotels our rates are unfortunately at their highest when demand is at its peak – usually weekends and holidays. If we do get some very quiet nights we offer guests on site a low rate to encourage them to stay on another night. It’s only offered to existing guests so is not available to book online or over the phone.

I do hope that you will return to Auchrannie in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
875 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
708 reviews
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Property: Auchrannie Resort
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, Expedia, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing