We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Break”
Review of Auchrannie Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auchrannie Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing Break”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay at Auchrannie Spa. We had a lovely big room on the ground floor and during our stay the staff were helpful and friendly. We dined in both Cruize and Brambles restaurants and the food was excellent although a little pricey. The waiters could have cleared away dirty plates a lot faster to make the dining experience more pleasant. Overall though we enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Watch the newspapers for deals including ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    322
    97
    29
    18
See reviews for
871
775
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pisa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I feel like the odd one out here! Stayed at Auchrannie with my partner over 5 years ago and absolutely loved the hotel, service and location! 5 years on I booked Auchrannie to celebrate my wife's 50th. Having had no joy in negotiating a better rate I booked two nights at £178 p.n.and got a ground floor room next to the lifts round the corner from reception.
My main complaint about the Spa Resort Hotel is the Cruize Brasserie, both mornings we arrived mid breakfast rush and had to continually prompt staff to replenish hot foods and cold meats. In the evening the much anticipated Arran Blonde ale (the local brew) was out of stock! Incredibly it was still out of stock the following night, crazy when the local shops were stocking it and the actual brewery is on the island. The kids ordered pizza (as in a pizza) expecting to get just that but got 2 meagre slices which at over £5 a meal we felt was very poor and a tad misleading.
That night after being told that a wine my wife had ordered was also out of stock, our waiter confided his frustration at the lack of communication between the kitchen and front of house staff.
We returned to our ground floor room on the Saturday afternoon to find the room only very partially cleaned with the ground floor window wide open The manager gave us a sort of apology and then then tried to defend the chambermaid.
I suspect my poor review is based on a fantastic stay at this hotel years earlier measured against this stay. Perhaps the hotel was busy the weekend we stayed and we were unlucky in our room allocation and food orders but if the Auchrannie is to maintain its high standard then the aim of the hotel should be to ensure every guest receives a good experience that is value for money and on this occasion we felt the hotel came up short and I regret booking this hotel.
One last point to the hotel reservations desk; if you insist that the best room rate for that period is £178 per night don't then slip a letter under the guests door on their last night inviting them to stay another night for just £49. I'd have loved to have stayed 3 nights instead of just 2 but was told when booking that it was £178 regardless.

Room Tip: Ask when booking for a front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Auchrannie.

We do take our guest comments and complaints seriously, and as you will be aware, we have contacted you directly to apologise that some aspects of your stay were not up to our usual high standards. Management and staff are made aware of problems in order to improve the experience for future guests.

With regard to the room rate, like most hotels our rates are unfortunately at their highest when demand is at its peak – usually weekends and holidays. If we do get some very quiet nights we offer guests on site a low rate to encourage them to stay on another night. It’s only offered to existing guests so is not available to book online or over the phone.

I do hope that you will return to Auchrannie in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days last week and we cannot fault anything about the hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive and couldnt do enough to help. Especially when we had to change rooms due to the first room being recently painted - pregnancy has sent my sense of smell loopy! The staff were extremely good and we were offered another room with no questions asked.

The brasserie was a lovely place just to have a drink, especially since it was so quiet when we were staying. We also ate dinner there on the first night, can thoroughly recommend the sharing platter, it was fab! Breakfast was also served there and was lovely and plenty to chose from.

On the second night we ate in Brambles and this was also a really nice restaurant.

Pool facilities in the spa resort were lovely.

We got a really good deal which included DBB which made the stay really affordable!

Cant wait to go back next year.

Not attached to the hotel, but Coast in Whiting Bay is lovely for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

To celebrate our first wedding anniversary, my wife and I booked a short break at the Auchrannie Spa Resort. This is the more contemporary alternative to the Auchrannie House Hotel about 200 yards away. They are run by the same company with the same branding but are separate entities.

Our first impressions of the Auchrannie staff were from their website which we used to book and communication before we travelled to pre-book spa treatments, pick up from the ferry terminal and an additional night. We were impressed with their professionalism from the start and went with high hopes.

Upon arrival in Brodick we were met by the minibus which was immaculately clean and the driver loaded our case for us. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the ferry and the drive only took a few minutes.

Check in was smooth and we were told all we needed to know. We were given cards which you use to charge any food or drink to your room's account which means you don't need to carry cash around or worry about paying as you go.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, looking over the back of the building. We found the room to be quite spacious, even with a large sofa, 2 large tub chairs and a table. The bed was a good size double, but they could easily fit kingsize as standard in those rooms. The bathroom was a good size and spotlessly clean. The shower was operated from the bath taps and the head affixed to the wall at a good height, so up to about 6'4" could fit under it. The water was always as hot as you wanted and had good pressure. The only gripe about the bathroom was that there was very little space for toileteries on the vanity unit and very little around the bath.

Our package included "a glass of fizz" on arrival, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of prusecco on ice and two glasses waiting for us. Our other gift the "Arran Aromatics" gift set wasn't there but reception were happy to give us that later on.

The room had a good size desk/dressing table, plenty of wardrobe space with at least 10 clothes hangers, iron and ironing board.

Other features in the room include a new flat screen TV (standard uk freeview channels), stereo system, kettle which was well stocked with various tea/coffee. There were plenty of power points around the room to plug gadgets into, and free wi-fi connection.

There was no safe, but Arran is virtually crime free and in a reasonably upmarket hotel like this we felt perfectly comfortable leaving our valuables in the room. Even though that is the case, a safe should be standard in a hotel in my opinion.

We ate dinner in the Brambles restaurant on our first night and Cruize restaurant on our second night. I will be putting reviews on for both shortly. Breakfast was also served at Cruize and this was a combination of continental buffet and cooked-to-order hot breakfast (due to low occupancy). The food being cooked to order was better than lying under a hot light on a buffet tray anyway, and you didn't notice the wait if you were having a bowl of cereal or toast before the cooked breakfast. The cooked breakfast was well presented and tasty.

The serving staff, like reception, were attentive and efficient and very friendly both at breakfast and dinner.

We had some spa treatments during our time at Auchrannie which were a great way to relax. And they have treatments which are specifically for men, and the female staff in the spa are very professional in that respect, and I felt totally at ease.

The leisure facilities are usually included in hotel rates. There is a good size pool, sauna, steam room, footbaths, and "feature showers". There is a fitness suite but we did not use that so cannot comment on how good the machines there are.

All in all we enjoyed our 2 night stay. The prices for accomodation, spa treatments and food and drink in both parts of the hotel are probably about average for hotels of similar standard. I would say it is reasonable value for money and being so high, it ensures a reasonable standard of clientele. The hotel has a good atmosphere which I could describe as relaxed but professional, with a good sense of humour. This humour manifested itself in things like the branding of the hotel for instance. The "beware" slogan, warning you that Auchrannie is addictive and information material stating you might get a dose of "Arranitis" the highly contagious disease that makes you feel great and puts a smile on your face (or words to that effect). Another example would be one of the "feature showers" in the pool area, but I will leave that for you to discover.

The staff were always efficient, friendly, attentive, helpful and well turned out in all areas of the hotel.

The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout.

Our only complaints were that there was no air conditioning in the room or extractor fan from the bathroom. Even Scotland in May can get stuffy and Aircon is always nice just to take the edge off things. The other minor annoyance was the Spa Hotel's bin space being right behind our room, and the sound of four giant wheely bins being emptied at 8.30am and clunking back to the ground was a rude awakening. Perhaps we wouldn't have heard it if the window was closed, but if there was air conditioning we wouldn't have had the window open!!

Room Tip: Watch for inclusive deals on the hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Lodge was extremely comfortable and well equipped. Newly finished so all very modern and tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caja2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We are just back from a weekend here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the spa hotel, the room was lovely, fantastic breakfasts, great bars and a good choice of restaurants. We ate in Cruize and Brambles and the food was lovely in both. My only criticism would be that the walls and floors are so thin you can here EVERYTHING going on above and around you. It appeared we had a baby elephant in the room above us who walked around constantly even in the middle of the night! However, we tried not to let this detract from what otherwise was a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArranMan, Manager at Auchrannie Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Many thanks for your positive comments on your stay at Auchrannie.

We take all our guests' comments seriously, and we are looking into the 'sound' issue which a few of our guests have experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I found my stay here very relaxing and enjoyable - however there were a good few dirty marks on the towels and a male member of staff came into my room without knocking when I could have been getting changed!!! Also the beds arent very comfy either, ended up with a sore neck and the walls are paper thin! Other than that the staff were friendly and the treatments were great - a few surprises of hidden charges at the end though which soured the end of the stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chezril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.8 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
564 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,516 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
401 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Lagg Hotel
The Lagg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmory
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchrannie Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchrannie Resort

Property: Auchrannie Resort
Address: Auchrannie Road, Brodick KA27 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auchrannie Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the beautiful isle of Arran lies the multi-award winning, family owned Auchrannie Resort. Auchrannie now consists of two four star hotels; the romantic and relaxing ‘House Hotel’ catering for couples and those wanting a more intimate experience whilst the contemporary ‘Spa Resort’ is popular with families and those prefer a more modern feel to their surroundings. In addition, the resort features 30 five-star self-catering lodges (sleeping up to 8 in total luxury and therefore perfect for the extended family), 3 outstanding, award winning restaurants and bars, 2 leisure centres both with pools, destination spa featuring treatments by ESPA and Ishga and an outdoor adventure centre. Arran is Scotland’s most accessible islands, often referred to as "Scotland in Miniature” due to the dramatic contrast between the hills and mountains in the north, and sweeping moorlands on the south of the island. A short 55 minute ferry journey off the Ayrshire coast, Arran is easily reachable by those arriving into any of central Scotland’s main airports as well as those travelling by car, train and coach. Whilst many tourists arrive on the island simply to kick back and relax, the island is packed with attractions and sights for visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auchrannie Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auchrannie Hotel Brodick
Auchrannie Resort Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing