We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly service and wonderful food!”
Review of Ormidale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ormidale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly service and wonderful food!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

You can't get better than the Ormidale for a family run bed and breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and very reasonably priced, and the pub grub is fantastic. The atmosphere in the pub at night is relaxed and informal - just what you need after a day out and about. I've been back many times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Flapper46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    72
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
66
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Always a lovely welcome from Tommy who enquires after your day, making you feel at home. He is a real "mine host". Great no nonsense plentiful food with an extensive choice. Open fire, just what you need after a hard day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just popped in for a bar meal and a drink and took part in the pub quiz. Great local beer (Arran Blonde) and whiskies (Anna Robert Burns and 10 YO single malts). Very friendly staff, great atmosphere - the place was packed for the quiz. Food filling - not fancy but all you need after a long walk in bracing Arran weather. Will definitely return if I can.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank DBMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just home from this hotel this morning had a great holiday here! Room was nice & clean with a great view over the sports fields & water. First night we had dinner in Hotel, food was great especially the soup, was too full for a dessert! Portions were more than enough.
Staff were really nice & made us feel very wellcome. Breakfast were fab & set us up for the day.

Will deffinately be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank claire12773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Many thanks to Tommy and the rest of the staff at the Ormidale - couldn't believe after frequenting the island and the 'Dale' for soooooooo many years that i was lucky enough to stay at the Ormidale. Tommy is knowledge of local information and is as hospitable as anyone could possibly be. The accomodation was excellent with a real island ethos - what a real island retreat should be!!! The hotel was clean and the food of excellent quality. Unfortunately we had to get an early boat so we were unable to thank Tommy for his hospitality but our last vision of Tommy was of him roller-blading through Brodick the night before we left - this thought will remain with us until the next visit - What a guy! Many many thanks to Tommy and the rest of the staff. Best wishes for the rest of the season. Gail x

Room Tip: Although there are lots going on in the hotel until the 'wee small hours' the noise from bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gaoth288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Ormindale is now being managed by an enthusiastic and friendly couple and I was pleasantly surprised at the improvement of the bar food.There is a regular menu and daily specials.I decided that,as there was a small number of specials,they would probably be fresh-and I was correct.The chicken fillet I had was served with a tasty home made sauce,fresh veg and potatoes.The cost was £9.40,very reasonable,particularly for Arran.In addition,the atmosphere in the bar is relaxed and friendly with an excellent selection of malts and Arran Beer.There are two good quiz nights-pop on a Tuesday and General Knowledge on a Thursday- both overseen by the inimitable Tommy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geo870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Very clean and well appointed and a beautiful view! The service on arrival was fantastic, we're two heafy girls but it's still nice to have your bag wreastled off you and carried up the stairs.
My friend and I booked the family room as it was the last room left and we were chuffed to bits, an absolute bargain. A very spacious room with an amazing view over the bay, Castle and mountains. with a double bed, wardrobe, TV, Chest of drawers and bunk beds, everything we could expect and a nice big bathroom. Breakfast was great, both days, at a relaxed time and although we were a bit fussy about what we wanted to eat we got exactly what we wanted perfectly cooked, with extra good poached eggs and at a very reasonable rate.
this is a very busy pub so don't expect it to be quiet at night, however the owners warned us of this when we booked and to be fair, by the time we got to bed it was as silent as the grave.
The pub is lively and always busy, we met lots of interesting people and had the best weekend, we were invited to a dance and had a fair fling in the hotel disco.
We were in a hurry to book out as one of us had to catch the ferry, check out was fast and efficient despite being during breakfast. I can't fault the service. Brilliant.
Thank you Hotel Ormidale, you made our weekend very memorable. x

Room Tip: If you want to see arran at it's best and meet the friendly locals, this is a pleasant and frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
894 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Glenartney
The Glenartney
#2 of 16 in Brodick
304 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormidale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormidale Hotel

Property: Ormidale Hotel
Address: Brodick KA27 8BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ormidale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ormidale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ormidale Hotel Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing