We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable guest house well equipped for walkers & cyclists”
Review of The Glenartney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glenartney
Ranked #2 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfortable guest house well equipped for walkers & cyclists”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Nice lounge with excellent collection of walking/climbing books.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeds001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    63
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
183
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

A fantastic B&B in a great location (you can walk here from the ferry terminal at Brodick). A great base for exploring Arran, walking, cycling or just enjoying the retaurants nearby. Lovely room and lounge/garden areas good too. Local info is supplied and we were given a warm welcome. Breakfast was lovely and our dog was even offered a sausage so he didn't feel left out! A great dog-friendly place - they give you biscuits, a towel, poo bags and info on where to walk your pooch - nice touches.
Price was reasonable and overall a relaxed feel to the place - we'll hopefully return soon. We found out about The Glenartney in 'Scotland Outdoors' magazine and we're so glad we did!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Nice, modern and fresh B &B beats any other I have stayed in before. Bathroom was immaculate, bedroom clean and adequate. , Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. secure bike storage also available. Would truely recommend it and would certainly stay there again..

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicajonesYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opende
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Very nice B&B, we had a nice room with a lovely view overlooking Brodick and the bay. The room was comfortable, the beds were also very good, which doesn't happen a lot with B&B's in the UK, as we are used to feel some springs in our backs the last years. The breakfast was great with loads of things to chose from. There is a possibility of getting drinks as well as the B&B has a licence,
Situated on a quiet part of the village, parking is easy and safe.
Very good B&B, should be set as an example.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kortessem
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Hello,
Me and by brother were staying in glenartney last week, during a whisky--trip true scotland. We had a real good time, veryyyyy friendly welcome, nice and clean room, bathroom also very good. We had a fantastic vieuw of the wather from our room!! In the evening we had a good time in the lounge with some Amercian golf-players, very cosy and handy bar :-) We took a fast brakfast becauwe we had to leave early, eveything well organised !!
When we return in 2 years to scotland we will visit this b&b again!
thankssss!!
Knapen Pieter and Joris
Belgium

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Although I only stayed one night, I found the Glenartney to be ideal. We received a very friendly welcome and the rooms, bathroom etc. were very comfortable and very clean. I only had one meal, breakfast, but this was excellent, not one spot of grease/oil on plate. The charges were very reasonable, even in high season, I would strongly recommend for anyone planning a stay on the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delft
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The Glenartney is a small-scale hotel with very friendly owners and staff. It is located in Brodick, which is, in my opinion, the most convenient place to stay on the Isle of Arran. The rooms and common areas are nicely decorated and very clean, and breakfast is great! I do recommend staying in this nice hotel on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveldelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
908 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#5 of 16 in Brodick
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenartney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenartney

Property: The Glenartney
Address: Mayish Road, Brodick KA27 8BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically diverse landscapes make Arran an ideal destination for both adventurous and relaxing breaks. Hannah and Ross welcome you to the Glenartney. We pride ourselves on our personal service and together with our friendly team, our aim is to make your stay with us as enjoyable as it can be. From the locally sourced produce used in our breakfasts, to the two guest lounges, home baking and a place to store and dry your sports equipment, the Glenartney is a real home from home. Our 12 bedrooms include everything you need for a comfortable stay. Free WiFi, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer and Arran Aromatics toiletries are provided in our rooms. With stunning views across Brodick bay and the surrounding hills, the Glenartney provides a great base to explore Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenartney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenartney Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing