We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Isle of Arran”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Glenartney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glenartney
Ranked #2 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Isle of Arran”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This B&B exceeded our expectations. I was decorated nicely yet still "homey", and was very clean. It actually felt like we were staying at someone's upscale home without imposing on them.

We needed a family room since my wife and I had our son with us, and the room we were given had a bunk-bed in addition to the queen bed but it was large enough so we didn't feel cramped. Lucky for us it also has a great view of Goatfell mountain.

There are plenty of hang-out areas like the front patio and the bar/living room, again we felt at home and could really relax. A plus is that the other guests we encountered were more interested in mingling and having a conversation rather than holing themselves up in their room watching T.V.

Breakfast was a choice of the full Scottish fry or light continental (or both), and delicious.

We encountered only one minor problem - and it had nothing to do with the B&B itself. We were on foot (by choice) and the distance from the ferry to the Glenartrney is long enough to warrant taking a taxi (bus service is infrequent) if you're carrying luggage. This wasn't an issue until the last day when we needed to catch the early ferry and it was raining, but we couldn't find any taxis to come to the B&B. Perhaps the landlords could make arrangements with a local taxi to be on alert for guests who may need transportation between the B&B and the ferry.

Overall, a wonderful place to stay. We'll be back to Arran one day and we know where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    63
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
174
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent five nights here and enjoyed the location, the breakfasts and the room. There's a drying room (for inevitably wet outdoor clothing) where I also kept my mountain bike. Robbie was very helpful with my gear and his boot driers were well used. Brodick has a choice of places to eat including a good pub/restaurant at the bottom of the lane up to the Glenartney. It's a five minute walk to anywhere in Brodick, so this is a good place to base your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in July. It was my boyfriend who picked the hotel and I was a bit weary at first as I am always a bit weary of guest houses/B&Bs as I'm scared it will feel too much like someone's home and you might not feel comfortable. However, from the moment I arrived I knew this wouldn't be the case. It is a very relaxed atmosphere and doesn't feel too much like someone's home (although Angela and Robbie are on hand if you need them). Our room was a decent size (regardless of what other reviews have said), spotlessly clean and we had an ensuite and a great view. I think it was room 9 (although I could be mistaken). The breakfasts were also very tasty. I don't usually eat breakfast but I enjoyed the breakfasts very much at the glenartney. We also found the glenartney to be very good value for money and is pretty much easy access to everything.was a nice short walk from the shops and from the beach too which was good as the weather was fantastic while we were here. Will definitely be back and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great time visiting the Isle of Arran, and our stay at Glenartney was part of the reason. Plus, the pub at the bottom of the hill was a great dining experience...all we had to do after our delicious breakfast was fill in the day with exploring, playing wonderful golf at Shiskine, and then enjoy dinner...not forgetting the incredible bath tub! hahahahahahahahaha

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of Goatfell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimFitz210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of the summer season; the guesthouse was in fact full but you'd never have known; it was lovely and peaceful. Rooms were compact, but they are advertised as so and they are very nicely kitted out; the communal living areas were great also. Great breakfast, Angela and Robbie have clearly spent lots of time and effort making this place lovely and it really was. They were around if needed but left you to yourself mainly. This was our first visit to Arran and we'll definitely be back again soon, thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango_Tango45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Angela, Robbie and Anda all look after you so very well and the breakfasts are good.
Nice clean bedrooms with good showers and nice soap,towels,etc.
Beautiful views and good parking with comfortable and quiet lounges and TV as well as TV in bedrooms

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view but ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skatkatemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The day we left Arran, our wonderful hosts packed us lunches. I took a peek into my lunch bag on the ferry, and was surprised to find a wealth of little treasures... I've got a new recipe for egg sandwiches - they had tomatos, spinach, and either parsley or cilantro (or both?!)
Parting is such sweet sorrow, and I hope to return to Arran and Glenartney someday, to climb Goat Fell and revisit Angela and Robbie. Until next time... Andrew

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
2,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brodick
875 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
516 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenartney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenartney

Property: The Glenartney
Address: Mayish Road, Brodick KA27 8BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenartney 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically diverse landscapes make Arran an ideal destination for both adventurous and relaxing breaks. Hannah and Ross welcome you to the Glenartney. We pride ourselves on our personal service and together with our friendly team, our aim is to make your stay with us as enjoyable as it can be. From the locally sourced produce used in our breakfasts, to the two guest lounges, home baking and a place to store and dry your sports equipment, the Glenartney is a real home from home. Our 12 bedrooms include everything you need for a comfortable stay. Free WiFi, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer and Arran Aromatics toiletries are provided in our rooms. With stunning views across Brodick bay and the surrounding hills, the Glenartney provides a great base to explore Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenartney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenartney Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing