We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable place to explore Arran” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glenartney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Glenartney
Ranked #2 of 19 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slovenia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to explore Arran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at room #3; it is a smallish room, with no table or chair(s) to sit on, but its window has a lovely view over the bay. To compensate there are two large common rooms, very nicely decorated and comfortable, to sit down, relax or to prepare for the upcoming trip/tour. Very clean property, its owners are nice and wealth of local knowledge. Full english breakfast, best porridge we have had so far in Scotland (over 15 different places). Outside is a well maintained garden with benches, also enough parking space.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    62
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
169
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here two nights in July with my mom and 1-yr-old son and was quite impressed with this place. It's very conveniently located about a ten minute walk from the Brodick ferry with a lovely view to Goatfell and the bay. Inside and out the guest house is very peaceful and embracing, with lots of little thoughtful details and accents to make you feel comfortable in your own room or the common area spaces. They provided a cot and a high chair and in general the staff couldn't do enough to make your stay comfortable, even if you had a squirmy and noisy baby in tow.

The breakfast was fantastic. So, so yummy, with delicious black pudding and perfectly cooked scrambled eggs.

My only little quibbles were that you couldn't drink your own bought beverages in their beautiful garden, you had to buy from them. To that end, the garden was empty all the time despite the amazing weather. The other thing was that our room wasn't tidied after our first night's stay. Now, the first thing might be down to legal issues, and the latter might be something you have to specifically request, but in both cases I would have liked this explained from the get go.

However, those were minor details really and overall it was a very relaxing, accommodating, and happy stay at the Glenartney. I would definitely recommend it and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkinpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gg'sArran, Owner at The Glenartney, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

I'm concerned that your room wasn't tidied after your first night stay. I can only apologise to you, all rooms are refreshed each morning and obviously completely changed over after each stay. We do not tidy our guests possessions though, I shall check with my staff to see what happened.

As we have a restricted hotel license for our guests like any licensed premise we do ask guests not consume their own drinks in the public areas. Our drinks prices are extremely reasonable.
Guests can of course pay corkage for their personals for which we will provide glasses ice etc.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed her with my partner and our 2 year old daughter for 2 nights in the warmest weather for years. The house is large and very clean and spotless. There is a well stocked bar for guests use and great views in the garden of Goatfell and Brodick Bay. Angela and Robbie were great hosts and Robbie makes a great fry up for breakfast.
We shall return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hafc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the glenartney and in my opinion it is a beautiful guest house. The owner was very charming and the surroundings beautiful. I stayed in room number 7 situated at the front of the hotel. The bed was comfy and there was enough storage space. You can help yourself to tea, coffee etc and there are two relaxing lounges if you just want to get out of your room for a spell. Breakfast was great. Good choice on menu and the girl who served me was lovely and attentive.
Would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent 2 night here and it was really excellent! The location was very good, within walking distance to the harbour, and also offers parking facilities. The room was moderate in size, but very clean and nicely furnished. The bathroom was also small and very clean. Breakfast was one of the best we had on our journey, and the staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griswolds80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4day stay in the Glenartney.The accomodation was stylish no sign of chintz.Our room(room5) was beautifully furnished,clean and quiet.It was smallish ,but designed in such a way to make best use of the space. The breakfast was delicious using local produce and there was plenty of choice.The breakfast was made even more enjoyable by being served by such lovely women.I'm not a great parker so it was a challenge to park in the space directly beside the house,but there is plenty of space just outside on a very quiet access road.We will definitely be back and certainly would highly recommend Glenartney to anyone visiting Arran.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were friendly enough when we saw them. There is a bar in the guest house which is handy. The breakfasts were nice and the server friendly. The room we had was small, but it does state this on the website so we knew this would be the case.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsparkle010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#4 of 19 in Brodick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenartney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenartney

Property: The Glenartney
Address: Mayish Road, Brodick KA27 8BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenartney 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of our greatest assets is our stunning peaceful location.Far enough away from the centre of Brodick to have peace and quiet but close enough to enjoy all the amenities within a few minutes walk. The Glenartney is our fully renovated guesthouse filled with stylish high quality detail. We have created the place we would love to stay in; characterful, very clean and comfortable; a home from home. We have cycle, golf and outdoor gear storage, there are walking and biking trails from our door.Although our bedrooms are on the small side, they are very comfortable with very high standard beds and furnishings. We have 2 lovely lounges for you to relax in and plan your Arran adventures while having a wee dram from our residents bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenartney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenartney Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing