We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice of B&B”
Review of The Glenartney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Glenartney
Ranked #2 of 16 Brodick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent choice of B&B”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

On our way by bike from Lands End to John O'Groats we decided on a rest day on Arran. I booked Glenartney by chance and wasn't sure what it would be like. I needn't have worried as it turned out to be one of the best on the whole trip. Immaculately presented and immensely well thought out. Nothing was too much trouble for Robbie or Angela and the whole experience was one of a homely yet professionally run B&B. Breakfast was first class as were the two lounges, local information etc. I have already recommended Glenartney to friends and will certainly stay there again if visiting Arran. Highly recommended.
Incidentally we ate in both evenings at the Douglas Hotel where the food and service were also excellent in quality and value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ActiveTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    63
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
183
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Never been to the Isle of Arran before,chose the Glenartney as a central base and easy to find off the ferry close to the town but away from any traffic noise.Our room had a nice view over the harbour, the room was comfortable, cleaned and refreshed everyday.The breakfast was superb with a good choice to suit all tastes.the hosts were happy and obliging with a good friendly manner.Overall a really great place to stay to explore the island.
Steven Sunderland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we had 2 nights here in this really lovely guesthouse, only a short walk from the main street so your never disturbed by traffic and other tourers, it is very tastefully decorated in suttle shades, we liked the lounges just to sit and relax in the evening since the room we had was very small. Breakfast was excellent, and packed lunches are also available on request.There are seats in the lovely garden,which on a good evening would be lovely to sit in. The view form our window was lovely toosee with the mist just hanging on the mountain. We were the "older part" of an organised charity cycle around Arran so were fortunate to see around the whole island and also fortunate in our choice of accomodation in the Glenartney,we are hoping to revisit Arran and would like this to be our base.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Jim McK

We were fortunate to choose the Glenartney purely by chance. The accommodation was excellent and Angela couldn't have been more helpful. The lounge are was spacious and comfortable and
although I was the only one of our party of three to have a full breakfast - thoroughly enjoyed - we were all looked after extremely well by the staff. If ever we are fortunate enough to visit Arran again then the Glenartney would be our first choice of accommodation. The view from our bathroom window was magnificent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a fabulous hotel. It is quiet and peaceful and has wonderful views. The breakfasts are delicious with a huge choice available. There are two comfortable residents' lounges and a little bar and you are made to feel really at home. The resident dog, Zak, is an added bonus. Glenartney is absolutely spotless and I was lucky to stay a whole week and relax fully.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed the beautiful view from our front room , Angela and staff are so friendly, peaceful home great breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and loved Arran Island to bits and the guest house is located on the bay - we were thrilled to see our first red squirrel on the road close by. Extremely helpful - thank you

Room Tip: Great rooms, view wonderful staff very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MASwan934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengarnock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Difficult to find fault, the sitting rooms give that extra space for just chillin' and the well stocked bar leaves no shortage of choice. Lovely breakfast, great staff (Michal & Anna). Views gorgeous. Angela and Robbie so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brodick
0.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
909 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilmichael Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ormidale Hotel
Ormidale Hotel
#5 of 16 in Brodick
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenartney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenartney

Property: The Glenartney
Address: Mayish Road, Brodick KA27 8BX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Brodick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Brodick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dramatically diverse landscapes make Arran an ideal destination for both adventurous and relaxing breaks. Hannah and Ross welcome you to the Glenartney. We pride ourselves on our personal service and together with our friendly team, our aim is to make your stay with us as enjoyable as it can be. From the locally sourced produce used in our breakfasts, to the two guest lounges, home baking and a place to store and dry your sports equipment, the Glenartney is a real home from home. Our 12 bedrooms include everything you need for a comfortable stay. Free WiFi, tea & coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer and Arran Aromatics toiletries are provided in our rooms. With stunning views across Brodick bay and the surrounding hills, the Glenartney provides a great base to explore Arran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Glenartney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glenartney Brodick, Isle Of Arran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing