We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, clean, great hospitality”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Merlin House

Merlin House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Merlin House
Decking at Merlin House Comfy and cosy, warm and inviting living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Merlin House
Decking at Merlin House
Comfy and cosy, warm and inviting living room
Kitchen with lots of equipment inc. slo cooker, juicer,coffee machine, washer etc
Living/dining room. Dine with family and friends looking out over panoramic views over the Clyde
Master bedroom
Driveway to Merlin House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brodick, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Robin G
1 review
“Quiet, clean, great hospitality”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lesley treated us like favorite family come to visit. And we think she must have her roosters on timers as we never heard them before 9 am - or maybe there's so much to see n do on Arran we just slept very well in this peaceful holding after our busy days. A great place to get away from the crowds of Brodick, yet convenient to run into town. We walked down to the stone beach below the house and watched a seal fishing, birds singing, flowers blooming. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Hi folks,
Many thanks for your great review and very quick too! You were great guests and it would be lovely to see you again.....you never know we might make it to Texas one day. We really hope that Hurricane Harvey did not cause you any problems. It's good that you had a relaxing break here at Merlin House. Keep in touch.
Many thanks, Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Homely, clean cottage with excellent views”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is up a steep track with outstanding views at the top. The cottage is homely and very clean with everything you need for a comfortable break. The owners, Dennis and Lesley were extremely helpful and friendly and could not do enough for us. The on-site animals, cats, hens, chickens etc are also very friendly and are happy to be fed and petted.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you for your review Andrea. I am just a tad bit concerned that you have only rated us 4 stars and wonder why? Your review seemed worthy of 5 stars. Can you let me know why so we can rectify any problems. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catloctud...
Sainte-Anne, Guadeloupe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view in a quiet area”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 3 nights in mid-July at Merlin House. Lesley welcomed us and showed us around. The house was spotless: there are 2 nice bedrooms with the parents'one overlooking the sea: the view is fantastic!
There is a full-equipped kitchen (apart from a dishwasher but it was only for a couple of days) and the lounge is lovely. You can have access to the wi-fi and there is also cable TV.
You can have your meals whether on the patio where you have an incredible view of the sea and on the mountains on the left or on the table inside where you can still look at the sea thanks to because of the French windows.
It is so quiet that we slept a lot in the mornings and the isle is so great to explore.
Our children loved the cats!

Date of stay: July 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Just one thing, it's actually satellite TV(Sky)not cable. Just in case anyone wonders how we got cable TV on an island! It would be great to see you again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs_D_OD
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arran Adventure”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Merlin House is in a fantastic location with the most beautiful view over the bay at Brodick. There is a steep single track road from the main road, so the location is safe for young children away from the main road. Our 17 month old son loved the many birds and animals living at Merlin House and on our first night we were graced with a dinner guest.... a beautiful deer. We received a very warm welcome from Lesley, the owner, who ensured we had all we needed. The house is very child friendly with high chair, stair gate and travel cot provided. The accommodation itself is simple, clean and well resourced with pretty much everything you could need. We felt relaxed, comfortable and our son loved exploring. We look forward to returning to Arran in the future and will stay at Merlin House again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It will be lovely to see you again!,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightseer...
1 review
“Excellent, friendly and very clean.”
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house is situated up in the hill overlooking Brodick and in the distance you can look at the ferry crossing from Arran with excellent views of Goatfell and the decked patio and patio doors allows you to have a peaceful and relaxing time. I hoped that this would be safe for the my 1 and 3 year old and it had much more like garden,geese, hens and 3 lovely cats. the inside of the house had lots of space and every utensil needed so I would recommend buying food if your staying for 2 weeks. lesley and her family where very helpful and got us some sausages for the bbq.
We took our bikes and a trailer for the kids but left them in a safe area at the bottom of the hill.
3 places to visit I recommend the Ormidale hotel for lunch.
The holy Isles and monastery at Lamlash.
The little garden centre just past Brodick primary. The cafe has the cheapest and good food just £2 for a double.
we will return and next time for longer thanks Lesley.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a shame you couldn't stay longer but hopefully you will next time. Looks like you only met 3 of the 8 cats! Yes, Merlin is certainly very safe for children being far from any roads and although we have a pond, it is safety covered. It was lovely to meet you all and hope next time the midges will stay away........fat chance.lol.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review! It will be great to see you again next year. You will be very welcome. Make sure you book the main boat and not the wee one next time! Hopefully it should sail!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Footprint...
1 review
“An excellent stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had an excellent week staying at Merlin Cottage. Well equipped and spacious, with the added bonus of visiting cats and free range chickens and geese - even one that can untie your shoe laces. Lesley is a great host, lots of local information, and help where needed. (And she cooks a tasty rhubarb crumble too). Lots to do on the island for walkers, bird watchers, and others. Will love to go back.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Many thanks folks for your excellent review. Looking forward to you coming again. More rhubarb crumble? Or perhaps other fruits will be ready next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing